Customer Reviews for

The Egypt Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This is a children's book that I highly recommend. Cute story and characters. Mixing up my reading to include Childrens', Teens and "grown up" books is a wonderful thing!

posted by Annibebe on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth Reading

I thought it was going to be good because i love Ancient Egypt, but it was bad!!!! It was not good quality writing, and it didn't have a clear mystery. Don't read it!

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is a children's book that I highly recommend. Cute story and characters. Mixing up my reading to include Childrens', Teens and "grown up" books is a wonderful thing!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bought is as a gift, But read it before I gave it as a gift.

    I'm 30. I bought this book for a 11 year old. I love kids books that can even bring an adult into the story. I hope she enjoyed it as much as I did!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    okay book

    i like the book but it really wasn't what i was looking for it is thrilling and the end is a real shocker i didn't like it that much

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    zilpha keatley snyder

    wowow. this book(the egypt game is amazing i loved it. it was so mysterious and stuff.i hear the gypsy game isn't as good i dont know though.the 1st book is a reader level 6.6 and gypsy reader level is 4.8 so i am alittle disapointed. does anyone know if the UNSEEN book is good?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD BOOK

    Great book for 7-12 year old's.(That's my opinion not a fact). I loved the book because it a kind a book with suspense,little action but at the same time it's funny. The best thing I liked about it was that it was a creative book and the Egypt game itself was creative too because how they had the gods, the burial, etc. The game itself is like a mini version of Egypt.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Really great book

    In the fourth grade I was obsessed with anything having to do with ancient Egypt. I found this book in my school's library and loved it. Now it's five years later and I STILL love it, haha. I've always thought it was well-written with a good plot. I'm trying to get my nephew to read it lol.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Cool

    This book has twist in most chapters. you cant stop reading.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Look at the big picture

    This is a wonderful tale about a group of children, that couldn't be more different if they tried, coming together in an imaginary ancient land. If you merely focus on the story line, you miss the beauty of this book. There is great value in diversity, every member of the Egypt Game makes a valuable contribution to the group as a whole, right down to the youngest member at the end of the story. This book provides an excellent opportunity to teach kids to read for the larger message and seek the life lesson in each experience.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    terrible

    was forced to read this book in sixth grade. truely a TERRIBLE book. not good.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Not Worth Reading

    I thought it was going to be good because i love Ancient Egypt, but it was bad!!!! It was not good quality writing, and it didn't have a clear mystery. Don't read it!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Hi awesome

    Read it in class then wasent paying attention chapter one and after that i was hoked

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Review. Do not spoil. Five stars cuz its a good book.

    Jeez will you people just review instead of tellinb people who havent read yet the whose story? Five stars cuz its a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Eleven-year-old April Hall, who often calls herself April Dawn,

    Eleven-year-old April Hall, who often calls herself April Dawn, is sent by her actress-singer mother Dorothea, to live with her grandmother, Caroline Hall, in a California university town. In the same old California-Spanish apartment house called the Casa Rosada lives the family of Melanie Ross, who is April’s age. Melanie has a four-year-old brother Marshall. April and Melanie end up going to the same sixth-grade class at Wilson School and find that they share a love of all things related to ancient Egypt. In their neighborhood, they come across a deserted storage yard behind the A-Z Antiques store run by an elderly man usually known simply as “The Professor” in which they see some items which they use to begin playing “The Egypt Game,” in which they wear costumes, hold ceremonies, and work on a secret code. Marshall is brought along too.

    Over the next several months, “The Egypt Game” comes to include Elizabeth Chung, a nine-year-old girl whose family also moves into the Casa Rosada, and Toby Alvillar and Ken Kamata, two boys in April and Melanie’s sixth-grade class. However, a couple of terrible murders happen in the neighborhood, one a little boy, and the other a little girl. Sometimes “the Egyptians” feel as if someone is watching them. And then some strange things begin to occur when the children are playing their game. Has “The Egypt Game” gone too far? Will something bad happen to them? Who is responsible for the murders? The Egypt Game, which was a Newbery Honor Book in 1968, is not a book that one would choose to accompany a study of ancient Egypt, like The Golden Goblet by Eloise Jarvis McGraw or Shadow Hawk by Andre Norton, but it is a neat story about some children who use their imaginations and have a lot of fun together.

    I found it interesting that I had just read Hope Was There, in which a girl named Hope was dumped by her mother on her Aunt Addie, and now in this book April is dumped by her mother on her Grandmother Caroline. It is almost as if there was an epidemic in Newbery Honor Books of mothers abandoning their children. Otherwise, there is not much objectionable. A few common euphemisms (heck, gee, darn) occur, and April utters a couple of “words that Melanie wasn’t allowed to say,” but they are indicated simply by blanks. The children do disobey their parents a few times when they are not supposed to go out but do so to play their game. A belief in the possibility of reincarnation is stated at one point, and the names of some Egyptian idols are found. Parents of small children or children who are especially sensitive and may have bad dreams from seeing or hearing frightening things will want to know that one scene in particular is rather scary and intense, but for most young people it should be no problem. Overall, I felt that it was a worthwhile book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Marley

    Marley is a wonderful,laugh out loud,tear trigger book!
    If you are a dog lover this is a MUST read.
    So,what are you waiting for go read it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    King Mashamoisis

    My name is mashal. But in egypt i am marshamosis, boy king. For all the people that love this book and each book in the series then a blessing i place among you and become a god in the underworld. If you do not like the book then your hearts are filled with wikedness and shall have your hearts eatan by a monster in the afterlife and i place a curse upon you that all words you say will never make sense for the rest of your life... or until i am bored with you.
    P.S never ever will you people touch security! I'm warning you and will feel my wrath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good!

    Although I highly doubt 11 year olds would still be playing games like this, I thought it was great. The book was very well written. It captivates you from the very beginning! The book kept me guessing again and again. I was so excited when I heard that there was a sequel, though I heard it wasn't as good. I recommend this to girls ages 9-12. I just have a feeling guys wouldn't be into this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    boring........GREAT!!!!!

    When I first picked up this book, I knew something special was inside. When I began the book, I was bored out of my mind! I immediately wanted to finish reading right then and there. But then I remembered the odd feeling I had when I picked up the novel and kept reading. When I reached the last chapters of the book, I realized I had been right! There is a fantastic, thrilling, ending! I recommend this book to a reader like me, who must finish after they start.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Okay

    This book was okay but was kind of boring and really dumb at times. I did not like some of the characters. But overall it was an okay book. If you have not read it, you should try it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Egypt Game

    This book is great for anyone who just wants to sit down for a quick good read. If you or a child is intrested in culture or you want a child to inqure about the world that is availabule and around them this is a great book to read. My entire fourth grade class became so fasinated with Egypt after this book was read during circle time we cheekd out all the books from the libary on Egypt, and our teacher decided to do a month unit on Egypt because we were all so enthralled in it. I am now in college and still remember this book and love the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    WOW!

    This book defiantly tells what a kid sees it's. One of the best books ever written in the 21st century! If you like adventure with a twist of Mystery you'll love this book! I loved it. I'm even turning my tree house into Egypt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8