Customer Reviews for

Edge

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

superb cat and mouse thriller

Henry Loving is perhaps the best "lifter" there is as he can get anyone to provide him the information he requires. He is especially adept at torturing his targets, but what makes him the absolute top gun is his uncanny ability to find the lever that gives him the Edge...
Henry Loving is perhaps the best "lifter" there is as he can get anyone to provide him the information he requires. He is especially adept at torturing his targets, but what makes him the absolute top gun is his uncanny ability to find the lever that gives him the Edge, which makes everyone he aims at dance to his tune. No one pushes people buttons like he does.

Federal government Strategic Protection Department "shepherd" Agent Corte protects targets from lifters. An intercepted message names Loving as the lifter directed to extract information from DC metro detective Ryan Kessler. Corte is assigned to keep Ryan from harm and his family safe so they cannot be used as pawns. He is also trying to identify who hired Loving. Meanwhile the lifter works on finding the means to get what he needs from the cop.

Though over the top, readers will not care as the Corte-Loving grandmaster chess match is a superb cat and mouse thriller in which readers will keep changing their mind as to who the feline is and who the rodent is in this deadly cerebral contest. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action as each keeps placing the other in check, but checkmate seems just out of reach. Jeffery Deaver is at his entertaining best with this High Noon confrontation between the two best gunslingers in the world.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Horrible Example of a Writer Meeting a Deadline

A huge disappointment. I normally at least like Deaver novels, but this one was not only unbelievable in its plots and characters, it became more and more unbelievable until its ridiculous conclusion. I found myself saying aloud (and with disgust) at each plot twist, ...
A huge disappointment. I normally at least like Deaver novels, but this one was not only unbelievable in its plots and characters, it became more and more unbelievable until its ridiculous conclusion. I found myself saying aloud (and with disgust) at each plot twist, "oh, PLEASE!" The characters could be said to be one dimensional if they had a dimension, but they don't. The characters do not draw our emotions, unless boredom is an emotion. Too bad the publishers don't can bad books by good authors.

posted by Nstitches on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb cat and mouse thriller

    Henry Loving is perhaps the best "lifter" there is as he can get anyone to provide him the information he requires. He is especially adept at torturing his targets, but what makes him the absolute top gun is his uncanny ability to find the lever that gives him the Edge, which makes everyone he aims at dance to his tune. No one pushes people buttons like he does.

    Federal government Strategic Protection Department "shepherd" Agent Corte protects targets from lifters. An intercepted message names Loving as the lifter directed to extract information from DC metro detective Ryan Kessler. Corte is assigned to keep Ryan from harm and his family safe so they cannot be used as pawns. He is also trying to identify who hired Loving. Meanwhile the lifter works on finding the means to get what he needs from the cop.

    Though over the top, readers will not care as the Corte-Loving grandmaster chess match is a superb cat and mouse thriller in which readers will keep changing their mind as to who the feline is and who the rodent is in this deadly cerebral contest. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action as each keeps placing the other in check, but checkmate seems just out of reach. Jeffery Deaver is at his entertaining best with this High Noon confrontation between the two best gunslingers in the world.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Just enough twists to be fun, but not too fantastic.

    Overall a fun, intetesting, and original book. It's a good way to spend time; sufficiently engaging and unique that it draws you in. Some well-drawn characters, though it seems as if some development was held back in anticipation of a series. Exciting without losing credibility; feels more organic than formulaic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Just love this author

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Brain-Teaser

    This action packed, fast paced, heart-pounding brain-teaser pits two ruthless professionals against each other in a cat and mouse game. The suspense generated plays nifty tricks on your mind and every time someone new wanders across the page the atmosphere builds. The storyline is narrated in the first person and has great plotting and a wonderful cast of characters. One of the main characters is a ¿shepherd¿ named Corte who is charged with protecting a principal named Ryan Kessler from a ¿lifter¿ named Henry Loving. (A shepherd is the person in charge of protecting another person (the principal) and the lifter is the person employed to interrogate and extract information from the principal by deadly force or using a family member or friends as leverage. It is challenging at first, there are a lot of acronyms and terms for us to get our heads around but once we get into the swing of things, we are adeptly provided with all the twists and counter-twists to keep us constantly on our toes, we never know what is coming next. The task our hero, Corte, faces is not easy. We learn the Kessler family is a family with many problems and Ryan is no exception, he is cop with a drinking problem and a complex. Corte is faced by an ever-increasing number of distractions, complications in a deadly game as he and his opponent Henry Loving jostle for position from chapter to chapter. This intellectual and psychological thriller gripped my attention from the very beginning and never let go. Corte, a board game aficionado and Loving a very capable nemesis each trying to outwit the other in a real-life game of chess using people as pawns proved to be intriguing, captivating and quite fulfilling from start to finish. It was my first experience reading this author and it will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Had The Edge

    Almost discouraged by some of the negative posts here, I still picked up Edge. I really liked it, which gave me the edge over those who didn't. I got to enjoy a nicely crafted story that held my interest, well, for almost the whole book. The ending needs lots of editing. That'll probably happen in the paperback, which might be a few pages shorter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    Great story, with an awesome twist at the end, Corte comes off older and established but fights hard for his principals and job....Hope to get more from him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    A good read!

    I admit that I purchased this book because it was written by Deaver. I didn't even read to see what it was about. Deaver is one of those authors that if he writes it, then I'll typically buy it.

    That being said, it was a bit of a turn from his typical book, but it was still a good read. It had lots of twists and turns, and it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    What a Thrill Ride!

    WELL, all I can say is that this book is full of non-stop action with twists and turns and I couldn't put it down. This my my kind of book! Corte is an agent for an secret government agency that is charged with protecting people who know information of crimes and are targeted by the very people that they know the information about. Their lives are threatened and many times their loved ones lives as well. Cort is trying to keep them safe as well as find out why they are being targeted and by whom and go after the perpetrators. It is indeed a cat and mouse game.
    I have read Jeffery Deaver books quite a few times and sometimes they are great and sometimes they fall short, however, in my opinion this is one of his best. GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3