Customer Reviews for

The Egyptian Book of the dead: The Papyrus of Ani in the British Museum

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Splendid

This book is an outstanding translation and presentation of the books that make up the Papyrus of Ani. In addition to the beautiful pictures and fine translations, the commentaries in the back, along with the explanations of the vignettes contained in the papyrus are we...
This book is an outstanding translation and presentation of the books that make up the Papyrus of Ani. In addition to the beautiful pictures and fine translations, the commentaries in the back, along with the explanations of the vignettes contained in the papyrus are well worth the money. A must for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt and its culture.

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Yes, this is the text of E. Wallis Budge's edition of the Papyrus of Ani with the hieroglyphic plates. The disappointment is the failure of the editors to include hyperlinks so that it's possible to move from one to another of the plates without moving through all of th...
Yes, this is the text of E. Wallis Budge's edition of the Papyrus of Ani with the hieroglyphic plates. The disappointment is the failure of the editors to include hyperlinks so that it's possible to move from one to another of the plates without moving through all of them. An impentrable system makes the book difficult to use for reference. It's all there, all a researcher has to do is thumb through page upon page upon page upon page . . .

posted by IndigoMM on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Splendid

    This book is an outstanding translation and presentation of the books that make up the Papyrus of Ani. In addition to the beautiful pictures and fine translations, the commentaries in the back, along with the explanations of the vignettes contained in the papyrus are well worth the money. A must for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt and its culture.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Best Edition

    I think this is the best edition of the Book of the out there. It has everything you need to understand it and is great for beginning scholars in Egyptology.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    Great Book

    This book is a very great book for all people interested in Ancient Egypt. It shows all the spells one needed for the afterlife. With the heiroglyphic, egyptian, and english texts is really amazing. In the back, it has the translation in page form, for those who don't want to read the middle of the book. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Ancient cultures.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Disappointed

    Yes, this is the text of E. Wallis Budge's edition of the Papyrus of Ani with the hieroglyphic plates. The disappointment is the failure of the editors to include hyperlinks so that it's possible to move from one to another of the plates without moving through all of them. An impentrable system makes the book difficult to use for reference. It's all there, all a researcher has to do is thumb through page upon page upon page upon page . . .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Love it!

    This book is really cool and recomended to people who are in love with Ancient Egypt!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Woah

    I dont like it that much at all

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Anubis

    Is my favorite egyptian god but Poisiden my favorite greek god and hades my least favorite. Whats up with that?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book!

    Interesting book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Love egypt

    This book makes me think about something rick riordan would write i can tell he has studied his fair share of egypt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Lov

    Looooooooove it!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    WONDERFUL

    This book is great especaily for hyroglyphics and things like that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    UMM...

    I havent read the book yet but i love egyptian gods and the kane chronichles. So you fans of the book or haters tell me about it. Say in the headline for umm...

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    EGYPT!!!!!!!!!!

    I love Egyptian history but I don't know if I would like this because it doesn't tell me much in the overview!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4