Customer Reviews for

Edge

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

superb cat and mouse thriller

Henry Loving is perhaps the best "lifter" there is as he can get anyone to provide him the information he requires. He is especially adept at torturing his targets, but what makes him the absolute top gun is his uncanny ability to find the lever that gives him the Edge...
Henry Loving is perhaps the best "lifter" there is as he can get anyone to provide him the information he requires. He is especially adept at torturing his targets, but what makes him the absolute top gun is his uncanny ability to find the lever that gives him the Edge, which makes everyone he aims at dance to his tune. No one pushes people buttons like he does.

Federal government Strategic Protection Department "shepherd" Agent Corte protects targets from lifters. An intercepted message names Loving as the lifter directed to extract information from DC metro detective Ryan Kessler. Corte is assigned to keep Ryan from harm and his family safe so they cannot be used as pawns. He is also trying to identify who hired Loving. Meanwhile the lifter works on finding the means to get what he needs from the cop.

Though over the top, readers will not care as the Corte-Loving grandmaster chess match is a superb cat and mouse thriller in which readers will keep changing their mind as to who the feline is and who the rodent is in this deadly cerebral contest. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action as each keeps placing the other in check, but checkmate seems just out of reach. Jeffery Deaver is at his entertaining best with this High Noon confrontation between the two best gunslingers in the world.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Horrible Example of a Writer Meeting a Deadline

A huge disappointment. I normally at least like Deaver novels, but this one was not only unbelievable in its plots and characters, it became more and more unbelievable until its ridiculous conclusion. I found myself saying aloud (and with disgust) at each plot twist, ...
A huge disappointment. I normally at least like Deaver novels, but this one was not only unbelievable in its plots and characters, it became more and more unbelievable until its ridiculous conclusion. I found myself saying aloud (and with disgust) at each plot twist, "oh, PLEASE!" The characters could be said to be one dimensional if they had a dimension, but they don't. The characters do not draw our emotions, unless boredom is an emotion. Too bad the publishers don't can bad books by good authors.

posted by Nstitches on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb cat and mouse thriller

    Henry Loving is perhaps the best "lifter" there is as he can get anyone to provide him the information he requires. He is especially adept at torturing his targets, but what makes him the absolute top gun is his uncanny ability to find the lever that gives him the Edge, which makes everyone he aims at dance to his tune. No one pushes people buttons like he does.

    Federal government Strategic Protection Department "shepherd" Agent Corte protects targets from lifters. An intercepted message names Loving as the lifter directed to extract information from DC metro detective Ryan Kessler. Corte is assigned to keep Ryan from harm and his family safe so they cannot be used as pawns. He is also trying to identify who hired Loving. Meanwhile the lifter works on finding the means to get what he needs from the cop.

    Though over the top, readers will not care as the Corte-Loving grandmaster chess match is a superb cat and mouse thriller in which readers will keep changing their mind as to who the feline is and who the rodent is in this deadly cerebral contest. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action as each keeps placing the other in check, but checkmate seems just out of reach. Jeffery Deaver is at his entertaining best with this High Noon confrontation between the two best gunslingers in the world.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Just enough twists to be fun, but not too fantastic.

    Overall a fun, intetesting, and original book. It's a good way to spend time; sufficiently engaging and unique that it draws you in. Some well-drawn characters, though it seems as if some development was held back in anticipation of a series. Exciting without losing credibility; feels more organic than formulaic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Horrible Example of a Writer Meeting a Deadline

    A huge disappointment. I normally at least like Deaver novels, but this one was not only unbelievable in its plots and characters, it became more and more unbelievable until its ridiculous conclusion. I found myself saying aloud (and with disgust) at each plot twist, "oh, PLEASE!" The characters could be said to be one dimensional if they had a dimension, but they don't. The characters do not draw our emotions, unless boredom is an emotion. Too bad the publishers don't can bad books by good authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Love Deaver!

    Every Deaver book is a winner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Not worth reading

    I agree with the others who were disappointed in this book. I have read every book by Jeffery Deaver and looked forward to this one but it was a hard one to get through. I had to force myself to finish this book. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Excellent

    Just finished this book. Excellent mind games between the good guy and the bad. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    A Great Read !

    I absolutely loved this book. One of the best I've read in a long time - and I read a lot of books. First book by this author that I've read - I'll definitely be reading more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Intense and gripping.

