Customer Reviews for

The Egyptian: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    My Favorite Book of All Time...

    ...and I've read lots of books. This is a book that I actually did judge by the cover (I was looking for anything on ancient Egypt and *first* read it 20 years ago from the public library - I've probably re-read it 5-6 times since then when I really want a treat and am bored with other things I'm reading). This book has EVERYTHING on a grand (but totally believable and for the most part very viceral) scale - mystery, love, war, loss, loyalty, betrayal, happiness, sorrow, heartbreak, murder, horror, intrigue, suspense, HUGE life mistakes/lessons, monarchy, theology - oh, and it's very comical in parts, too. A thoroughly enjoyable book - you'll laugh, you'll cry - well, you know...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    My Most Memorable Book I've Ever Read

    I first read the Egyptian when I was only 13 years old. I am now 59. I've read many good books in my lifetime, but none will ever excede this one. I loved everything about Egypt, past and present, because of this book. The story will linger in your mind long after it is read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    my favorite book, got me hooked on any thing ancient Egypt

    I have read the Egyptian 30 years ago in Germany and own it written in German. I am so glad I found it in English so everyone in my circle can read it and understand what I talked about all these years.It is truely a remarkable book, teaching ancient Egyptian history through fiction. The book is well researched and easy to read, and will transport you into time 4000 years ago. Best of all it is historicly correct. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Simply Amazing

    No matter what was happening in this book, I felt for Sinuhe. I felt him, his character came alive with Waltari's words. Sinuhe's feelings dwelled in my chest and I couldn't imagine a better book. Tells of true Ancient Egypt, none the less it is fiction. A beautifully written historical piece that I could read as many times as my years would allow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Awesome book!

    The Egyptian is a story about, you guessed it, ancient Egypt. It's not like a documentary, it's a real novel. It takes you into the life of Sinuhe, the Egyptian, and his adventures and the recollections of his life. I would recommend this book to many people!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Like good food

    Read this first when I was about 16 or 17. Loved it then and now. Opens windows that have remained open. (My son's middle name is Sinuhe.) Won't argue with its historicity, but is it really about ancient Egypt or pre-war Europe? Think about it. Anyway, it is a lovely, fun book. Read Waltari's 'A Nail Merchant At Nightfall' for more sad fun and insight. Enjoy all you who live alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Great book!

    I just have to say that this book is one of my favourite books because it really brings to life that angient Egypt and gives you some kind of an idea about what it was like to live there during that time. And even though I don't like all the incidents described in the book, as they are quite violent and obscene, I still acknowledge the fact that this kind of a behaviour was propably common around Egypt at that time. I'd like to recommend this book to everyone who's interested in Egypt... and by the way, even though nobody's propably interested, I'm also from Finland...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    excellent!

    i think it is one the novels i ve ever read and besides the historical importance,the way Mika has told the story is making it excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    A Fantastic Epic!!!!!

    The author captures the essence of ancient egypt. Even though more than a millenium has passed, i can't help but notice that it is still a very familiar world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    An amazing novel!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. The story is great, the characters and passions that surround them, you find yourself in the ancient world finding out that humans... will always be humans. Fantastic!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1