Customer Reviews for

Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Death with a side of hot sauce

    A small town eatery, brimming with deliciously mouthwatering breakfast fantasies is in trouble, a murder takes place in the back and the daily special is all over the corpse. Quaint charm and happy atmosphere are overshadowed by an investigation that seems to have more suspects than possible, it appears that the town is small but it holds many secrets. Suzanne, Toni, and Petra are best friends and coworkers, they run the charming Cackleberry Club together, and besides baking and cooking, brewing coffee and tea they also run a book club and a yarn shop, often housing tea parties and gatherings for special occasions. Suzanne is at a loss when her lawyer ends up murdered, but when she gets involved she barely escapes in one piece. It seems that whoever did her lawyer in has no problems going after her or anyone who wants to get involved in sleuthing, and to top it off the mayor thinks that her deceased husband has been involved in major fund theft, turning half the town against her. Battling local gossips, suspicious characters who are meddling in strange things and staying on top of her business gives Susanne and her friends more than they bargained for, but it makes for a really fun and very interesting mystery. For a cozy this has plenty of intelligence and still keeps it light and fresh, and did I mention the delectable food - this book is a must have for anyone who has a cook's block and is stumped for easy yet creative ideas, I am definitely going to make some of the savory and sweet items from it.

    Not only is the mystery interesting but the food served in the book is absolutely fantastic. I adore the fact that this cozy mystery had some recipes in the back because reading the book gave me more culinary ideas than reading a food magazine. I also really liked the fact that the story wasn't watered down, some of the cozies out there are simple and at times a bit silly but this had a good plot, memorable characters - some seemed guilty for many different reasons and good clues that gave my brain a workout. There's a certain amount of innocence in this book but also a good balance of reality, I can't think of a better combo for this genre. Childs has impressed me with this little book, and I cannot wait to read the second one which will be out this year.

    - Kasia S.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Action packed

    This was an exciting mystery. It seemed to start out kind of slow, but then the action picked up and there is a regular amount of crime and action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Good quick read.

    Funny, and touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    New series

    Always enjoyed Laura Childs' books, and looks towards the next. Although much like Childs tea series, still a pleasant story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoy Laura Childs' scrapbooking and teashop mysteries. I was so glad to find another series written by her. All her mysteries are cozy mysteries with the main characters becoming like friends you return to everytime a new mystery comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic 'escaping' book!

    Characters have 'grit' and depth. Want to read more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Independent women rejoice!

    Laura Childs has a new series - the Cackleberry Club which is about 3 women - Suzanne a widow, Petra whose husband has Alzheimer's, and Toni in the midst of a divorce. Together they run a restaurant/book store/craft store. It's as if the author is combining the Tea Shop series with the Scrapbook series and adding a twist. The characters are entertaining and heartwarming, strong and independent - at least most of the time.

    One morning, Suzanne notices that her lawyer's truck is still the parking lot when she lets the dog out for a run. She goes over to see if everything is alright and finds him dead. That same day on her way home, she sees a truck run off he road. The following night, hr lawyer's office is burglarized. A crime spree seems to have hit the little town of Kindred and Sheriff Doogie seems to be in over his head. Before the week is over, Suzanne is also confronted with accusations of embezzlement against her late husband.

    Fueled by the need to clear her husband's name, Suzanne is embroiled in a state investigation surrounding the embezzlement and an abusive cult down the road. The solution was a little forced but entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Bad, Somewhat Scrambled, With a Pinch of Spice

    I tried Laura Child's new series because I like her Scrapbooking series, and really love her Tea Shop mysteries series. The Cackleberry Club series sounded intriguing, although I had a hard time getting into the book. It seemed to start out slow. But it got better as I continued to read. The widow Suzanne has started a new restaurant with her two friends, when early one morning her lawyer is found shot dead in his car in back of the cafe. Suzanne needs to figure out who shot Bobby, along with resolving a scandal surrounding some dealings of her late husband Walter, while helping a young woman escape the clutches of a religious sect. There seemed to be a little too much in the plot to resolve it all in one little book, but Childs does tie up all the loose ends nicely, while dishing out egg tips and tasty-sounding recipes for Eggs in Purgatory, Bodacious Bacon Quiche and Toad in the Hole. The series has potential, and I will try the Cackleberry Club again. Pass the hot sauce, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Disappointing

    It was with great anticipation that I began this new series by Laura Childs. I absolutely love her Tea Shop Mysteries. However, by the second chapter, I had the feeling that I was reading another Tea Shop Mysteries. Ms. Childs is a gifted writer, but I had hoped and expected that she would take this series in another direction, but the restaurant/tea shop/book store/whatever else was very confusing, and, frankly, too much like the Tea Shop mysteries, down to the supporting characters. I'll stick to the Tea Shop mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Eggs in Purgatory

    I love anything by Laura Childs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Great new series

    This is a typical Laura Childs light mystery, but if you are a fan of her series, you will love this new series. The characters were believable, funny and charming. I did not guess the plot and had to read to the end to know "who did it". Cannot wait for the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Eggs in Purgatory not at all a bad reading eggsperience

    The first in a new series from author Laura Childs (Tea Shop & Scrapbooking mysteries) was a nice change of pace.
    Characters and plot were well developed and the book's pace was quick and fun. I enjoyed this book more than some in her other two series.
    Great for a rainy afternoon - or just to relax.
    The book also includes several recipes for those who are gastro-enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous new culinary cozy mystery series

    Suzanne, Toni, and Petra have opened the Cackleberry Club café in Kindred, TN. Each of the women lost their spouse: one to death, one to Alzheimer's and one to another woman, and they enjoy the time they spend working together.

