Customer Reviews for

Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Ecstasy by Jacquelyn Frank

Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the bat...
Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the battle of what humans call Demons. This series shifts the focus to another race. A race that exists both in and between Realscape and Shadowscape. Two different, yet co-existing realities that can and do affect each other and the creatures living in either.

When Ashla suddenly finds herself in a world that's totally empty of any living creatures, she's pretty freaked. After all, once she's gorged herself on the never-ending feasts, shopped for free in all the best stores Manhattan has to offer, fulfilled her curiosity by seeing anything, anywhere she wants, all the while spoiling herself in the lap of luxury that is the Plaza hotel...what's left? So when she's surprised by the sudden appearance of two men fighting, with swords no less, she's pretty sure she really is insane. But after the deadly battle when one lies dying, she can't help but heal him...and that act will change her life forever.

Trace is truly shocked when he realizes the creature who healed him is not a Ghost or a Fade, but a real human. For one who has lived as long as he, her existence would have been enough of a puzzle, but when she heals him from a mortal wound, he finds himself drawn to her...even though he knows any bond between human and Shadowdweller should be impossible, and is certainly forbidden.

Very different. I don't confuse Frank's stories with any other writers and considering how much I read, that's a real compliment. Her universe is complex and filled with diverse races, each with a rich culture and history that unfold as her series progresses. Having said that, I now must resign myself to wait for the next installment, "Rapture", scheduled for publication in July 09...SIX whole months!

posted by jjmachshev on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

No kresley cole

Too hard to get into, skipped page after page just to find actual dialogue, anyone who has read immortals after dark series knows what great writing laugh out loud, curl your toes knock em dead heroines are. This was not

posted by marshaK on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The audience will be in ECSTASY with this superb thriller and look forward to more light and dark Shadowdweller entries

    Ashla Townsend has been in a New York devoid of people and light with no idea how she got there or what happened to the sun. She is overjoyed to see another person, but her euphoria turns to abject fear when another man arrives trying to kill the first person. Both men are shocked that Ashla can see them because only Shadowdwellers are able to see one another. Trace kills Baylor, but is mortally injured; Ashla saves his life using her healing hands.<BR/><BR/>Trace assumes that Ashla must be one of the Lost, a wraith whose body is in a coma in Realscape. As a Shadowdweller Trace cannot cope with any form of light, but to remain only in the shadows typically leads to madness. Trace is further stunned that he has feelings for Ashla as she is the first woman in a dozen years he trusts,. He escorts Ashla to his people, but neither is safe there even though the clan wars ended with the Chancellors solidifying their power; some rebels want the peace broken with Ashla and Trace being perfect targets. She risks her life to heal Trace even while a traitor plots to kill both of them.<BR/><BR/>With her Demon series over, Jacquelyn Frank begins a new romantic urban fantasy saga that fans of the author will find radically different and refreshing. Readers will love this strong provocative and evocative tale that digs deep into the Shadowdweller society. Trace is honorable and yet caring about his people with an ironic emphasis on punishing rule-breakers. The sub-genre audience will be in ECSTASY with this superb thriller and look forward to more light and dark Shadowdweller entries.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My first Romance Book

    I loved this book this is the first "romance," i have read. Im not one for romance but just imagine I brought the whole series including the nightwalkers. I am awaiting the mistral stories. Trace is all the man someone could ever want and Ashla is the antidote to his problem make way for the new Romeo and Juliet. It also fed my hunger for the epic type movies. My imagination was stretched to its limits god how I wish to be a member of the shadowdweller race. The plot was one I did not expect when I began readig and I thought I wouldn't finish, all it took was a couple of sentences and I was hooked. My friends all talk about these books, have read the books more than once, and try to put faces to the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cant Wait for the next ONE

    I read the Nitewalker series a few months ago, but because of the ratings ECSTACY got I was reluctant with this one. But while I was at a local bookstore I picked it up just to read a few pages while I was waiting for a friend. I literally couldnt stop reading it. I ended up purchasing the book and read it through the nite. It was great. It coinsides with the Nitewalker series so it wasnt difficult to get into at all. I believe J.F captures the characters emotions just right without the boring stuff you sometimes find with other books. It did keep me guessing as to what would happen and I am left with wanting more! I cant wait for the next book to come out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ecstasy

    It was good and i love how its different from alot of other books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Heartfelt

    I truly loved reading this book. Since I discovered this book, I completed it and read all the other books in the series. I truly hope that there will be others in the series. I plan to read them again because they are extra-ordinary and they kept me up all night because I couldn't put them down. Thank God I'm retired because if I had to read them at work, I probably would have been suspended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    great

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Awesome book!

