Customer Reviews for

Eerie

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I devoured this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, turn

    I devoured this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, turning pages as fast as I could to see what was going to happen next! Although it’s billed as a horror-slash-ghost story, it’s neither, but in some ways, it is both. Puzzled? That’s okay, that’s how it’s supposed to be, and when you get to the end, you’ll forgive the authors their trespasses, because this story is THAT good. At its core, it explores love and family connection and even the meaning of our existence to the depths most novels just gloss over—or shy away from. At times poignant and heart-wrenching, it is, without a doubt, utterly mind-blowing. And just when you think you might have things figured out, the world turns upside down. Again. Thank you to Blake Crouch (always a great read!) and Jordan Crouch (I look forward to more!) for a fantastic ride. Even the interview between brothers, talking about writing two main character siblings, was a joy to read. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a ‘monster-under-the-bed’ story, which leave

    This is a ‘monster-under-the-bed’ story, which leaves the reader wondering throughout the book as clues emerge in a finely paced read. The suspense was killing me to hurry up to the next chapter for more clues. I loved this story, right up until the end, which left me slightly confused. I felt the authors should have exposed a bit more information through the father in the story prior to the end so that the ending would be cleaner. Perhaps that was their intention, but it left me irritated and a bit too deus ex machina.

    I love Blake Crouch’s writing and the addition of his brother Jordan was seamless. It was difficult to impossible to detect two different styles, which impressed me.

    The characters in the story are real enough to identify with and are constant with Blake Crouch’s writing. The sibling angst is perfect and the torment between the two main characters is heartbreaking and propels the story along to the end. A well-written opposition with a brother trying to fix his sister while broken himself while virtually locked in their townhouse. The power is out and the characters cannot leave and the townhouse is very cold, brother and sister have serious issues, there is unrequited love, and there is something unexplainable and frightening under the bed. All of this is well woven into a fast and interesting plot which gave me the chills I am so used to from Crouch. I enjoyed the book and was only slightly disappointed with the ending. Maybe I missed something, but I look forward to Blake and Jordan’s next collaboration.

    I did receive this book free from the publisher for review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    From front to back, this book will grab you and not let go. Thi

    From front to back, this book will grab you and not let go. This was an easy read that has an excellent story. Outstanding work by the Crouch boys!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Eerie has Blake's trademark suspense, blended with spine-tinglin

    Eerie has Blake's trademark suspense, blended with spine-tingling horror. While this one is a slight departure in genre, the writing is every bit as brilliant. The horror here isn't gory, but is high in creepiness!

    One of my favorite things about Blake's writing is his ability to capture a character's essence. There are never any caricatures on his pages. The characters are unique, heroic and fallible, multi-dimensional, and always pull me right into the story with them.

    Eerie is the product of the first collaboration between brothers Blake and Jordan Crouch. The writing is seamless, making it impossible to tell which brother wrote which parts. These are two gifted brothers and I hope to read many more collaborations between them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Thanks to a random log in to Facebook, I got the opportunity to

    Thanks to a random log in to Facebook, I got the opportunity to read EERIE before it was released. As always, Crouch's latest did not disappoint. The gore is practically nonexistent in this one (most of his stuff is actually much less blood and guts than it seems), but rather it is genuinely scary. Like when I read PET SEMETARY when I was 12 scary. It's also interesting to note that Blake collaborated on this one with his younger brother, Jordan, and that this is our first exposure to the younger Crouch's writing. Jordan Crouch's first full length is on the way according to the interview at the end of the book, which I'm very much looking forward to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Creepy

    Was creepy but dragged inthe end as if they just ran out of steam. Left me wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Eerie is definitely eerie!

    Glad I borrowed this from a friend! It was hard to put down. Just when you think you have figured it out, there's another surprise. It was nice to read something with a different plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    enjoyed

    I read this book in three days. A page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Out There! Outside my realm of possibility!

    I couldn't begin to imagine where this story was going to go after reading 20-30 pages....interesting but I like something more believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    I do not recommend!

    This was definitely not one I'd recommend due to the fact it was hard to follow the plot and it didn't make one bit of sense. Utterly ridiculous and a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    not recommended

    If you like wierd books it is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    It was a good read.