    Very insightful into human behavior and motivation, as well as undercover techniques. More twists and turns than a roller coaster, keeping you guessing till the last page. In other words, classic Deaver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Page Turner

    I love trying to figure out Deaver's novels. This one is very good; only written from the point of view of the protagonist, Corte (except for the first chapter). Unique from his Lincoln Rhyme novels in that he never writes from the point of view of the antagonist. Very interesting subject matter - protection detail, but he also incorporates game theory, which is very interesting also. I would recommend this as an interesting and quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Just love this author

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Boring

    I received this book as a gift and found it to be very boring. I gave up about half way through and just flipped to the end to see if there was a reason to keep reading. There wasn't. The premise was stupid and the ending was stupid. I have the sample of The Bone Collector on my Nook and now I don't know if I should give the author another chance or just delete it. Unfortunately the sample isn't long enough to help me decide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Brain-Teaser

    This action packed, fast paced, heart-pounding brain-teaser pits two ruthless professionals against each other in a cat and mouse game. The suspense generated plays nifty tricks on your mind and every time someone new wanders across the page the atmosphere builds. The storyline is narrated in the first person and has great plotting and a wonderful cast of characters. One of the main characters is a ¿shepherd¿ named Corte who is charged with protecting a principal named Ryan Kessler from a ¿lifter¿ named Henry Loving. (A shepherd is the person in charge of protecting another person (the principal) and the lifter is the person employed to interrogate and extract information from the principal by deadly force or using a family member or friends as leverage. It is challenging at first, there are a lot of acronyms and terms for us to get our heads around but once we get into the swing of things, we are adeptly provided with all the twists and counter-twists to keep us constantly on our toes, we never know what is coming next. The task our hero, Corte, faces is not easy. We learn the Kessler family is a family with many problems and Ryan is no exception, he is cop with a drinking problem and a complex. Corte is faced by an ever-increasing number of distractions, complications in a deadly game as he and his opponent Henry Loving jostle for position from chapter to chapter. This intellectual and psychological thriller gripped my attention from the very beginning and never let go. Corte, a board game aficionado and Loving a very capable nemesis each trying to outwit the other in a real-life game of chess using people as pawns proved to be intriguing, captivating and quite fulfilling from start to finish. It was my first experience reading this author and it will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Had The Edge

    Almost discouraged by some of the negative posts here, I still picked up Edge. I really liked it, which gave me the edge over those who didn't. I got to enjoy a nicely crafted story that held my interest, well, for almost the whole book. The ending needs lots of editing. That'll probably happen in the paperback, which might be a few pages shorter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    readable but not up to par

    deaver was the reason i started reading books more, beginning with "bone collector". the edge i would say is not his best work but worth reading. i have said it before and i'll say it again, deaver needs to stop putting out multiple books each year and go back to a book a year or two. books like this one felt rushed and did not have the in depth twists and turns that leave you thinking "how did he get to this conclusion?" "oh, ok". whenever a rhyme or dance series book comes out its a better read and worth purchasing, i would find the edge at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not his best

    I was disappointed after reading this book. It was hard for me to finish it. Hopefully the next one will be better. Jeffery Deaver has written great books before. I like the Lincoln Rhymes series better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Classic Deaver

    Very suspensful book with lots of twists and turns. I was on edge as I neared the end and could not figure out who had hired Henry Loving. Great characters and the ending was shocking! I would also recommend: The Blue Nowhere and Garden of Beasts by the same author; the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child; The Shape of Snakes and the Devil's Feather by Minette Walters; anything by Tess Gerritsen, Ruth Rendell and Barbara Vine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    Great story, with an awesome twist at the end, Corte comes off older and established but fights hard for his principals and job....Hope to get more from him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    A good read!

    I admit that I purchased this book because it was written by Deaver. I didn't even read to see what it was about. Deaver is one of those authors that if he writes it, then I'll typically buy it.

    That being said, it was a bit of a turn from his typical book, but it was still a good read. It had lots of twists and turns, and it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Not his best writing.

    The story line was good, but didn't care for the main character's narrative speaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Excellent Book

    One of his best with an usual premise, multiple interacting characters, and a surprise ending. One has to finish the book to find out what he is hinting about throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9