Customer Reviews for

The Education of Little Tree

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Have several copies!!

I actually didnt buy this book from here originally. I am buying it again though, not only to own the 25th anniversary version, but also to own a copy that isnt worn. I have read this book a dozen or more times, lent it to friends to let read, and talked about it for ye...
I actually didnt buy this book from here originally. I am buying it again though, not only to own the 25th anniversary version, but also to own a copy that isnt worn. I have read this book a dozen or more times, lent it to friends to let read, and talked about it for years. Everytime I read this book I find something new in it. Something I didnt laugh at, something I didnt learn, or something I never felt. I was an English major in college, and have read a lot of books, both for academics and for pleasure. This remains my favorite by far. Only an open-minded and full-hearted person should read this, though. Otherwise, the lessons are gone to waste.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It has meaning but its to boring for an ordinary teen.

This book shows the discrimination that native americans face in the 30's. It lets you see the way the cherokees live and their beliefs. You can understand how they bond and care for each other. This is true and deep. Now that I told you the good stuff. I have to tel...
This book shows the discrimination that native americans face in the 30's. It lets you see the way the cherokees live and their beliefs. You can understand how they bond and care for each other. This is true and deep. Now that I told you the good stuff. I have to tell you that some parts are interesting while others, well, not so much. I might like it when im older but not that much now. But none the less i like the emotion behind it.

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Have several copies!!

    I actually didnt buy this book from here originally. I am buying it again though, not only to own the 25th anniversary version, but also to own a copy that isnt worn. I have read this book a dozen or more times, lent it to friends to let read, and talked about it for years. Everytime I read this book I find something new in it. Something I didnt laugh at, something I didnt learn, or something I never felt. I was an English major in college, and have read a lot of books, both for academics and for pleasure. This remains my favorite by far. Only an open-minded and full-hearted person should read this, though. Otherwise, the lessons are gone to waste.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    One of the Best Books I've Ever Read

    Apparently this book was lost on the younger readers, even though it was told from (in the beginning) a 5 year old's perspective. This book made me laugh out loud, feel sad, feel happy, and made me cry for a good hour in the end. I was devastated when I found out if was not a true story after all.

    The author was definitely not a good person, 1. for falsely claiming the book was true, and 2. for his association with segregationists (KKK). I can't imagine how someone wrote so sympathetically about Native Americans, yet was prejudiced against another race. A totally illogical contradiction to my mind.

    Even with that said I still think the book itself deserves 5 stars, just get it from the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    A Must Read

    "The Education of Little Tree" is one of those books that can bring you out of you reality while you read it, and change your everyday life when you're not. Forest Carter makes the outdoors and a simplistic lifestyle desired instead of the busy lives that we live today. This book inspires you to stop and look around once in a while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    How to Live Your Life in a Meaningful Way

    That's what this book should be sub-titled. I love the simple humor as seen through the eyes of a child, the wisdom beyond literacy shown by the grandfather, and the understanding shown by the marriage of the grandparents that this book exemplifies. I read everything and this book is my #1 favorite of all time..YOU MUST READ THIS AND GIVE IT TO ALL OF OUR CHILDREN (TEENS, YOUNG ADULTS, ETC.)!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    One of the greatest books of all time!

    Geez, where do i start? Well, i guess that i will just cut to the chase. It is by far the greatest book that i have ever read. It includes just about every tone you can ask from a book. To name a few, side-splitting laughter, suspense, and sadness. Now i must admit that i put off reading this book for about two years. But once i picked it up, I couldn't put it down. Now, if you are thinking the same way that i was when i first borrowed the book from a relative, DON'T! Whatever you do, do not put off reading this book. I can garauntee that it will be on your 'TOP 5 LIST'. And if you are thinking about buying it, hurry up! Definetly a timeless book for all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    This is the sadest but the best book I have read in a long time!

    The Education of Little Tree is the most amazing story. The story of a young Cherokee living with his grandparents in the mouatins. I wont give anything away because you have to read this book it is an amazing, wonderful, toching, hearfelt story that is must read for everybody. This book broke my heart and I cried hard while reading this book and I will proably read it again and again because this book has changed my life. I can not make you read this book but I can tell you that you will love it no matter who you are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Makes you think...

    This is a book for people trying to learn how to make their world a better place by understanding what shapes different people's view of the world. I think you must be a parent to really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    If We All Were Trees

    Of Cherokee heritage, I grew up in the foothills of the Smokies, where this story is set. It's a beautiful book, filled with heart, humor and Cherokee lore. It's my favorite book on the Cherokee, next to Walking the Trail, One Man's Journey Along the Cherokee Trail of Tears, by Native American writer Jerry Ellis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Touching

    this was one of the best books i've ever read it taught me a lot about life and my own education if you read this please read the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    A very touching story

    This story touched my heart. It is a great tale about the mountains, the way of the Indian, and growing up. It is especially touching in its way of telling the story from a child's point of view. I think this is an important book to read because it addresses underlying issues that we face even today; prejudice, family, life, death. While I do recommend that everyone read this book at some point, I would say this book is best for older readers. There is quite a bit of swearing, and some scenes involving deeper issues--such as prejudice and discrimination---that would only be understood by more mature readers. Definitely a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    A one sitting read

    My all time favorite! I was given this book by a friend while camping and fishing in the Smokies of NC. I sat up all night reading by the light of a Coleman lantern. Entertaining, humorous, filled with life's lessons and the importance of family, and I promise it will bring tears at times. I have given many copies to friends and family. Five star read all the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    I Loved This Book

    This book is a wonderful story about growing up Native American. The reader can learn to have an appreciation for Native American culture, as well as for nature. The ending was very sad. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Must read!!!!!!

    I just finishrd reading this book and i am 11. Though there is a lot of swering this book is very funny. My mom and me cryed through the end when he goes to the orphanige. My favorite part is with mr. chuck. This book is a must read, TOTALY!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Watch the Movie

    I've watched the movie and loved it. I would love to see this on on Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    A lesson to be learned.

    I am not sure which lesson I appreciated more. In the story, the child learned to love his family, appreciate the earth and the little things in life. The child also learned that life can be very cruel and cold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    An all-time favorite

    This book should be required reading. It will touch you in ways that are deep and profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    What it means to be 'educated'

    The lessons we learn as we read about the experiences of Little Tree teaches us the real meaning of an education. Lessons of appreciation for nature, living things, culture, pride and native american values serves as great counterweight for the greed driven, self-centered, culturally insensitive and ingorant society in which we live. We can all learn a lot from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    This book changed my life

    one of the most amazing books i have ever read. the author is a beautiful writer and i felt like i was right there with little tree. an eye opener on how things should be done and how they could be made better. i cried like a small child through the last chapters by the overwhelming emotions that were released. I recommend this book to any person of any age who would like to see the light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    no person should go through life with out reading this book

    this book has made me cry laugh and has spilt out every other emotion in me i also had to read this as a school asigment and i did not really like it book but by the end i was so intense in it i wish i could give it more stars but five is the highest there are no words i can possibly use to describe this book and as i said in the title no person should live there life without reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    A Book for all ages, & times!

    With stories passed down from his grandfather, Little Tree relates history from the Civil War to the Depression Era with real characters touchingly filled with humor, honesty, and sweetness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2