BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Edge of Dawn (Midnight Breed Series #11) (Signed Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The best of the series yet!

ABOUT THE BOOK: Twenty years after the terror of First Dawn—when mankind learned that vampires lived secretly among them—the threat of violence reigns as the two species struggle to coexist. The only group preserving the fragile harmony is the Order, an elite cadre of B...
ABOUT THE BOOK: Twenty years after the terror of First Dawn—when mankind learned that vampires lived secretly among them—the threat of violence reigns as the two species struggle to coexist. The only group preserving the fragile harmony is the Order, an elite cadre of Breed warriors dedicated to protecting humans and vampires alike. And in this precarious world of torn loyalties and shattered trust, Mira, a fiery squad captain, finds that every fight bears an intensely personal cost.

Raised among the Order, Mira has always believed in the warrior’s code of swift—and even lethal—justice. But the one thing she desires more than the Order’s hard-won acceptance is Kellan Archer, a sexy but troubled Breed fighter. In love with him since childhood, Mira once broke through his tough exterior during an unexpected night of rapture, but the next day he mysteriously disappeared, never to return.

Kellan didn’t think he would ever see Mira again—or have to confront the truth of why he left. After abandoning the Order years ago, he now leads a band of human rebels intent on carrying out their own vigilante rule of law. Yet a high-profile kidnapping assignment brings him face-to-face with the past he sought to avoid, and the striking woman he has tried desperately to forget. And as tensions mount and the risk of bloodshed grows, Kellan and Mira must take sides—between the competing missions that dominate their lives, and the electrifying passion that claims their hearts.

REVIEW: Oh…my…God! I have read every single book in this series and I do have to say, this one is by far my favorite.

While I was a bit apprehensive about seeing Mira as a grown woman, seeing in the last book she was still a little girl, I do think Ms. Adrian did a phenominal job in explaining the jump in time. The building of feelings between these characters was very believable and the angst behind why they weren’t together was top notch.

The plot kept you engaged and the ending about tore my heart in half until Ms. Adrian managed to make it all better. I really don’t think I can praise this book enough, so instead I’ll summarize the entire thing with a few choice words. Edge of Dawn is an engaging and raw masterpiece that will have you both on the edge of your seat while reading and flaming the heat of desire from your face as you go.

Ms. Adrian has done it again and if I could I’d give six stars for a FANTASTIC read.

posted by DComfort on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bridge book

The Midnight Breed series has been one of my favorites and I eagerly awaited this book even though I felt the storyline probably could have been wrapped up with the last book or maybe one more. It appears Ms. Adrian cannot bear to leave her beloved vampires and instead ...
The Midnight Breed series has been one of my favorites and I eagerly awaited this book even though I felt the storyline probably could have been wrapped up with the last book or maybe one more. It appears Ms. Adrian cannot bear to leave her beloved vampires and instead of concluding the series bridged it into another world entirely by shooting forward in time and bringing in a new generation of the breed and even a new adversary. So instead of feeling satisfied after finishing this book I am left feeling adrift. The past is not really wrapped up and the future uncertain. This wasn't a true story itself and merely bridges the past books into another set yet to be written. There is potential here and I hope the next in the series lives up to it.

Focusing on this book alone the romance was not satisfying either. Despite us being told repeatedly that Mira and Kellan have always been drawn together we really never get to feel that develop. When we last left them they were children and when this book begins they have been separated for 8 years. Therefore the attraction felt forced and left me somewhat cold. We are told that Mira has become a fierce warrior and yet she seems rather weak to me throughout the book. Kellan is presented as being noble and aloof but instead seems bumbling and inept. Again, being a bridge book the romance was an afterthought with the primary goal being to take us from the series we have known into a new one.

Despite some of the problems and drawbacks I still enjoyed reading the book and when the next in the series comes out I will definitely read it. But I think Ms. Adrian is going to have to choose which set of Breed she is going with or try to mix them together better. In this book the older generation seemed staid and dull and the new ones were brash and unappealing. As an example, Lucan needs to get back to being a bad ass instead of a stiffling, over protective father.

If you liked the earlier books in this series you will probably enjoy this one as well. Just not one of my favorites but I have high hopes for future installments.

posted by Janet5000 on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The best of the series yet!

    ABOUT THE BOOK: Twenty years after the terror of First Dawn—when mankind learned that vampires lived secretly among them—the threat of violence reigns as the two species struggle to coexist. The only group preserving the fragile harmony is the Order, an elite cadre of Breed warriors dedicated to protecting humans and vampires alike. And in this precarious world of torn loyalties and shattered trust, Mira, a fiery squad captain, finds that every fight bears an intensely personal cost.

    Raised among the Order, Mira has always believed in the warrior’s code of swift—and even lethal—justice. But the one thing she desires more than the Order’s hard-won acceptance is Kellan Archer, a sexy but troubled Breed fighter. In love with him since childhood, Mira once broke through his tough exterior during an unexpected night of rapture, but the next day he mysteriously disappeared, never to return.

