Customer Reviews for

The Education of a Coach

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    If You Want to Know How to be Great at Your Craft . . . Read This!

    An entertaining book that covers the influences, mentors, and thinking processes that has shaped a truly great coach. Focuses on his upbringing, and how his father, a Navy offensive coordinator, taught him as a young teen to 'break down film' and discover an opponent's tendancies. Describes New England's approach in upsetting the Rams to win his first Super Bowl as a head coach (attack their strengths). Provides a roadmap for those wanting to be great at their craft as well as a sobering tale about how personal losses can arise where career demands get too intense. If you love football or sports strategy, you'll love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

     I selected this book as my summer reading book because football

     I selected this book as my summer reading book because football is one of my favorite sports, and I am a big Patriots fan. I also thought it would be interesting to learn about how Bill Belichick became one of the best N.F.L coaches of today. I would not recommend this book to a high schooler because David Halberstam states a lot stats and facts, that a high school reader would get bored of. But, on the flip side, Belichick shows many traits that a high school students should have. For example, while he was working his way up, many other coaches did not believe in him and told him he would never make it due to his lack of social skills. However he had perseverance during those difficult times which made him the successful N.F.L coach he is today. Other ways important values are shown in this book is when Bill is having trouble with a player’s behavior and deals with the problem, showing good composure. However he knew when it was the right time to discipline the star player of the team. These values can teach a high school student how to become a better communicator when problems arise and how to never give up on their dreams.
     This book did meet my expectations. I expected this book to state a lot of facts about Bill Belichick's prestigious career as a football coach. I expected this book to be in chronological order according to Bill's life. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    Inside a Private Champion

    A private no frills personality makes it to the top of his profession on what seems to be his terms. Bill Belichick, sure to be a Hall of Famer is profiled in a very in depth but short read. He is a true example of how hard work and dedication to a profession can pay off in the biggest reward that occupation has to offer.Although it is an excellant profile as well as a great inside view of the coaching world it leaves one to wonder whether it is worth the sacrifices.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    The Education of a Coach by David Halberstam is a great story of

    The Education of a Coach by David Halberstam is a great story of how Bill Belichick became one of the greatest coaches in N.F.L history. I selected this book as my summer reading choice because I love and play football. I'm also a huge patriots fan and wanted to learn more about the team and Coach Belichick. I also wanted to learn of how Bill Belichick became one of the greatest coaches in N.F.L history because one day I might want to try to be a football coach. I knew Bill Belichick was different then most coaches and I selected this book to learn more about how he is so different compared to other coaches.
    I would recommend this book to any high school reader that loves football. If you love football then you will love this book because it talks about famous coaches and players throughout the entire book. I also recommend the book even if you don't love football it teaches readers valuable lessons. For example the book teaches to never give up even when everyone doubts you and to be patient in life because great awards can come from it. So many people doubted Belichick but he kept pushing and eventually became a great N.F.L coach. Belichick also was a very patient man and had a lot of composure and because of that he was able to become a great mentor and coach to his players.
    The Education of a Coach met my expectations because I expected a great football book that taught about Belichick's career and how he became successful. The book also went above my expectations because I learned valuable life lessons that don't even have to do with football. Such as never giving up and having a lot of patience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    A: I selected this book as my summer reading choic

    A: I selected this book as my summer reading choice because football is one of my favorite sports. I also thought it would be interesting to learn about how Bill Belichick became one of the best N.F.L coaches of the modern football era. The final reason I selected this book is because I am a Patriots fan and wanted to learn more about my favorite players and their relationship with their coach.
    B: I would recommend this book to a high school reader because the story shows important values in life like perseverance and composure. Bill Belichick started coaching football when he was very young and worked his way up the ranks. While he was working his way up, many other coaches did not believe in him and told him he would never make it due to his lack of social skills. However he had perseverance during those difficult times which made him the successful N.F.L coach he is today. Other ways important values are shown in this book is when Bill is having trouble with a player’s behavior and deals with the problem for a while, showing good composure. However he knew when it was the right time to discipline the star player. These values can teach people how to become a better communicator when problems arise and how to never give up on their dreams.
    C: This book went above my expectations because I expected to just learn about football and great coaching which I did but I also learned important values in life in order to be successful.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Hey bill

    Tell tom brady that he stinks you need to put julian edelman at qb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    D

    I havn't read it yet. It seems very good and belichek is awesome, but isn't ot to early to write a biography on belichek? For all we know he could win a championship again............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Recommendable.

    Great book overall B+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Good Book, Quick Reading

    This book is very quick reading, and fairly lite. I'm amazed that it's been written since Belichick is still coaching, but it is a pretty good biography of the guy. It does jump around a little...from his work, to his father growing up, etc. But towards the middle of the book or so, it is pretty much chronological. I am surprised that Romeo and Charlie have only one paragraph in the book, but it's not at all about the types of plays he made in games, but more of how he learned from his mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1