BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Effective Phrases for Performance Appraisals: A Guide to Successful Evaluations

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Handy for positive phrases

I found this a handy resource for positive remarks on performance reviews. However it could be improved by adding phrases for negative traits.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good examples, but lacks the negative performance appraisal phrases

Many excellent examples to use for employee appraisals (and your own), but only includes the positive phrases.

posted by rm76 on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Good examples, but lacks the negative performance appraisal phrases

    Many excellent examples to use for employee appraisals (and your own), but only includes the positive phrases.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Every Little Bit Helps

    this book was purchased to help me through 'writer's block' when having to author (yet another) self-appraisal. It helped break the block, and establishes a good library of adjectives and adverbs with compelling ownership.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    handy tool

    useful tool, have on hand during the performance appraisal process

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An Absolute Must For Reviewers

    I have been using this for years (10th Ed) and this has saved me weeeks of time as I typically have 10+ subordinates to review. Although this book is filled with positive phrases they can easily be modified to suit a subpar employee. I give this book to new supervisors and managers as presents and they love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Handy for positive phrases

    I found this a handy resource for positive remarks on performance reviews. However it could be improved by adding phrases for negative traits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    The best resource for performance reviews

    This book is my go-to book when I am writing reviews for my team. I use it during the formal and informal review process. I recently purchased them for all of my team and they all appreciated it. If I had to choose only one reference book for reviews, this is it and my number one of many books I use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Love it!!!

    I actually bought this book with a couple others so that I could get free shipping instead of paying $7. I was incredibly lucky! This book has some fantastic phrases for a number of competencies. Its design is pretty much amazing as well. I keep a copy of this book at work for those times when I'm just not saying it right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Useful for evaluation

    Well organized and useful to write evaluation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    great little book

    This book helped me a great deal during my first performance ratings and it will be helpful in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Annual Performance Appraisals Made Easy!!

    What a wonderful book!! As a new supervisor, I dreaded having to write appraisals. This book was a life saver. Anyone who writes appraisals would benefit from this book. I like how it is broken up into different sections for each sibject like 'Communication' and 'Productivity'. There are several example phrases to use in each section. There is even a section that lists 'Helpful Verbs' and 'Adjectives' along with 'Two Word Phrases'. If you are a first time supervisor you will also like the 'guidelines for successful evaluaions' section that gives a brief rundown of what an appraisal should include and how it should be conducted. Several of my employees have complimented me on their recent appraisals. They enjoy hearing more than the normal one line remark of 'you meet expectations'. Other supervisors in my department have also started using this book and have the same experience. Go out and buy this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Quality Book, Very Very Useful

    This book is useful for writing your own evaluations, resumes, or most anything that requires you to state positive, successful accomplishments about yourself. I've used this book for just about everything I've needed for writing a resume or when I needed to evaluate someone. It covers every area of a person's traits or characterisics. Everyone should own a copy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    It can also be a resume writing tool!

    I have the 1998 5th edition, and I'm going to buy the latest version because it includes new technology phrases. I've given this as a gift to my bosses and they thank me every year at review time. I also use it for my 'self appraisal' and most recently as an aid while updating my resume!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    A must for Military feeback session

    Giving feedabck, writting perfomace feeback, simply needing those just words... This book has it all everything you need to fill that empty white space and help you say what you mean in a different light. My Lifesaver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    It makes it easy

    I always had problems finding the right words but this made writing reviews easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1