Customer Reviews for

Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 767 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(514)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the f...
Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the first book like this my late bloomer to read and ENJOY a chapter book. I think that some 4th and 5th graders will enjoy this book, as well as high schoolers. The series does get more complicated and doesn't feel quite as written down to a certain level as much as this first one did, but I still recommend it (kind the same way the first Harry Potter book lacked some of the complexity of the later books). Lots of sarcastic humor that preteens and teens alike will love, as well as a lot of fun to read, as the whole series is rapidly shaping up to be!

posted by Laurel_Mac on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

very slow for me but i am not a teenager so......

i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except t...
i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except this fella has to deal with being a vampire to with out anyone suspecting him. I like to read and try new things and i do not regret reading this book i really enjoy the characters, and i really enjoy reading a vampire book from a guys perspective and vlad is a good one to read about i do wish he would buck up and stop letting people pick on him and at first he is a chicken, no confidence, and no self esteem. i know this is just part of the story and i cant wait to see him turn into something more. hope you like my review . fyi: if you do not want your child or teenager to read about a vampire taking a womens life than you need to steer them away from this book, it was kinda brutal but then again so is life. all i am saying is it may not be appropriate for all teenagers. thanks again

posted by elizabethbennet on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 775 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Loved it

    Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

    This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the first book like this my late bloomer to read and ENJOY a chapter book. I think that some 4th and 5th graders will enjoy this book, as well as high schoolers. The series does get more complicated and doesn't feel quite as written down to a certain level as much as this first one did, but I still recommend it (kind the same way the first Harry Potter book lacked some of the complexity of the later books). Lots of sarcastic humor that preteens and teens alike will love, as well as a lot of fun to read, as the whole series is rapidly shaping up to be!

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE this book! :)

    I bought this 2 days ago at my schools bookfair and I just finished it today. It was so good! I LOVED it! I am a HUGE Twilight fan and so I decided to try some other vampire books and this one caught my eye. It was so good and Vladimir is such a character i love him!<BR/><BR/>I highly recomend this to any Twilight or vampire fan looking for a new twist on the life of vampires as we know it! <BR/><BR/>Try it, you wont regret it!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    "Sucked" Me Right in!!! Loved it!

    The enthralling action packed book, which is the first in the series known as The Chronicles Of Vladimir Todd, did a great job of blending the fact of being a vampire with the teen life. It included dark secrets unknown to humans, and to some vampires. The book also contained the drama of an average teenage boy; girls, friends, and bullies. I was able to spot out plenty of side conflicts within the text. Overall content and plot wise, I give this book a 10 out of 10!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    a REAL vampire story, where the vampires dont sparkle

    this book was really a good read, i mean it was too short for me (in read it in a day), but i think i will finish the rest of the series, i just wish Brewer could make up her mind with Otis, it was annoying how it was like, he is evil, now he inst....but good over all

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eighth Grade Bites

    i love this book! it's amazing! after i read this i NEEDED to read Ninth Grade Slays! I HAD TO! i cant wait till Tenth Grade Bleeds! i think it comes out in July...:]

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    I cant put it down!

    Im in 6th grade and it was awesome! If you're my age, its hard to understand some of the words. My sister said it was good but i thought it was amazing! It was suspenful, actiony, funny,and shocking!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    very slow for me but i am not a teenager so......

    i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except this fella has to deal with being a vampire to with out anyone suspecting him. I like to read and try new things and i do not regret reading this book i really enjoy the characters, and i really enjoy reading a vampire book from a guys perspective and vlad is a good one to read about i do wish he would buck up and stop letting people pick on him and at first he is a chicken, no confidence, and no self esteem. i know this is just part of the story and i cant wait to see him turn into something more. hope you like my review . fyi: if you do not want your child or teenager to read about a vampire taking a womens life than you need to steer them away from this book, it was kinda brutal but then again so is life. all i am saying is it may not be appropriate for all teenagers. thanks again

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing !

    I bought this book at my school's bookfair. I saw the cover, read the first page and knew this was my type of book. I cant wait to finish this series. i already bought all the books. I would defenetely recomend this book to many of my friends. This book is awesome !

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular!