    Brian, the lawyer for Suzanne's husband's estate asks her to meet him in the parking lot for her to sign some papers. When she goes to meet him, she finds him murdered. Later she sees a pickup truck being followed by an SUV. Wondering if they could somehow be involved, she follows them, only to see the pickup truck tip over and the SUV flee. Teddy Harlingen, who first saw Brian dead in his car, is dead. Suzanne is sure the deaths are linked together.

    Suzanne's husband's firm is being investigated for million dollar kickbacks, and soon Suzanne finds herself and her dead husband in the thick of this as well. Feeling her husband was not involved, she begins to investigate and finds a link to the other two dead men. Who else is involved? Can Suzanne, with the help of her friends, find the culprit before he finds her?

    This is a great new cozy series. I enjoyed it immensely and can't wait to read the next. The three friends and the small town setting are fabulous. The author does a great job of crafting and intertwining the plots. Her characters are very likeable and believable.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Eggs in Purgatory by Laura Childs

    I'm a big fan of Laura Childs' tea shoppe mysteries. I'm also a fan of culinary mysteries. This book was an easy read. So far, I prefer the characters in the tea shoppe mysteries, but will read the second book in this series to see if it grows on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    Eggs-centric as usual

    Really enjoyable read as always from Laura Childs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Laura Childs has the entrepreneur female dream jobs mixed in with enough of a "who done it" spirit to make you wish it was you....sleuthing away.

    The lead characters in all of her book series live in such "harmonious with themselves" locations and have such good friends around them and have the the dream jobs and art/craft interests that make you want to go to the fictious locations and just "shop" and sit down for tea and knit etc. Her books are all so entertaining that even if there was not a "murder" mystery to be solved, you would want to continue to read the book and her series of books. All reading women ~ pick up Laura Childs books and enjoy the read, the introduction to teas, knitting, scrapbooking etc while you still can. The books may inspire you to try it on your own (NOT the murder) but stopping to do what you really enjoy, and learning something new and possibly trying a "start up" business of your own. The books are meant to be totally enjoyed, and they are~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Good Read

    Was a good book.Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another terrific Laura Childs mystery

    It may sound superfluous with so many wonderful mysteries under her belt, but Laura Childs has done in again. Her characters are richly descriptive, the tone and speed of the novel keeps the reader intrigued and quite interested as to the outcome of its main characters. A must read for those many kindred souls out there who love to cook, relax with a cup of tea (or Shiraz) and see an everyday, yet extraordinary woman unravel a mystery. Great Job Ms Childs - Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another great series by Laura Childs!

    The story just flowed from beginning to the surprise ending. I enjoyed how Laura Childs makes her main charactors people that I would like to meet. I like how Suzanne, Tori, and Petra interact and it's very believable that they are best friends. I look forward to the next book in this series and how these charactors lives develope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    New Series sure to be a hit!

    In her new series, The Cackle berry Club, Laura Childs has created some very likeable new characters. We are introduced to the recently widowed Suzanne, Toni, who is in process of divorcing Junior and Petra, whose husband is in a nursing home due to Alzheimers. These three talented and winsome ladies operate a café specializing in breakfast egg dishes with tea and goodies being served in the afternoon. Part of their commercial venture, set in the small Midwestern town of Kindred, is a book nook and a yarn shop. However, all is not placid as one morning,Suzanne, while letting Baxter the dog out, happens to see the local lawyer Bobby Waite sitting in his truck - dead!<BR/><BR/>After almost witnessing a second murder in town and hearing about the break in at Bobby¿s law office, where files about her late husband Walter are missing ,Suzanne feels she needs to help Sheriff Doogie find out who committed the crimes. Even though the mayor says he has proof Walter was involved and may have embezzled 4million dollars, Suzanne can not believe that it is true. This undertaking is not quite the piece of cake she had imagined. It seems there are numerous suspects with as many motives and they are all entwined together. <BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Childs has such a wonderful way with descriptions, this sounds like a place you would dearly love to visit and try all the fanciful egg dishes, partake of afternoon tea and maybe find a good mystery while browsing in the book nook. Her creation of a deliciously woven plot with well developed and plausible characters will keep the reader entertained and surprised all the way to the end. The suspense builds with numerous twists and turns as Suzanne and friends try to figure out all the clues. There are numerous heart warming moments between the three women along with several very interesting sub-plots. Throw in a few laugh out loud moments, a host of fun peripheral characters and you have the recipe for a successful new series. One of the highlights of a Laura Childs¿ book is the inclusion of scrumptious recipes at the end. For cozy fans, this is a highly recommended read. 4****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2