Customer Reviews for

Edge of Apocalypse (End Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Edge Of Apocalypse, A Thriller That Mirrors Where We are Today

I had the privilege of interviewing Tim LaHaye & Craig Parshall, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for their new book, "Edge Of Apocalypse" published by Zondervan.

This book is a thriller from the first word and gets more exciting word by word. Unlike a previo...
I had the privilege of interviewing Tim LaHaye & Craig Parshall, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for their new book, "Edge Of Apocalypse" published by Zondervan.

This book is a thriller from the first word and gets more exciting word by word. Unlike a previous series by Dr. LaHaye this series is set not to far from where we are today. Dr. LaHaye is using Bible prophecy to show how close we are to what the Bible tells us will happen. Nations will rise against nations and the United States is in deep trouble due to a severe drought and economic collapse. Due to a series of events Joshua Jordan, creator of the missile defense system code-named Return To Sender, is forced to use it without Washington approval. Now foreign nations want to steal it and the U. S. Government is pressuring Jordan to turn over his designs so that, secretly, they could sell it.

Criag Parshall, known for his legal fiction, has written a page turning, heart-thumping thriller with careful attention to the state of the world right now and how the Bible says we will turn out. Many of the "things" that are mentioned in the book are in place right now and in use, even though most of us are not aware of them. Dr. LaHaye and Craig Parshall have one agenda in mind and that is the salvation of many through this work of fiction. Their zeal is that many will have their eyes open to the state of our world and see that much of where we are currently and where we are poised to go the Bible has already warned us of and that we would understand our need for a savior. They do a truly remarkable job in this book while exciting us with this story that everyone will enjoy.

When I asked them where we would be headed in the next book they told me that they could not tell me that butt that this series is envisioned as a trilogy with the next one due out next year. I can hardly wait!!!

If you missed the interview for "Edge Of Apocalypse" and would like to listen to it please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where it is available On Demand.

To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

posted by VicG on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good, not great

I was a little disappointed in this book. I have previously read the Left Behind series and liked that series, but I'll have to say that I felt this book wasn't up to the same level as the Left Behind books.

I have noticed that sometimes in a series, the author will...
I was a little disappointed in this book. I have previously read the Left Behind series and liked that series, but I'll have to say that I felt this book wasn't up to the same level as the Left Behind books.

I have noticed that sometimes in a series, the author will kind of stretch out the action and let the plot move slowly--to fill more pages and make more money, I suppose. I'm not saying that's the motive here, but I felt things were just dragging a bit. According to Lahaye's website, this book is going to be the first book in a series, so I am already kind of on the fence about buying the next one, if it is going to move slowly like this one does.

My problem is that I really, really wanted to like it, I was looking for a great end-times novel. I'm not sure how much of the writing here is Tim Lahaye's and how much is co-author Craig Parshall's.

Overall, its not a terrible book, I probably will buy the next one in hopes that it picks up a little bit. The characters are like-able enough, the plot is OK, so if you are into this type of fiction, give it a shot.

posted by Just_the_facts_Maam on July 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Edge Of Apocalypse, A Thriller That Mirrors Where We are Today

    I had the privilege of interviewing Tim LaHaye & Craig Parshall, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for their new book, "Edge Of Apocalypse" published by Zondervan.

    This book is a thriller from the first word and gets more exciting word by word. Unlike a previous series by Dr. LaHaye this series is set not to far from where we are today. Dr. LaHaye is using Bible prophecy to show how close we are to what the Bible tells us will happen. Nations will rise against nations and the United States is in deep trouble due to a severe drought and economic collapse. Due to a series of events Joshua Jordan, creator of the missile defense system code-named Return To Sender, is forced to use it without Washington approval. Now foreign nations want to steal it and the U. S. Government is pressuring Jordan to turn over his designs so that, secretly, they could sell it.

    Criag Parshall, known for his legal fiction, has written a page turning, heart-thumping thriller with careful attention to the state of the world right now and how the Bible says we will turn out. Many of the "things" that are mentioned in the book are in place right now and in use, even though most of us are not aware of them. Dr. LaHaye and Craig Parshall have one agenda in mind and that is the salvation of many through this work of fiction. Their zeal is that many will have their eyes open to the state of our world and see that much of where we are currently and where we are poised to go the Bible has already warned us of and that we would understand our need for a savior. They do a truly remarkable job in this book while exciting us with this story that everyone will enjoy.

    When I asked them where we would be headed in the next book they told me that they could not tell me that butt that this series is envisioned as a trilogy with the next one due out next year. I can hardly wait!!!

