Customer Reviews for

Edge of Dawn (Midnight Breed Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The best of the series yet!

ABOUT THE BOOK: Twenty years after the terror of First Dawn—when mankind learned that vampires lived secretly among them—the threat of violence reigns as the two species struggle to coexist. The only group preserving the fragile harmony is the Order, an elite cadre of B...
ABOUT THE BOOK: Twenty years after the terror of First Dawn—when mankind learned that vampires lived secretly among them—the threat of violence reigns as the two species struggle to coexist. The only group preserving the fragile harmony is the Order, an elite cadre of Breed warriors dedicated to protecting humans and vampires alike. And in this precarious world of torn loyalties and shattered trust, Mira, a fiery squad captain, finds that every fight bears an intensely personal cost.

Raised among the Order, Mira has always believed in the warrior’s code of swift—and even lethal—justice. But the one thing she desires more than the Order’s hard-won acceptance is Kellan Archer, a sexy but troubled Breed fighter. In love with him since childhood, Mira once broke through his tough exterior during an unexpected night of rapture, but the next day he mysteriously disappeared, never to return.

Kellan didn’t think he would ever see Mira again—or have to confront the truth of why he left. After abandoning the Order years ago, he now leads a band of human rebels intent on carrying out their own vigilante rule of law. Yet a high-profile kidnapping assignment brings him face-to-face with the past he sought to avoid, and the striking woman he has tried desperately to forget. And as tensions mount and the risk of bloodshed grows, Kellan and Mira must take sides—between the competing missions that dominate their lives, and the electrifying passion that claims their hearts.

REVIEW: Oh…my…God! I have read every single book in this series and I do have to say, this one is by far my favorite.

While I was a bit apprehensive about seeing Mira as a grown woman, seeing in the last book she was still a little girl, I do think Ms. Adrian did a phenominal job in explaining the jump in time. The building of feelings between these characters was very believable and the angst behind why they weren’t together was top notch.

The plot kept you engaged and the ending about tore my heart in half until Ms. Adrian managed to make it all better. I really don’t think I can praise this book enough, so instead I’ll summarize the entire thing with a few choice words. Edge of Dawn is an engaging and raw masterpiece that will have you both on the edge of your seat while reading and flaming the heat of desire from your face as you go.

Ms. Adrian has done it again and if I could I’d give six stars for a FANTASTIC read.

posted by DComfort on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bridge book

The Midnight Breed series has been one of my favorites and I eagerly awaited this book even though I felt the storyline probably could have been wrapped up with the last book or maybe one more. It appears Ms. Adrian cannot bear to leave her beloved vampires and instead ...
The Midnight Breed series has been one of my favorites and I eagerly awaited this book even though I felt the storyline probably could have been wrapped up with the last book or maybe one more. It appears Ms. Adrian cannot bear to leave her beloved vampires and instead of concluding the series bridged it into another world entirely by shooting forward in time and bringing in a new generation of the breed and even a new adversary. So instead of feeling satisfied after finishing this book I am left feeling adrift. The past is not really wrapped up and the future uncertain. This wasn't a true story itself and merely bridges the past books into another set yet to be written. There is potential here and I hope the next in the series lives up to it.

Focusing on this book alone the romance was not satisfying either. Despite us being told repeatedly that Mira and Kellan have always been drawn together we really never get to feel that develop. When we last left them they were children and when this book begins they have been separated for 8 years. Therefore the attraction felt forced and left me somewhat cold. We are told that Mira has become a fierce warrior and yet she seems rather weak to me throughout the book. Kellan is presented as being noble and aloof but instead seems bumbling and inept. Again, being a bridge book the romance was an afterthought with the primary goal being to take us from the series we have known into a new one.

Despite some of the problems and drawbacks I still enjoyed reading the book and when the next in the series comes out I will definitely read it. But I think Ms. Adrian is going to have to choose which set of Breed she is going with or try to mix them together better. In this book the older generation seemed staid and dull and the new ones were brash and unappealing. As an example, Lucan needs to get back to being a bad ass instead of a stiffling, over protective father.