    This book captivated me! I was completely enthralled. The story was fascinating and very well written. Excellent work!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vladimir tod eighth grade bits

    If you were a vampire what would you do? Would you terrorize your town or would you hide and act as normal as possible? Vladimir Tod is a teen boy in 8th grade. When Vladimir was a little boy his parents died in a house fire, and now he lives with his mom's best friend Nelly, Vladimir calls her aunt Nelly. He and his best friend Henry spend most of there time hanging out together. Henry, Aunt Nelly (Vladimir's guardian) and his uncle are the only ones that know he is a vampire. After a while things start to change for Vladimir Tod at the end of the year. If you think that year was bad for him wait for the following years.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than Twilight

    I absolutely love this book.As soon as I started reading this book I didn't stop(I read it in about an hour).Eighth Grade Bites is possibly my favorite book of the year and in my opinion,it was better than Twilight.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    When I read this book, I knew that I had found a series for me! The imaging the author uses makes you feel like you're in the story. Terriffic book for teens and young adults!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vlad Tod

    When i first saw this book i thought "oh great, another dumb vampire romance!" but then over the next few weeks i saw a lot of boys in my class reading it, so i gave it a try and found out its not romance, it's action, mystery, horror, and finding yourself. i HIGHLY recommend this whole series to anybody!!! Just a warning: once you start reading it, you won't be able to put it down!!!!! :D

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eighth Grade Bites is Awesome

    The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod is my new favorite series. I would not normally classify myself as a reader of vampire books; however, this series made me change my mind. Unlike Twilight which is more of a love story, this series is more about Vlad coming of age, dealing with the death of his parents, friendship, girls, school, bullies, vampire hunters and the knowledge that his new found uncle is also a vampire. Vlad struggles with the fact that he is a vampire and he refuses to "Feed" from the source, instead he drinks blood from donor bags. Not only do some vampire slayers want Vlad dead, but so do some "important and influential" vampires! This book is humorous yet suspenseful. I have given book talks to about 10 classes and afterwards the books have flown off the shelf. Students who have read Eighth Grade Bites usually want to get the next one, Ninth Grade Slays, before they are finished so they don't have to wait to see what happens next. This series is written at about a 6th grade reading level. I teach primarily reluctant readers who avoid reading, but this series has been really popular. I have waiting lists for the books! This series should be liked equally well by both boys and girls. So far the boys have read the series more, but that is because many of the girls are still working on the Twilight series. I liked this series so well that I want to re-read it before the 5th book comes out in September, 2010. My only complaint is WHY isn't Eighth Grade Bites available for download on the NOOK? The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th books can be downloaded on the Nook! Read on my friends!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Chronicals of Vladimi Tod

    Very action pack and mysterious with every page. So its one of my most favorite book on vampirs.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the best book ever!

    Eighth Grade Bites


    Vladimir Todd Is a character is the book" Eighth Grade Bites" which is a series of books The chronicles of Vladimir Todd By Heather Brewer. Vlad's teacher comes up missing right before school starts which is very suspicious because none of his stuff is gone he just disappears. When Vlad's new substitute teacher Mr. Craig comes to school some new troubles seem to start happening in Vlad's life. Vlad has to do a report on a weird creature when he sticks his hand in the bag to pull out his creature it was werewolf but then it magically changed to vampire, which was going to be hard since Vlad is a vampire! Vlad wrote about himself being funny with the whole situation to keep his cover safe. Until he finds out that he is being hunted by a vampire killer.
    I would most defiantly recommend this book to anyone who likes vampires! It is an awesome story. It is very adventurous and very suspenseful! This book is also full of drama. One thing that I really happen to like in this book is that it is a page turner. It is a page turner because you absolutely have to turn the page to find out what is going to happen next because from turning the page to the next page maybe a fight is over and maybe a new one is beginning you never know but you have to keep going to find out. This book was one of the most easiest books to concentrate on because it is exciting and so not boring so many different things that you just have to keep reading and reading and reading that you never want to stop reading it and you get sad when the book comes to an end! Everyone should read this book!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Best book i have read

    The book is so good that you will want to keep reading it mostly because i am like the author i dont belive in happy endings without blood

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    love it!

    Loving the book!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I love the series

    This book……………IS AWSOME ALONG WITH THE OTHER BOOKS IM ON THE 4 right now and I ALEADY LIKE IT

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK!!!

    I love this book so much. I fell in love with all the characters. This book is hilarious and extremely interesting. I read this book in less than four hours but its a pretty long book. I was addicted. I just wish she didnt have to end the series. I am very very very glad that i bought this book. The rest of the series is just as amazing, if not, better.

    MUST BUY IT!!! aand buy the rest of the series too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 775 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39