    If you missed the interview for "Edge Of Apocalypse" and would like to listen to it please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where it is available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 &lt;http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, not great

    I was a little disappointed in this book. I have previously read the Left Behind series and liked that series, but I'll have to say that I felt this book wasn't up to the same level as the Left Behind books.

    I have noticed that sometimes in a series, the author will kind of stretch out the action and let the plot move slowly--to fill more pages and make more money, I suppose. I'm not saying that's the motive here, but I felt things were just dragging a bit. According to Lahaye's website, this book is going to be the first book in a series, so I am already kind of on the fence about buying the next one, if it is going to move slowly like this one does.

    My problem is that I really, really wanted to like it, I was looking for a great end-times novel. I'm not sure how much of the writing here is Tim Lahaye's and how much is co-author Craig Parshall's.

    Overall, its not a terrible book, I probably will buy the next one in hopes that it picks up a little bit. The characters are like-able enough, the plot is OK, so if you are into this type of fiction, give it a shot.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well?

    it was very exciting in the first few chapters then got real slow through most of the book..it picks up again but on the dull side of exciting..an ok read..

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    What a Nut-job...

    I was excited to read this book, but then researched the writer.

    ...I feel bad for him - he's got some major "issues." And that's being compassionate.

    6 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    A Great Read

    Really enjoyed this book -- finished in a few days. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Started strong and then went flat

    This is the first of his books I have read. The book started strong and then went flat. I finally gave up and did not finish it. There are to many other writers to choose from.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Politically Offensive

    Unless you are a politically extreme right wing conservative and a born-again Bible-Belt religious extremist, you will find the book offensive. Almost every page contain a lot of both, intertwined with political lies and ignorance of basic laws economics.
    If one could remove all that, the remaining 1/3 of the book will be a mediocre suspense story. Was not worth the $0.99 or $1.99 I paid for it.


    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    Very Enjoyable book

    This is a good read. Very different from the Left Behind Series, but has the makings of another good series of books. It is somewhat thought provoking, and the characters are really good. I would really recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Gripping Story!

    I was on the edge of my seat when the preview ended. I want the full version ASAP!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Highly recommended!!! A Must Read!!

    Dr. LaHaye and Craig Parshall have brought to the front the dangers awaiting America and the world...it is a must read for all!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Really good read!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I first started reading but Mr LaHaye really does a wonderful job of sucking you into the characters. This book hits you right aways and doesn't stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What if

    a action packed story about what could happen in todays military problems if we don't fix some of our tactick. Today as we watch all the treaties which we sing in on without any incling as to what we are geting into. There'SALT 1 & 2, allowing former enemies into nato and seato. Why pamper terrorists and Samili Pirates. This book gives us the WHAT IF that our president and law makers are leading us into if We The People don't say STOP and remind them who they are supposed to belooking after. A eye opening story which grabs you at the start and pulls you into a world the author created and holds your attention up to the very end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Person


    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Can one give negative stars?

    Sad to see such paranoia masquerading as Christian.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Book!

    Lots of adventure, intrigue, and back door dealing make this book an exciting read. Very interesting commentary on where we are heading in the US due to the decisions being made by our government today. Gives you alot to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Good book

    Good. If you liked Tim Lahayes other books you will enjoy this two book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Exciting

    This is another star in the cap for Tim LaHaye! The book captured my attention from the beginning all the way through to the end. How many Americans find their inovation & inventiveness begin to work against them either through red tape or roadblocks?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Great read

    I love to read about contemporary events, and this books is very much about today's headlines. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Disappointed When You're At The Edge

    I enjoyed reading this book and was never disappointed in having purchased it.
    I have several of this Author's books and have begun to collect them for future use and presents to give to family and friends.
    The Author always writes and touches on subjects that provoke my imagination and sparks my interests in future events.
    I like this Authors interpretation of what life may be like under certain circumstances and conditions.
    The plot and actualization of the events in this book are true to the title and mirror the society we are becoming. This is a "Must Read" book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edge of Apocalypse

    Edge of Apocalypse is based on fictional characters in a very real prophetic scenario based on the book of Revelation.The story goes at mach speed from cover to cover and keeps you locked in as you discover the truth about Bible Prophesies that are actually taking place now. This is the first book in a series called the End series that will take you through the final outcome of God's plan for our lives.

    Tim LaHaye is the author of the Left Behind Series that sold 65 million copies detailing The Rapture to Armageddon and God's Judgment of man. This is a great book, not only for Christians, but for those who seeking God and his will for your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14