Customer Reviews for

Eerie

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I devoured this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, turn

    I devoured this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, turning pages as fast as I could to see what was going to happen next! Although it’s billed as a horror-slash-ghost story, it’s neither, but in some ways, it is both. Puzzled? That’s okay, that’s how it’s supposed to be, and when you get to the end, you’ll forgive the authors their trespasses, because this story is THAT good. At its core, it explores love and family connection and even the meaning of our existence to the depths most novels just gloss over—or shy away from. At times poignant and heart-wrenching, it is, without a doubt, utterly mind-blowing. And just when you think you might have things figured out, the world turns upside down. Again. Thank you to Blake Crouch (always a great read!) and Jordan Crouch (I look forward to more!) for a fantastic ride. Even the interview between brothers, talking about writing two main character siblings, was a joy to read. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a ‘monster-under-the-bed’ story, which leave

    This is a ‘monster-under-the-bed’ story, which leaves the reader wondering throughout the book as clues emerge in a finely paced read. The suspense was killing me to hurry up to the next chapter for more clues. I loved this story, right up until the end, which left me slightly confused. I felt the authors should have exposed a bit more information through the father in the story prior to the end so that the ending would be cleaner. Perhaps that was their intention, but it left me irritated and a bit too deus ex machina.

    I love Blake Crouch’s writing and the addition of his brother Jordan was seamless. It was difficult to impossible to detect two different styles, which impressed me.

    The characters in the story are real enough to identify with and are constant with Blake Crouch’s writing. The sibling angst is perfect and the torment between the two main characters is heartbreaking and propels the story along to the end. A well-written opposition with a brother trying to fix his sister while broken himself while virtually locked in their townhouse. The power is out and the characters cannot leave and the townhouse is very cold, brother and sister have serious issues, there is unrequited love, and there is something unexplainable and frightening under the bed. All of this is well woven into a fast and interesting plot which gave me the chills I am so used to from Crouch. I enjoyed the book and was only slightly disappointed with the ending. Maybe I missed something, but I look forward to Blake and Jordan’s next collaboration.

    I did receive this book free from the publisher for review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    enjoyed

    I read this book in three days. A page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Blake Crouch, and I was thrilled when he sent me his late

    I love Blake Crouch, and I was thrilled when he sent me his latest release for review. EERIE is a joint effort between the Crouch brothers, Blank and Jordan. If you like a fast paced book, then this if for you.

    **Don't take any of my comments in such a way that I didn't like the book - I did. It was the ending that left me blank.**

    Blake Crouch is a Plot writer -- which works well. He is able to weave suspense and mystery into the scene. While this does indeed have suspense, it was not as well done as previous books I have read by the same author.

    EERIE starts with the back story. Two children, whose mother has died, suddenly find themselves on their own when their fathers car hits a truck head on. Flash forward 20+ years. The boy is now a man on the police force, investigating a mysterious disappearance. Per chance he reconnects with his younger sister but he soon becomes trapped in the same supernatural web that is slowly killing her. Seeing his life starting to slip away, he reaches out to the only person he can trust to help them escape the hidden demon under the bed.

    ++Possible Spoilers++

    I found the book a page turner but far from frightening or suspenseful. Although this is a plot driven book, with 2-dimentional characters, it does not take away from the book.

    The attempts at fleshing out the characters were for the most part unsuccessful. (again, not a detriment to the book) The romantic interest in the book was ambiguous. In fact, the hints were so subtle, it wasn't made clear until she declared her interest, and even then she declared it to herself. The death of a "close" friend and the grief displayed by the siblings is written but not shown. I wasn't connected to the character so when the friend died -- he just died. I tried to feel bad, after all, A man died. but I just couldn't. And I wasn't really sure of the point of why he was (briefly) in the storyline.

    As the story progressed, I got caught up in the what exactly was in the bedroom? And who were these prominent men that seemed to change once they were exposed to the "creature?". The suspense starts to build and I was getting caught up in it. The closer I got to the conclusion, the faster I read.

    Then the ending was revealed and all I can say is -- OK. Though the ending tied up the loose ends nicely, I felt disappointed. the ending wasn't happy but it also lacked hope. It just ended.

    And I was confused to the logic behind some of the actions in the book:

    Why did the location have to change from the house? Wouldn't it have been easier to bring the father to the house? The sister calls for "backup" only to show her true colors by shooting the law officer? And was the only solution to the damaged lives of the grown children was to pull them into the same mystical world where the father had been? (Which was death, or?...)

    Don't get my wrong. I really did like the book, but the ending was ...odd. I felt it could have been so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    The beasties under the bed "Eerie" plays to the fear t

    The beasties under the bed
    "Eerie" plays to the fear that I think all children grow up with - the monster under the bed. Remember being 7 years old and having to make sure all your hands, feet and head were under the covers because otherwise the "monster" would be able to get you? Well, in this case there IS actually a monster under the bed.

    Detective Grant Moreton and his sister, Paige, need to solve not only today's mysteries but solve long ago mysteries to make things right in their world again.

    This is another great book by Blake Crouch, author of "Run," "Desert Places," and "Serial." This time he's writing with his brother, Jordan Crouch - a great matchup.

    In some ways, this story reminded me of the movie "Stir of Echoes" starring Kevin Bacon - same haunting creepiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    great book

    if you like creepy, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    A

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good page turner but a little out there

    Overall I liked this book, it kept my interest and was a definite page turner. Having said that though, it was a little out there... unrealistic (yes I know its fiction, but thats what i thought while reading this book. I'm not sure what about it made me think that, maybe i just wasn't fully immersed in this book). Bottom line, its worth the $4 for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was very good. I could hardly put it down because i wa

    This book was very good. I could hardly put it down because i wanted to know what was going on but the ending was certainly not what i expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    I was really drawn into the lives of these characters from the b

    I was really drawn into the lives of these characters from the beginning. They were so real, each flawed to perfection. The story was creepy and kept me guessing for a long time as to what was going on. Just what WAS under that bed? And even though I was slightly disappointed when I found out what it was because it was so far from what I'd thought it to be, it was fabulous. It gave me that twist, that unexpected explanation that's pleasantly surprising. I read this in a matter of a few hours because I simply couldn't stop. I was already a fan of Blake and love his work. As this is Jordan's first time out of the gate, it seems that he's an author to watch and I'll be keeping my eye out for anything from him in the future. Great read! I highly recommend it. -- Kimberly A. Bettes, author of RAGE and Held.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1