Customer Reviews for

Eden Close

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What a Wonderful Find

After reading The Pilot's Wife, Where or When, and Strange Fits of Passion, all by Anita Shreve, I bought the rest of her books and started flying through them. This one in particular is a gem, with romance, murder, and a mystery that keeps you guessing and pondering un...
After reading The Pilot's Wife, Where or When, and Strange Fits of Passion, all by Anita Shreve, I bought the rest of her books and started flying through them. This one in particular is a gem, with romance, murder, and a mystery that keeps you guessing and pondering until the very end.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dr.colten

Ready for check ups

posted by weedstar on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    What a Wonderful Find

    After reading The Pilot's Wife, Where or When, and Strange Fits of Passion, all by Anita Shreve, I bought the rest of her books and started flying through them. This one in particular is a gem, with romance, murder, and a mystery that keeps you guessing and pondering until the very end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A lovely story!

    Two childhood friends, on the brink of romance, find themselves there again nearly twenty years later. The undercurrents that run throughout the book add intrigue. Eden is blind a result of a tragic shooting in her teens and together they must reveal what has been hiding in the darkness all these years. While the circumstances surrounding Eden's blindness were tragic, to see one character struggle to care for another out of pure love was a pleasure and heartfelt. A lovely story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Captivating!

    Great story, a page-turner, a few surprises. I think this would make an excellent movie!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    A Must Read for any Anita Shreve Fan

    Loved it, Loved it, Loved it! I could not put this one down! It was a page turner from beginning to end. I highly recommend it for any Anita Shreve fan. The climax of the story was not what I thought it would be at first but made absolute sense. A story within a story, splendid.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Exceptional atmosphere.

    This is an exceptional novel, particularly conveying the atmosphere of small town upstate New York over a young man's lifetime, as he reminiscences and acts in the present. The characters were very interesting, and well drawn. This is the best American novel I have read since Peter Straub's ''Ghost Story'', although different in genre, also set in upstate New York.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    Full of great imagery and intrigue!

    I could not put the book down. In all honesty, the reason I bought it was because I had to read an outside novel for my EN 448 class and picked the book up because 'A Novel' is written on the front. Its the first book I have read all the way through without having to get an online summary. The imagery made me feel right in the story and the suspense was riveting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Wonderful

    The first book I read by Anita Shreve was 'The Last Time They Met' and I found it so intriguing that I had to read her other books. 'Eden Close' is a book that really stood out among the ones that I have read. I just found that the story encompasses so many things I had been looking for in other fiction that I have read. I look forward to other works.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Eden close

    Great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Rebecca

    I need a check-up. Im having a baby shortly, and i need to know if it is a girl or a boy for the baby shower. Please help.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    As I read through this book, I felt an emptyness, the author's style of writing was void of any real emotion on the part of the characters. They were like robots. They all seemed to have a sadness about them. I did like the plot and story line, but I think the author could have given this story a litle more suspense and given the events a lot more drama. The events just seemed to be too matter of factly. The story did have a good ending. I recommend this book. This is my first book by this author, maybe I just have to get used to her style of writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    Good book but not as good as most by Shreve; more forgettable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    This is the first Anita Shreve book that I've read and I have to

    This is the first Anita Shreve book that I've read and I have to say that I loved it! I had read a few other reviews about the book before I read it and they were pretty mixed, so I didn't know what to expect. However, I already had a copy of the book, so I figured I would give it a try rather than just let it sit on my shelves unread. I was very pleasantly surprised! I love Anita Shreve's writing style in this book, and I'm its just as good in all her others! This was such a compelling story. Something about it just made me keep wanting to read more; I could never put it down! I loved the two main characters, Andrew and Eden; they were so easy to relate with and understand. I was rooting for their relationship the entire time! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    A dog

    A dog comes in wearing jeans and a shirt. "Yo coltej dawg i need chec up!"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Dr.robert

    Ok you can go

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    this was a great book that i happened to pick up at a used book

    this was a great book that i happened to pick up at a used book shop. anita shreve's writing will captivate you into the complex plot that is completely unpredictable. believe me, you will not be able to put this book down!! and also, considering how interesting and the fact that anita used 3rd person and bits of 1st person for Eden's voice, it would make a very good movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great read, but...

    "Lend me" has terrible quality w/ spelling errors. Lovely, haunting book, but the experience dimmed with the vast number if mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    Another Anita Shreve winner

    This is a good book to curl up with on a rainy or snowy day. The characters are vivid and interesting, with a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good plot, too drawn out

    i read 'testimony' by anita shreve and fell in love with her writing. i then began looking into her other books and found this one.<BR/><BR/>it started out good, but slow. then it got interesting and i couldn't put it down. then it started lagging again. once it got to the very end it proved to me that the plot, the overall story, is a wonderful idea. very original and something i've never read before. <BR/><BR/>the problem i had with the book was that it was too long to tell the story. there were so many slow parts of the book that made me wonder, how is this going to get any better? it was hard for me to finish reading it because it wasn't a book that i found i couldn't put down.<BR/><BR/>overall, i wouldn't really recommend this anita shreve book unless you are looking to read for an entire rainy day and finish it then. i still plan to read more from anita shreve though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    BEST BOOK

    This book was fantastic, and it was impossible to put down. I believe it is one of her best books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Worthy My Time - Again!

    I admit, I love Anita Shreve books. I really enjoyed Eden Close. Even the title -- I thought Eden (as in Garden of) and Close (as in near, or proximity). Even her choice of names is clever, and once you read the book you can really mentally play with the meaning of the title. The book is gripping, from beginning to end. I blew an entire afternoon just completely wrapped up in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3