If you liked the earlier books in this series you will probably enjoy this one as well. Just not one of my favorites but I have high hopes for future installments.

posted by Janet5000 on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Eternal Loveas all

    Kellan and Mira's love, which began in childhood, survives even death. In doing so becomes stronger as they confront the many challenges facing the Order. That isn't to say reconnecting wasn't without its struggles, but it was all worth it in the end. Kellan and Mira's love says anything is possible.
    It was nice catching up with the original members. Can't wait to see what happens with their offspring. The adventure continues with new enemies to fight and new love to be discovered.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

    4.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Lara Adrian is a master at her craft! … This story has the perfect mix of interwoven threads that guarantee another amazing 10 books to come!” ~Under the Covers

    Lara Adrian is a master at her craft! She has taken a series that we all know and love and breathed new life into it. Not to say all her previous books in the series weren’t awesome, but as the story arc came to a close with DARKER AFTER MIDNIGHT we were left wondering….”Now what?”

    EDGE OF DAWN starts twenty years after the events of DARKER AFTER MIDNIGHT. The humans know about the Breeds, there’s been war, now there’s somewhat peace and stability. This peace is a fragile idea though, and regulated by a Council with members of both kinds.

    Our beloved Mira is now an Enforcer in one of the Order teams. She’s suffered for many years the death of her one true love and childhood crush, Kellan Archer. She’s hunted the rebel groups responsible for his death with passion. She’s hardened her heart. Gone is the sweet girl we first fell in love.

    A mission gone wrong quickly puts Mira in the path of the new and maybe not so improved Kellan. He is not dead and actually leads the human rebels against his own kind. Mira comes to him as a prisoner but that turns into an alliance as they both can’t hide the feelings that have always been there. After years of being apart, this is the one opportunity neither of them will be able to refuse.

    But why are you reading what I have to say about the story? You should be reading it! This is one of the best Midnight Breeds books yet. It’s a fresh start for the series, introducing a completely new enemy the Order and the Breeds have to face. The rules of the game have changed by changing their world and the people around them. Job extremely well done to Ms. Adrian.

    However, it’s not all about erasing the past and starting fresh. We still have all our favorite Breeds there. They’re still loving strong and growing their families. Most of them have little ones and not so little ones. So look for cameos from some of your favorites.

    EDGE OF DAWN will keep you on the edge of your seat while reading all the twists and turns that Lara Adrian has in store for you. The romance between Kellan and Mira was almost perfect. Kellan is all grown up and completely alpha male. A male that takes what is his but still respects, and loves. A male of honor. Mira on the other hand is kick ass, but she’s not 100% of the kick ass Mira I was expecting.

    This series now can go places. Big places, many places. The new cast the author introduces has me very excited for quite a few new books I see in the horizon and two characters in particular. This story has the perfect mix of interwoven threads that guarantee another amazing 10 books to come!

    Favorite Quotes:

    “If I could keep you with me, hold you forever, I would.”

    “I belong to you, Kellan. There will never be another for me. Not even if I can’t be with you. Not even if you’re gone.”

    “Ever since then, since the very beginning, you’ve stayed with me. You’ve always have my back.”
    “I always will,” she replied. Her voice was quiet, but her eyes were resolute. “When you love someone, that’s what you do.”

    “He had her love. She would always have his heart.”

    *ARC provided by publisher

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    KELLAN AND MIRA

    I was a little lost when I first started reading this. I thought I had missed a book. So it did take some time getting into it. (After checking the series order several time) . I am so glad I read this book. What a beautiful story with Kellan and Mira. Their love lasted. This book was a flurry of different emotions and i loved every minute of it. I can not wait for the next story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read it and loved it! Reading this in the new generations light

    Read it and loved it! Reading this in the new generations light is exciting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Like the book, but needed more insight into what happened prior to this book being written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Finally!!