    I enjoyed the book up until the end. Did not care for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    I will try another one

    I was really liking this book. It had an identifiable reality, but the end was too much scifi-fantasy for me. This was my first book by Crouch and it turns out this was written by the two brothers. The main part was "eerie" enough to bring me into the characters lives, but the ending wasn't satisfying to me. It left me wondering why? Even so I will be trying another book by Crouch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ok

    It is worth 3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    A great read!

    I have read other books by Blake Crouch and loved them. This is no exception. It has several 'hair on the back of the neck stands up' moments and I really did not see that ending coming. If you like a little horror mixed in with a bit of ghost, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Quick read

    I enjoyed the read but left me wanting something more at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great Book until the end

    It grabbed me from the very beginning, scared me and made me talk about it at work, and I couldn't wait for my reading time. Then, toward the end, it took a strange turn and I wished I had read more about the author and his other books before getting this one. But it was on sale for my nook and I was entertained enough, I suppose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I love horror books, so EERIE was right up my alley. The premis


    I love horror books, so EERIE was right up my alley. The premise behind the book is a good ol' fashioned ghost story, or at least, it started out that way. It's a definite "why are these things happing" kind of book. No sooner did I start to read it, I was hooked. But I do warn you, if you're afraid of the boogeyman, I'd read this one during the day, outside, away from any bedrooms.

    Blake and Jordan do a fantastic job of appealing to a reader's emotions through their storytelling. Again, this is why I love horror so much... the adrenaline induced fear goes beyond the written page. I had my moments of "do I really want to finish this?" which ultimately passed as I kept reading and now I'm stuck with the notion that they could have added more, especially towards the end, because really, I didn't want the story to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have read a lot of this authors books and love them. this one

    I have read a lot of this authors books and love them. this one was very different. Awesome would be the word. Trapped in a house, trying to figure out how to get out, why they are trapped. A very, very cool and interesting book. Keep up the great work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Blake Crouch, and I was thrilled when he sent me his late

    I love Blake Crouch, and I was thrilled when he sent me his latest release for review. EERIE is a joint effort between the Crouch brothers, Blank and Jordan. If you like a fast paced book, then this if for you.

    **Don't take any of my comments in such a way that I didn't like the book - I did. It was the ending that left me blank.**

    Blake Crouch is a Plot writer -- which works well. He is able to weave suspense and mystery into the scene. While this does indeed have suspense, it was not as well done as previous books I have read by the same author.

    EERIE starts with the back story. Two children, whose mother has died, suddenly find themselves on their own when their fathers car hits a truck head on. Flash forward 20+ years. The boy is now a man on the police force, investigating a mysterious disappearance. Per chance he reconnects with his younger sister but he soon becomes trapped in the same supernatural web that is slowly killing her. Seeing his life starting to slip away, he reaches out to the only person he can trust to help them escape the hidden demon under the bed.

    ++Possible Spoilers++

    I found the book a page turner but far from frightening or suspenseful. Although this is a plot driven book, with 2-dimentional characters, it does not take away from the book.

    The attempts at fleshing out the characters were for the most part unsuccessful. (again, not a detriment to the book) The romantic interest in the book was ambiguous. In fact, the hints were so subtle, it wasn't made clear until she declared her interest, and even then she declared it to herself. The death of a "close" friend and the grief displayed by the siblings is written but not shown. I wasn't connected to the character so when the friend died -- he just died. I tried to feel bad, after all, A man died. but I just couldn't. And I wasn't really sure of the point of why he was (briefly) in the storyline.

    As the story progressed, I got caught up in the what exactly was in the bedroom? And who were these prominent men that seemed to change once they were exposed to the "creature?". The suspense starts to build and I was getting caught up in it. The closer I got to the conclusion, the faster I read.

    Then the ending was revealed and all I can say is -- OK. Though the ending tied up the loose ends nicely, I felt disappointed. the ending wasn't happy but it also lacked hope. It just ended.

    And I was confused to the logic behind some of the actions in the book:

    Why did the location have to change from the house? Wouldn't it have been easier to bring the father to the house? The sister calls for "backup" only to show her true colors by shooting the law officer? And was the only solution to the damaged lives of the grown children was to pull them into the same mystical world where the father had been? (Which was death, or?...)

    Don't get my wrong. I really did like the book, but the ending was ...odd. I felt it could have been so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3