    Kellan didn’t think he would ever see Mira again—or have to confront the truth of why he left. After abandoning the Order years ago, he now leads a band of human rebels intent on carrying out their own vigilante rule of law. Yet a high-profile kidnapping assignment brings him face-to-face with the past he sought to avoid, and the striking woman he has tried desperately to forget. And as tensions mount and the risk of bloodshed grows, Kellan and Mira must take sides—between the competing missions that dominate their lives, and the electrifying passion that claims their hearts.

    REVIEW: Oh…my…God! I have read every single book in this series and I do have to say, this one is by far my favorite.

    While I was a bit apprehensive about seeing Mira as a grown woman, seeing in the last book she was still a little girl, I do think Ms. Adrian did a phenominal job in explaining the jump in time. The building of feelings between these characters was very believable and the angst behind why they weren’t together was top notch.

    The plot kept you engaged and the ending about tore my heart in half until Ms. Adrian managed to make it all better. I really don’t think I can praise this book enough, so instead I’ll summarize the entire thing with a few choice words. Edge of Dawn is an engaging and raw masterpiece that will have you both on the edge of your seat while reading and flaming the heat of desire from your face as you go.

    Ms. Adrian has done it again and if I could I’d give six stars for a FANTASTIC read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bitter Sweet!

    For readers of the Midnight Breed series, this is going to be bitter-sweet!

    For readers of the Midnight Breed Series, this will be a bitter-sweet read! Time has marched on! Although placed twenty years after the Breed's 'outting' to the public, it picks up with the same attitude and force! I do think its necessary to have the series under your belt before reading this book!

    For the record, I LOVED it! It was great to see what happens to the younger breed generation. I DO like how half the book was NOT relegated to explaining the past over and over. The short history lines will bring it all back to Breed fans!

    This ARC copy of EDGE OF DAWN was given to me by NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group - Bantam Dell in exchange for an honest review. Pub Date Feb 26 2013

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    I knew this book would not dissapoint! Lara is one of my favorit

    I knew this book would not dissapoint! Lara is one of my favorite authors and this is one of my favorite series. My heart broke for Mira and I fell in love with Kellan. We get introduced to the next generation of warriors and breedmates, and I am so excited to see what is next, but don't worry, you still get your healthy dose of the first generation breeds and their breedmates.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Eternal Loveas all

    Kellan and Mira's love, which began in childhood, survives even death. In doing so becomes stronger as they confront the many challenges facing the Order. That isn't to say reconnecting wasn't without its struggles, but it was all worth it in the end. Kellan and Mira's love says anything is possible.
    It was nice catching up with the original members. Can't wait to see what happens with their offspring. The adventure continues with new enemies to fight and new love to be discovered.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Fantastic!

    What a great story to continue the struggle the order faces to find peace. I loved Mira and Kellan's story. I have lived this entire series and hope the story continues.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Best one yet

    Was unable to put this down. Read whole thing in 3 hours. The twists i didn't see coming. A truly touching story of how love can conquer all even when it seems fate won't. Will be going back to re-read this again for sure. Mira and Kellan's story should not be missed. Cannot wait for the next Breed novel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lara Adrian transports her Midnight Breed series to 20 years int

    Lara Adrian transports her Midnight Breed series to 20 years into the future after First Dawn. Tensions are high among the humans and the vampires. The Order's leader, Lucan, is trying to balance the prickly relationship but soon discovers that there are other forces inside and outside the Order working against them and these forces are trying to make the vampires out to be the bad guys.

    Edge of Dawn focuses on the breed warrior Kellan and his breedmate, Mira. Kellan was supposedly killed eight years before and Mira has felt empty ever since. He was her best friend and only lover and it was all taken away from her in a ball of fire. Only revenge keeps her motivated and fighting for the Order. Then one day during a routine “babysitting” mission, Mira discovers a life shattering secret, Kellan is still alive. What is worse, he is the leader for the rebels. Kellan has lived with major regret this entire time but after what he saw in Mira’s eyes that night eight years before, he figured he had no choice.

    Adrian takes her readers on an emotional roller coaster. Kellan thinks that disappearing was the way to protect Mira only to discover that he has been wrong all along. There is no way to avoid your destiny and his involves facing the Order and paying for what he has done. As Kellan and Mira try to figure out who the actual bad guys are; they also discover that they can no longer deny their love for each other.

    This series definitely got a new makeover and the storyline is refreshed. I was unable to put the book down once I started. The ending reveals where Adrian is going with the series and I for one want to be first in line for this ride.