    Good read.. Finally, it's been a long wait to find out how the story continues.... I just wish I didn't finish it so quickly!! When's the next book coming?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    The beginning felt a bit disjointed due to the reader having to

    The beginning felt a bit disjointed due to the reader having to taken in about 10 years worth of information in the two pages of journal entry and many new characters. However, after you get past that it is a fantastic read and very quick as well. I love how Lara allows the younger generation of the Order to take more control and allow us to learn about them now as adults but still keep the original generation in the series as mentors. I am interested to see how this new villain will continue to affect the Order and how they will combat that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    another good one. really enjoy this series

    another good one. really enjoy this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Midnight Breed series is one of my favorite Paranormal Roman

    The Midnight Breed series is one of my favorite Paranormal Romance series on the market.  It is exceptionally well written, the characters are diverse and richly developed and the overall series arc is compelling and keeps me coming back for more.  After reading the last book, Darker After Midnight, I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive about the continuation of the series.  The series was now complete with the books for the original cast of characters that were introduced to us, but there were still a lot of unanswered questions about the overall series. Why didn’t I trust the genius that is Lara Adrian?  Not only did she deliver an exceptional book with Edge of Dawn, but she breathed new life into the series that I didn’t even realize it needed.  Advancing the story by 20 yrs opens up endless possibilities for the series, as well as, gives us many new characters to lust after.  I should never have doubted!

    Mira (whom we previously met as a 9 yr old with the ability to show a person their future if they looked into her eyes) is now a captain in the Order.  3 yrs ago, she was forced to watch as Kellan, the love of her life, was murdered at the hands of rebels.  She vowed to seek vengeance for his death and to bring her wrath upon every rebel she can.  Her hatred gets her in trouble time and time again, her last bringing a punishment that gets her removed from duty and offered up as private security detail. That details brings into a play, a turn of events that will change her life forever.

    After abandoning the Order years ago when he faked his own death, Kellan Archer has continued to watch over Mira from afar.  When the group of rebels that he leads captures Mira and her charge, he must finally face the consequences of his actions when he left.  He once had Mira’s love, will he be able to accept her hurt and hatred for what he’s done?

    Ms. Adrian is a master story weaver and had me hooked from the very first page.  The emotions felt by Mira throughout this book were tangible and beautifully written; I felt her pain, anguish & despair as she dealt with the loss of Kellan, and her subsequent anger, disbelief and elation as she found him again.  I love that her character was written with such fierceness, but also with a quiet vulnerability.  The plot was riveting, exciting, full of action and delivered what I’ve come to crave in a Midnight Breed book - perfection!  As usual, the cast of secondary characters in Edge of Dawn gave the book a well rounded feel.  I really enjoyed revisiting the couples I’ve grown to love in previous books, being introduced to their now grown children and becoming acquainted with a brand new set of members in the Order. I am so excited to see where we go from here!

    If you want a fabulous paranormal romance read that delivers action, adventure, amazing plot and purely delectable sex - then this series is definitely for you!  Ms. Adrian is a powerhouse in the PNR genre and, Edge of Dawn just continues to prove why!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great transition novel - I can't wait to see what happens next

    A great transition novel - I can't wait to see what happens next

    Edge of Dawn, A Midnight Breed Novel by Lara Adrian is the eleventh novel in the series and I view it as a transition novel.  The story picks up twenty years after First Dawn, the event where mankind learned about the vampires that lived among them.  It centers around Mira and Kellan, characters we were introduced to in previous books and you just knew there would be more to them than just their childhood experiences.




    The world has changed and Mira has changed too.  She is now a squad captain and is dedicated to fighting along side her adopted family in the Order.  She has never forgotten Kellan, the Breed fighter she had been in love with since her childhood but he is gone and she must fight for what she believes in.  I do not want to give any spoilers but since the publisher has said that Mira and Kellan must take sides, you know that Kellan comes back and the book centers around the battle not only between the Order and Opus Nostrum but the struggle for these two to find their way back to each other in a way they can both accept.  Along the way you are reintroduced to the warriors who made this series the exciting, sensual journey you’ve come to expect from Lara Adrain books.