    Once you open the book you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    A unique experience into the shadows

    I thought the story had such a unique setting and kept me reading to find out what happened. Couldn't wait to read the next book. Jacquelyn Frank writes a well written tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    New JF Series

    LOVED THIS BOOK! I was worried trasferring from the Nightwalkers to the Shadowdwellers but I was into it by about the second chapter...RECOMMEND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Not sure what to write here

    Excellent book. Am anxiously waiting for the next one in the series. Every book I have read of hers has been excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jacquelyn Franks' "Ecstacy--The Shadowdwellers Series"

    Loved it as I do all her books. If you haven't read the preceding books such as: "Noah, Damien, etc..." you're missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Thoughts on Ecstacy...

    I thought that this book was great. I have read all of Jacquelyn Frank's books in this series so far and they definately deliver romance, drama, and action. I read this book in 2-3 days (with a very busy schedule, that was fast). I couldn't wait to get the next book in the series, Rapture. Rapture is equally as good. Finished that one in 2-3 days also. Once I started, I just couldn't put it down. I can't wait until the next book comes out!! Keep the great books coming Ms. Frank!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    J. Frank Does It Again

    Such an awesome read!!!! I was completely blown away. The story line is wonderful. I enjoyed how Ms. Frank gives the history of the Nightwalkers. That allows the reader to connect with each character, understanding his/her struggles.

    Ms. Frank really turned up the thermometer with this one. The love and passion in the 1st series (Demons) was sugary sweet compared to the raw heat ignited by the Shadowdwellers!!! I think I blushed a few times when I read a few of the chapters!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Great first book in the new series. I love the new spin that Frank gives to the paranormal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Ecstasy by Jacquelyn Frank

    I love Jacquelyn Frank books, she always has this way of capturing you so you never want to put the book down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Jacquelyn has done it again!"

    Ecstasy is great! Romantic, Thrilling, a true page turner. Sure to leave readers wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ms. Frank continures to draw me into her world!!!

    I did not think the night dweller series by Ms Frank could get any better, but she has again shown how wrong I was. She has an uncanny knack for creating a world I can get lost in. I love the directions she is taking this series. I cannot wait for the next volume. These books are keepers. She makes the world hold all kinds of possibilites if only between page 1 and the end!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot, sexy, suspenseful romance...Ecstasy exceeded my expectations!

    Ecstasy has jumped into my top tier of favorites. The characters were wonderful - and Ms. Frank infused much more suspense into this storyline than her previous books. Her Nightwalker series was phenomenal, but I'm blown away by the potential in this new Shadowdweller series.

    Trace is a strong male lead who I fell in love with in this story about a race that exists in the shadow - even the merest hint of light is damaging to them. I found her creations of the different "scapes" or planes of existance very well thought out and I was pulled into her new world. He meets Ashla in Shadowscape - a realm without light. Ashla was a sweet lead female, and although a little softer than I usually prefer, she had a streak of strength running through her that became more obvious as she developed in the story. The passion was stronger and hotter than in Ms. Frank's previous books.

    I'm looking forward to discovering who is behind the treachery in the shadowdweller world and look forward to seeing more of the characters develop as the series evolves. And I'm anxious to find what treachery will appear next, as I really enjoyed the suspense infused into Ecstasy's storyline.

    I loved the books in the "Nightwalker" series, but based on the start of this new series, the "Shadowdwellers" might eclipse her original series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    My friends and I wait with baited breath for each new book!

    I absolutely love these books. I have now gotten my teenage daughters, my friends and even a few family members hooked on this series. We wait for the next new book to continue the saga we are all caught up in. I have read A LOT of books and these I just cannot put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HOTTEST Series Yet!!

    WOW I absolutely LOVED how it got into detail in how hot a man can know a woman.. Hmm Yummy! I own all of the Nightwalker Series and fell in love with each character (except maybe Gideon, he just too old fashion for me lol) Ecstasy is exactly what it is titled!!!!!! Pure adulterated passion! I can't wait to read Rapture when it releases and hope this series can live up to Nightwalker fanbase! This book has my thumbs up approval and worth reading!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5