Customer Reviews for

Edge of Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting romantic suspense thriller

    Fifteen years ago, Sean McCloud¿s twin brother Kevin allegedly committed suicide he did not believe the official report, but could do little about it. Distraught he sent his beloved girlfriend Olivia ¿Liv¿ Endicott away when she offered him solace and to keep her safe because he believed he was next.------------------------------ In Washington State Liv¿s bookstore burns down on the day Sean returns into her life. He knows he blew it when he dumped her because he believes the person who killed Kevin is coming to kill her. He vows to keep her safe although Liv makes it clear she does not trust Sean what she hides is that she mistrusts him with her heart because she still lives him. As they flee for their lives, they try to understand the clues Kevin left behind in a notebook and why their attraction to one another remains strong.----------------------- This exciting romantic suspense thriller should carry a warning label for those with heart conditions as the palpitations will begin from the smoky encounter between Sean and Liv. The story line is fast-paced as he now knows he must be at his beloved¿s side to keep her safe staying away proved futile. At times very dark in tone and borderline implausible (no one will care except picky reviewers), EDGE OF MIDNIGHT is a fabulous second chance at love if they can stay alive long enough to enjoy being with one another.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Very good!!!

    I really enjoy her books! I love the intensity of the characters and the brother relationship. detailed, but tolerable :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Good story but ..........

    Interesting story line but the language was a little too graphic. It seemed very artificial. Like the author was trying too hard to make the story gritty and write from a male point of view. I started skipping over most of the sex scenes about half way through. I like some sex in books but this drifted too close to porn and went on for pages. It became boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    ## not great

    So i liked the story lines of this series. But the heroes in all these books are just so mean and cruel. How are we, the readers, supposed to believe that the heroines fall for these guys? In behind closed doors, he forces himself on her more than once, calls her a whore, locks her in the attic and she just magically forgives him? Come on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Fantastic Read!

    Could not put this book down! McKenna builds characters with such depth that you feel that you know them personnely. Steamy love scenes that make you burn to find a McLoud brother for yourself. Riveting storyline and believable action. I even accidentally read the series out of order and still want to go back and start from the beginning. Get this series. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Edge of Midnight

    Loved this story. Shannon MCkenna is an incredible writer. The stories keep you on your toes. When you start reading her books you can't put them down. Love the Mcloud brothers. Sexy, hot. hot. & hot. Can't wait to read what she has up her sleeve with Kevin Mcloud. The stories are not only romantic and sexual, but the story lines are good and keeps you very much interested. Unbelievable..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!! SO FREAKIN HOT!!!!! LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I have enjoyed all of Shannon McKenna's books, but this one WOW! Sean and Liv sizzle and I could not put this book down. I was kind of hoping that Liv would end up blurting out she was pregnant at the end, but I liked how this one ended with yet another hot love scene. Liv should have decked her witch of a mother. I was glad that her dad at least came around and ditched the witch and stood up for her. Tam was cool as usual, and I loved her secret lair it suits her, and her wearable weapons. Cool jewlrey. Cindy prooved to be a pain in the a$$, and I'm glad Miles finaly got the girl. I wish he would have done better in the fight though. This book was just so much fun to read, and poor Liv half naked through the first half of the book. I also love how everyone is always making Tam their maid of honor it's cool. I highly recomend this series if romantic/thrillers are your forte. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    riding on the edge

    First I will start off saying I do enjoy reading Shannon McKenna books. She is an author who gives you just enough to continue with her series. This is a continuation in her Midnight series and not one of the best.
    The plot was a little weak and the main character was way too naive for someone who had endured what she experienced in her past. But I will give it two thumbs up for the sexual chemistry displayed. It's a good read maybe just for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Come on, give me something new Shannon!

    I have to agree that all her books are starting to look a lot repeatative. And the characters do seem to be exactly the same as in all the other books. It's just getting so predictable. But the sex scenes are still there....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    not a very good companion to the others in this series

    Having read the other three books in this series (Behind Closed Doors, Standing in the Shadows, Out of Control), I have to say that if I had read this one first, I'm not sure that I would have read the others. In no way am I a prude (I like novels with more than a little sex in them!), but McKenna's use of graphic language reminds me of listening to a conversation in a middle school boys' locker room! Also, the "female protagonist is in great danger" story line was one that was used in the other novels in the series, so the repetition factor is another negative for this book. Sorry, but I think that "Edge of Midnight" has cured me of any desire to read any other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Awesome

    I absolutely loved this book. I've not been disappointed by any of Ms. McKenna'a books, and I particularly LOVE the McCloud series...all of them are worth reading more than once. Humor, likeable characters, suspense, drama, hot sex scenes....WHOA...what more can you ask for? Review before you buy...if graphic language and sex scenes in every other chapter offend you then you should review books before you buy them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Wash your mouth out with soap, Sean.

    This is the first Shannon McKenna book I have read. Great plot line, interesting characters with tons of wit and it kept my attention throughout. However, most people don't talk to their loved ones with such gutter language. Yes, Sean loves Liv, but during their first encounter he used some of the worst words I have ever heard or read. McKenna could have gotten the exact scenerio without the raw language. I'm not a prude, more of a romantic, so I feel Sean could have addressed his emotions in a less graphic way. Liv should have demanded a little more respect and slapped some of those words off his nasty face. All her characters were likable, especially Tam. A novel surrounding Tam would be interesting to say the least. If all Mckenna's main male characters express themselves in such graphic prose, perhaps I won't buy another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Hmmmm ... I see more books in this series

    I really liked this book. It was funny, and touching, and the guys are goofy and endearing. And, I agree with the previous reviewer. I, too, see something spectacular in the future of this series. Please, please, write HIM in, Ms. McKenna! You KNOW you want to!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This bookk is great ,better than Out of Control and Hot Night ,but not as good as Behind Closed Doors

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    WOW!!!!!!! Edge of Your Seat Fun

    I have been an avid reader of Shannon Mckenna for years and she has always proved an outstanding writer, and she proves it once again with this book. This is an almost fitting end to the McCloud brothers. For those that read this book, I hope that you see the same possibility that I did, of having two more books in this series. I hope that I am right and she takes this series in that direction. I highly recommend this book and any others in the McCloud brothers series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5