    We are also introduced to some of the children of the Midnight Breed warriors and I think that this book is a good transition between the Breeds we knew from the battle 20 years ago and the new order that is coming.  If you haven’t read the previous 10 books there is much that will not have as large an impact as it can, but since this book takes place in the future, a new reader to the series will not have a hard time catching on and looking forward to what will come next.




    I look forward to “Crave the Night”, the next book in the Midnight Breed novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    mommygreen

    I enjoyed this book froom the frist page to last with seducive and thrilling ride

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have to admit I was a little reluctant to read this after I re

    I have to admit I was a little reluctant to read this after I realized it time jumped 20 years. Though I love the Midnight Breed series, and I love the kids (Kellan, Mira, and Nathan) from the series, I was afraid we would lose too much in the transition from one generation to the next. However, I am happy to report that this book was as wonderful as the first ones. The time jump did take a few chapters to get used to. As I was reading I was picturing the 'kids' as kids; it took me a little while to get it through my head that they are now grown up.

    So Edge of Dawn is Kellan and Mira's story. We saw where they came from and watched them find their little piece of the world as children. This book definitely did them justice. I love Mira. She grew up in the world of the Order surrounded by boys trying to become men, and she held her own. She demanded their love and respect, and she never backed down from something she wanted. If you've read the first books in this series you know Kellan came from death and destruction. He had made something for himself, but in a moment of fear he gave it all up. He thought, of course, he was doing it for all the right reasons, but he eventually discovers you can't run from fate.

    I had really thought the Breed series would end with Chase's story in Darker After Midnight. However, Lara Adrian has reinvented the series by aging the kids and bringing in new threats to the Breed. All of our old favorites of the Order are still in this story, but with the addition of some new and fascinating characters. I'm excited about where this storyline is going and am looking forward to Nathan's story, but I really hope it doesn't end there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    The Breed series has new life, a whole new cast, and new conflicts and battles- It lives on

    Love the Breed series and I love the new life brought into the series. It is fresh and new, but still has all of our favorite characters, passion, and conflicts to overcome. The world now knows vampires exist and after 20 years of warring, a tentative peace looms between humans and the Breed. Enter the new generation of Breed warriors, the children and friends that were just kids, or glimmers in their parents' eyes, now fight the war. And a new villain emerges that brings a new twist to the plot and history of the Breed race. Love it and can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I have enjoyed this series and would recommend to someone that likes the vampire, romance type reading.,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    This book was AH-MA-ZING! I like the transition to another serie

    This book was AH-MA-ZING! I like the transition to another series, apart from the midnight breed series. I thought it was well executed and the romance between the two main characters was just well-written. I love Lara Adrian and her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Lara Adrian is one of my top favorite authors, so I was really e

    Lara Adrian is one of my top favorite authors, so I was really excited to read this book. I have heard comments over the months of waiting that went both ways: really good to really bad. Because of this, I was a bit nervous to read the book and wasn't sure I wanted to buy it. Sometimes, transitions in a story like this don't work well. However, ...

    Edge of Dawn brings us back to the Breed and to some of our favorite characters 20 years after the last book. We find many of the couples now have children that are now becoming warriors in the Order. This book takes us through the story of two of the children we met in the previous books, Mira and Kellan. The book begins with everyone believing that Kellan is dead. Mira has grown into a strong breedmate who has trained hard and become a warrior in the Order.

    I am definitely glad that I choose to read the book. I struggled at the beginning because I kept having questions. Some characters were re-introduced, but I felt that more should have been shared about them. The previous books had left some dangling threads for me that I was hoping would be answered in this book. A big question mark is hanging out there regarding Chase and Tavia's children. It's been awhile since I read their book and now I'm wondering if I should have read it again before reading this book.

    Even with the questions remaining in my head, the last half of the book had me on the edge of my seat, crying, screaming, and holding out hope for these two lovers.

    If you have enjoyed the Midnight Breed series in the past, you definitely don't want to miss this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    aberry1282@yahoo

    Hey there add me as a nook friend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2