Customer Reviews for

Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Ecstasy by Jacquelyn Frank

Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the bat...
Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the battle of what humans call Demons. This series shifts the focus to another race. A race that exists both in and between Realscape and Shadowscape. Two different, yet co-existing realities that can and do affect each other and the creatures living in either.

When Ashla suddenly finds herself in a world that's totally empty of any living creatures, she's pretty freaked. After all, once she's gorged herself on the never-ending feasts, shopped for free in all the best stores Manhattan has to offer, fulfilled her curiosity by seeing anything, anywhere she wants, all the while spoiling herself in the lap of luxury that is the Plaza hotel...what's left? So when she's surprised by the sudden appearance of two men fighting, with swords no less, she's pretty sure she really is insane. But after the deadly battle when one lies dying, she can't help but heal him...and that act will change her life forever.

Trace is truly shocked when he realizes the creature who healed him is not a Ghost or a Fade, but a real human. For one who has lived as long as he, her existence would have been enough of a puzzle, but when she heals him from a mortal wound, he finds himself drawn to her...even though he knows any bond between human and Shadowdweller should be impossible, and is certainly forbidden.

Very different. I don't confuse Frank's stories with any other writers and considering how much I read, that's a real compliment. Her universe is complex and filled with diverse races, each with a rich culture and history that unfold as her series progresses. Having said that, I now must resign myself to wait for the next installment, "Rapture", scheduled for publication in July 09...SIX whole months!

posted by jjmachshev on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

No kresley cole

Too hard to get into, skipped page after page just to find actual dialogue, anyone who has read immortals after dark series knows what great writing laugh out loud, curl your toes knock em dead heroines are. This was not

posted by marshaK on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ecstasy by Jacquelyn Frank

    Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the battle of what humans call Demons. This series shifts the focus to another race. A race that exists both in and between Realscape and Shadowscape. Two different, yet co-existing realities that can and do affect each other and the creatures living in either. <BR/><BR/>When Ashla suddenly finds herself in a world that's totally empty of any living creatures, she's pretty freaked. After all, once she's gorged herself on the never-ending feasts, shopped for free in all the best stores Manhattan has to offer, fulfilled her curiosity by seeing anything, anywhere she wants, all the while spoiling herself in the lap of luxury that is the Plaza hotel...what's left? So when she's surprised by the sudden appearance of two men fighting, with swords no less, she's pretty sure she really is insane. But after the deadly battle when one lies dying, she can't help but heal him...and that act will change her life forever.<BR/><BR/>Trace is truly shocked when he realizes the creature who healed him is not a Ghost or a Fade, but a real human. For one who has lived as long as he, her existence would have been enough of a puzzle, but when she heals him from a mortal wound, he finds himself drawn to her...even though he knows any bond between human and Shadowdweller should be impossible, and is certainly forbidden.<BR/><BR/>Very different. I don't confuse Frank's stories with any other writers and considering how much I read, that's a real compliment. Her universe is complex and filled with diverse races, each with a rich culture and history that unfold as her series progresses. Having said that, I now must resign myself to wait for the next installment, "Rapture", scheduled for publication in July 09...SIX whole months!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you need something new and refreshing to read with a lot of sexy romance, this is the BOOK! I bought the series after my first one!

    Great Series!! The Shadowdweller are all a great read. Sexy love scenes takes this series to a whole new level.I couldn't put it down!

    The Nightwalker Series are great reads too! Get both Series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Was Good

    It was good... I've like this author since I read her series The Nightwalkers... but I will say this... the Nightwalker series is better... I like the plots better and characters... and the series just caught my attention more than this one does... don't get me wrong... it was good and I liked it... it's just not one of the better ones... I'm reading Rapture right now and I will say that Ecstacy is better... but I'm only 80 something pages into it so I got awhile to go... but I would read it... it is a good book and it is entertaining...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    You need to read this!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I normally read vampire related books. So this is a great series to start with. I look forward to the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Something Different

    Found this book something new for a change - the supernatural factor is much different than those of my favorite authors. This is definiately a very good read and makes you want to read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down

    This series fed the greedy reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    A very captivating series

    Once I read this book, I had to read the others in the series. Frank has created some interesting worlds. The book keeps your attention to the end and makes you want to buy the remainder in the series to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A quick read for a rainy day

    I started this book after reading her Nightwalker series. The book wasn't as good as I had expected, but it's definitely entertaining for a rainy day. Also, it does introduce you to the characters in the other two books.... So, if you're looking for an easy/quick read on a bored day, I would give this book a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Jackie Frank!

    I love Jackie Frank's Nightwalkers. I was so looking forward to this series, and in the end I really liked the book over all and am looking forward to the next one.

    However, it took me a really long time to get into this story... and I don't know why. But I would recommnd it and I am truly looking forward to seeing where this series is going.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great writer

    And a good book. I definitely recommend it, but it starts off a little slower than the Nightwalker series. As always, the ending is worth the wait and I can't wait for the next book....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enter the Shadowdwellers

    After reading the Nightwalker series by Ms. Frank I couldn't wait to see her delve into the mysterious race of the Shadowdwellers. She doesn't disappoint with this introduction! With a honor-bound hero, a heroine who defies all odds and political intrigue, this book kept me going until the end. I can't wait until Rapture!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4