    (Book was provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I like how the author brought in new characters yet still keep t

    I like how the author brought in new characters yet still keep the old one involved. The story line was great. Looking forward to future books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

    4.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Lara Adrian is a master at her craft! … This story has the perfect mix of interwoven threads that guarantee another amazing 10 books to come!” ~Under the Covers

    Lara Adrian is a master at her craft! She has taken a series that we all know and love and breathed new life into it. Not to say all her previous books in the series weren’t awesome, but as the story arc came to a close with DARKER AFTER MIDNIGHT we were left wondering….”Now what?”

    EDGE OF DAWN starts twenty years after the events of DARKER AFTER MIDNIGHT. The humans know about the Breeds, there’s been war, now there’s somewhat peace and stability. This peace is a fragile idea though, and regulated by a Council with members of both kinds.

    Our beloved Mira is now an Enforcer in one of the Order teams. She’s suffered for many years the death of her one true love and childhood crush, Kellan Archer. She’s hunted the rebel groups responsible for his death with passion. She’s hardened her heart. Gone is the sweet girl we first fell in love.

    A mission gone wrong quickly puts Mira in the path of the new and maybe not so improved Kellan. He is not dead and actually leads the human rebels against his own kind. Mira comes to him as a prisoner but that turns into an alliance as they both can’t hide the feelings that have always been there. After years of being apart, this is the one opportunity neither of them will be able to refuse.

    But why are you reading what I have to say about the story? You should be reading it! This is one of the best Midnight Breeds books yet. It’s a fresh start for the series, introducing a completely new enemy the Order and the Breeds have to face. The rules of the game have changed by changing their world and the people around them. Job extremely well done to Ms. Adrian.

    However, it’s not all about erasing the past and starting fresh. We still have all our favorite Breeds there. They’re still loving strong and growing their families. Most of them have little ones and not so little ones. So look for cameos from some of your favorites.

    EDGE OF DAWN will keep you on the edge of your seat while reading all the twists and turns that Lara Adrian has in store for you. The romance between Kellan and Mira was almost perfect. Kellan is all grown up and completely alpha male. A male that takes what is his but still respects, and loves. A male of honor. Mira on the other hand is kick ass, but she’s not 100% of the kick ass Mira I was expecting.

    This series now can go places. Big places, many places. The new cast the author introduces has me very excited for quite a few new books I see in the horizon and two characters in particular. This story has the perfect mix of interwoven threads that guarantee another amazing 10 books to come!

    Favorite Quotes:

    “If I could keep you with me, hold you forever, I would.”

    “I belong to you, Kellan. There will never be another for me. Not even if I can’t be with you. Not even if you’re gone.”

    “Ever since then, since the very beginning, you’ve stayed with me. You’ve always have my back.”
    “I always will,” she replied. Her voice was quiet, but her eyes were resolute. “When you love someone, that’s what you do.”

    “He had her love. She would always have his heart.”

    *ARC provided by publisher

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    This is probably the best book in this series. Well written/det

    This is probably the best book in this series. Well written/detailed and contains more emotion than others within the series. My only quam about Adrian's series is that it mimicks J R Ward's-Black Dagger Brotherhood. The stories/characters are very much alike. Anyway, it is a great read and I expect we'll see more and it may begin with Nathan's character...One more thing: It has been difficult for me to have an emotional bound with these characters. This latest book, was the first in this series that I found a true connection..don't know why, other than the wriiter never allows you to get the full connection. J R Ward's BDB series has ALWAYS offered the connection with true stay power.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Loved it

    Great. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Love it"""

    I cant wait for the next book.... i even cried when he died and smiled when she knew he was back into her world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Awesome

    I absolutely loved this book, possibly even more than all the others. I was afraid it might seem like a completely different series since it starts out 20 years later, but Lara makes the transition seamless. We see alot of our favorite warriers of the Order (especially Lucan), and its great to see their children all grown up. The story is interesting and the twists near the end have me salivating for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    KELLAN AND MIRA

    I was a little lost when I first started reading this. I thought I had missed a book. So it did take some time getting into it. (After checking the series order several time) . I am so glad I read this book. What a beautiful story with Kellan and Mira. Their love lasted. This book was a flurry of different emotions and i loved every minute of it. I can not wait for the next story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read it and loved it! Reading this in the new generations light

    Read it and loved it! Reading this in the new generations light is exciting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Absolutely Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lara never fails to bring i

    Absolutely Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Lara never fails to bring it like she means it. I love the way she keeps "The Order" evolving, with new blood always coming into play. The Midnight Breed Series just keeps on getting better and better with so much more potential for more books. Keep it going Lara, can't wait to read what's next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Like the book, but needed more insight into what happened prior to this book being written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I really like reading Lara Adeian's (the Order). I have all of them on my Nook. I would recommend reading reading The Order books first. It shows that all vampires aren't the monsters we think they are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Finally!!

    Good read.. Finally, it's been a long wait to find out how the story continues.... I just wish I didn't finish it so quickly!! When's the next book coming?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Luved it.

    I have read this whole series a couple of times. Every book is absolutelt captivating. Taking u into the world of the Breed and the women who love them.. cannot wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8