BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Edge of Disaster

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sexy, sweet story

I have a new boyfriend. His name is Pearce. Don't tell my other boyfriends – they get jealous.

So…what I love about this book (besides that cover!)-
I love Alexia. Though a bit too immature for her age at times, she was a fun character. She's been through some toug...
I have a new boyfriend. His name is Pearce. Don't tell my other boyfriends – they get jealous.

So…what I love about this book (besides that cover!)-
I love Alexia. Though a bit too immature for her age at times, she was a fun character. She's been through some tough times and let them get her down, but ultimately, with the help of a great friend and great guy (my boyfriend) is able to begin to pick herself back up and get her act together again.

I love Pearce. Yummy, sexy, rich, sweet, romantic…oh my God, why even go on? He's perfect. He is able to see something good in Alexia and goes after it despite the fact that they come from completely different worlds. He holds onto her when she tries to let go. I love him.

I love that although Alexia and Pearce are attracted to each other instantly, their relationship is slow going. Pearce is a little crazy for Alexia, but she needed some time to sort her life out before she can for forward with it, and he was willing to give that to her.

I think what I love most about this book, though, is how it shows how diverse A.M. Hargrove is. She has a young adult series with a spinoff adult series. Both of these are in the fantasy/sci-fi genre, and now she throws this one out, which is contemporary adult, completely different, and is just as good as her previous books. I think sometimes it is hard for an author to break the genre barriers successfully, but she has done it.

So...here's what I didn't like-
Alexia and Pearce together…he is supposed to be mine!

This story is sexy and sweet. I knew where it was heading long before the end, but knowing the outcome did not ruin the journey; instead, it made it more delightful to be reading on to see which path the author would take us on to get there. As they say, the journey is half the fun.

posted by srfeike on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This book sounded like it could be good, but it really was not good. The writing was so bad, way too much unneccesary swear words, especially the female character. Very unrealistic and the realationship between the couple was very rushed and I found myself skimming ove...
This book sounded like it could be good, but it really was not good. The writing was so bad, way too much unneccesary swear words, especially the female character. Very unrealistic and the realationship between the couple was very rushed and I found myself skimming over so much of this book because it was just bad!

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    What a story!

    This book had me all over the place. Lexi went through so many emotions, and I was right there with her. She made so many mistakes and felt like she didn't deserve to be forgiven. Thank goodness for a strong man like Pearce. It takes the love of a strong man for her to crawl out of her dark place. And it was dark! Great read with lots of personal struggle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy, sweet story

    I have a new boyfriend. His name is Pearce. Don't tell my other boyfriends – they get jealous.

    So…what I love about this book (besides that cover!)-
    I love Alexia. Though a bit too immature for her age at times, she was a fun character. She's been through some tough times and let them get her down, but ultimately, with the help of a great friend and great guy (my boyfriend) is able to begin to pick herself back up and get her act together again.

    I love Pearce. Yummy, sexy, rich, sweet, romantic…oh my God, why even go on? He's perfect. He is able to see something good in Alexia and goes after it despite the fact that they come from completely different worlds. He holds onto her when she tries to let go. I love him.

    I love that although Alexia and Pearce are attracted to each other instantly, their relationship is slow going. Pearce is a little crazy for Alexia, but she needed some time to sort her life out before she can for forward with it, and he was willing to give that to her.

    I think what I love most about this book, though, is how it shows how diverse A.M. Hargrove is. She has a young adult series with a spinoff adult series. Both of these are in the fantasy/sci-fi genre, and now she throws this one out, which is contemporary adult, completely different, and is just as good as her previous books. I think sometimes it is hard for an author to break the genre barriers successfully, but she has done it.

    So...here's what I didn't like-
    Alexia and Pearce together…he is supposed to be mine!

    This story is sexy and sweet. I knew where it was heading long before the end, but knowing the outcome did not ruin the journey; instead, it made it more delightful to be reading on to see which path the author would take us on to get there. As they say, the journey is half the fun.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    sexy read...

    Alexia wakes up in the arms of different men and god only knows what kind of drugs she did the night before. So when her best friend gives her an ultimatum, she decides it’s time to quit the partying and the men and start the growing up. When she meets Pearce she is instantly attracted to him, but she has vowed to not date until she can get her messed up life back on track. Will she allow the Doctor with the smoky eyes to evade her heart? Or will her messed up past overcome her future?

    When I first started reading EDGE OF DISASTER I was a little freaked out. I mean the girl is waking up at some stranger’s house. And apparently she had a good time with not one but 2 guys. Am I that sheltered…that naive that I found these actions totally appalling? But gosh did it made for a great start to a book. Because once you get past the opening, we see that Alexia is really trying to turn things around. Unfortunately something horrible happens and forces her to start all over again. You get what I am saying? Alexia feels as if God is making her pay for her the sins of her past.

    Enter Pearce aka Dr. Smoky Eyes. He comes charging into her life and it will never be the same again. And who the flip would want it to? He is sexy, gorgeous, rich, caring, and did I mention sexy? Cause yeah, he totally is. Once Lexi tells him yes to going on a date…her life is swept up into a whirlwind full of romance and love….lots of love.

    This is where I sometimes contradict myself again in my reviews. Yes I do love stories where romances grow slowly. But I also think that some romances can begin with a spark; a bang. Exhibit A: Me and the hubs. After only dating for a couple weeks he proposed. A couple months later we were married. Now 13 years and 3 kids later….we are happily married still. So yeah, even those great relationships can happen instantly. So I think it was sweet seeing this two react to the fact that they are head over heels in love after such a short time.

    Now I know you are thinking…I just gave away the whole plot. Nope. I mean, just look at the cover. These 2 obviously get together. But there is an occurrence that happens near the beginning of the story that sets the stage for more to come. You just got to wait for it.

    Ok, just going to explain now why I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Although I was crazy about Pearce and the romance…some of it came off a little corny or cheesy. Some of the dialogue to me wasn’t entirely believable, in my opinion at least. But that is about all I found fault with. I really liked it and thought that it told a good story. The book is also fairly quick to read…I would have been done sooner but things kept getting in the way of my reading time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I am incredibly lucky to have been given this book by A.M Hargro

    I am incredibly lucky to have been given this book by A.M Hargrove herself. She is a wonderfully talented Author who is so generous as to share her work with me. As an avid reader, lover of books, and review blogger, nothing could make me happier. Especially when receiving the spectacular books that Hargrove continues to amaze me and have me falling in love with.




    Edge of Disaster was a step in a new direction for her. She has mainly stayed with the fantastical and paranormal, but she bravely jumped into the Contemporary with this new book of hers. Anne has always been incredible at the romance aspect of stories. She's an expert at creating these partnerships, situations, and characters that just come together so perfectly and have you falling in love with them as much as they are falling in love with each other. She hooks me with her loves stories every single time without fail. Not to mention, she persistently creates these men that have us ladies groveling, drooling, and fantasizing about even when the pages are closed. Yes, Hargrove has the yummy factor perfected. She knows just how to make us weak in the knees.




    All of this absolutely came through in her new book with her new genre. I would almost say that Pearce is my new favorite male character of hers. With his amazing heart, his manly gentleness, his charisma, generosity, intelligence, and drop dead stunning good looks. I think Rayn from the Guardians of Vesturon series is still my favorite, but Pearce is definitely tagging along right behind him. Alexia is this completely broken and whittled down to nothing young lady. With a past that is a giant black cloud that never leaves her, and never ceases to darken her days. Her life is on a one way fast track to self destruction. That is all until Pearce with the eyes that kill walks into her life.




    Pearce is determined to be a part of her life, to help her become the wonderfully happy, amazing woman he knows that she can be. With much perseverance and love he helps her rebuild her life, helps her open her heart back up, to love not only him, but herself again. It was heart melting and heart breaking, a romantic and emotional journey that captivated me from start to finish. Let us not forget, this is an adult book ;). Yet another dynamic that Hargrove seems to have mastered with ease. Her love scenes are electric, steaming hot, drool worthy, perfectly detailed and wonderfully romantic. 




    There's a reason Hargrove made it to my list of Top 10 Authors I posted recently. She is amazing at what she does. She writes these amazing stories with the most intriguing characters and plot lines that catch you hook, line, and sinker. You have got to pick up this book. Congratulations to Hargrove on mastering yet another genre and capturing my heart yet again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Alexia was in a pit of hell when she first met Pearce and he end

    Alexia was in a pit of hell when she first met Pearce and he ended up being her salvation. Hargrove again managed to write a book that
    was well worth reading, with just the right amount of mystery revolving around the romance. I would recommend the book to anyone, well
    anyone over 18.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Good read

    Intriguing story....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1