Customer Reviews for

Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 766 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(514)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the f...
Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the first book like this my late bloomer to read and ENJOY a chapter book. I think that some 4th and 5th graders will enjoy this book, as well as high schoolers. The series does get more complicated and doesn't feel quite as written down to a certain level as much as this first one did, but I still recommend it (kind the same way the first Harry Potter book lacked some of the complexity of the later books). Lots of sarcastic humor that preteens and teens alike will love, as well as a lot of fun to read, as the whole series is rapidly shaping up to be!

posted by Laurel_Mac on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

very slow for me but i am not a teenager so......

i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except t...
i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except this fella has to deal with being a vampire to with out anyone suspecting him. I like to read and try new things and i do not regret reading this book i really enjoy the characters, and i really enjoy reading a vampire book from a guys perspective and vlad is a good one to read about i do wish he would buck up and stop letting people pick on him and at first he is a chicken, no confidence, and no self esteem. i know this is just part of the story and i cant wait to see him turn into something more. hope you like my review . fyi: if you do not want your child or teenager to read about a vampire taking a womens life than you need to steer them away from this book, it was kinda brutal but then again so is life. all i am saying is it may not be appropriate for all teenagers. thanks again

posted by elizabethbennet on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    very slow for me but i am not a teenager so......

    i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except this fella has to deal with being a vampire to with out anyone suspecting him. I like to read and try new things and i do not regret reading this book i really enjoy the characters, and i really enjoy reading a vampire book from a guys perspective and vlad is a good one to read about i do wish he would buck up and stop letting people pick on him and at first he is a chicken, no confidence, and no self esteem. i know this is just part of the story and i cant wait to see him turn into something more. hope you like my review . fyi: if you do not want your child or teenager to read about a vampire taking a womens life than you need to steer them away from this book, it was kinda brutal but then again so is life. all i am saying is it may not be appropriate for all teenagers. thanks again

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Kool

    Not the besst

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Dont get sample

    The sample dosent give you anything to read except for the tittle page and suff but great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Like underdog

    A little slow. And not
    Twilighty either.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ok it's just ok

    Ok so it comes to a close finish with the seventh tower and the lighting theif so it is right there with with them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good! I liked it

    The first installment of The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod series was surprising for me! For some odd reason, I wasn't very excited to read it, but I'm glad I finally did! I quite enjoyed it, but it was a bit harder for me to relate to as Vlad is only in eighth grade. I definitely can't wait to read the next 4 books, because I'm sure they will just keep getting better.

    Vladimir Tod strikes me as a shy, quiet vampire. I love that, because usually we get the trouble maker vampires. Vlad's personality made him that much more unique to me and I enjoyed getting to know him through his story. Vlad was born a vampire, something that is very unusual. His father was a vampire and mother a human, also very unusual and not to mention a crime in the vampire world.

    He lost his parents 3 years before and he is still not over it. Vlad finds a few hidden things that belonged to his father in the attic, one of them being a journal. When Vlad starts reading the entries he feels like he's found a whole new dangerous vampire world that he was protected from.

    I'm always a fan of books when they have old journal entries, because it adds mystery to the storyline, like a puzzle. I was always trying to piece it together and figure out what was really going on. I was still guessing by the end of the book!

    Unfortunately, even though I tried to be open, I couldn't relate to the characters. This has to do with them being so young (I'm a oldie ;) haha). I definitely think that the middle graders will REALLY enjoy this books. So, if you are a parent looking for a fun book your child can read, this is a great one!

    Overall, I loved the setting and the story, but couldn't connect. I will be reading the follow-up books in this series and I'm sure it can only get better. Definitely a good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Pretty good

    This book wasn't at all what I expected. Don't think I'm hating on all you Vladimir fans, but I just have higher expectations then some people when it comes to books that especially involve vampires (not a Twilight fan. AT ALL.). It's kind of like when you find an adventure book and think it's all about an exciting and dangerous trek into a fantastical land with colorful ideas and original creatures and characters. Then you read it and find out that the most interesting creature/character in there is a squirrel, it's not at all colorful or imaginative, the 'adventurous' main character likes to play it safe, and the characters don't venture any farther then their backyard (i.e. The Land of Elyon, not recommended to adventure lovers or people who cry easily).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    To this is for 14-16

    Im 15 and a girl but thats not how u get sex just go down the street to a hooker and have it your way ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Vladimir Tod

    The book was kinda good but as you read the rest of the
    Vladimir Tod series it starts to get good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Meh

    Title

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    it is a complete surprise. lots of turns and ohah moments. intensified in the very last book!!!!

    although i am more than slighty embarrassed about reading a sevie book, it is pretty good ( coming from an advanced language arts student) extreme easy read enough gore for boys but a romance novel for girls much like kingdom of heVean i thank thor that it is nothing like twilight OR anne rice( shes too graphic for people of this age group eho are reading vlad tod)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Simple and Easy.

    Let's be honest, this isn't the most gripping and intense book in the world. And it could easily been in the juniors section of a barnes and noble. but nevertheless it wasn't bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Normal is the new outrageous

    i lurve how normal this book is and how nothing rlly happens cuz Vlad is lik this incredbly normal dude that u can totaly connect with cuz hes just so normal just lik u. most authurs these dayz dont bother to make there cahracters normal nemore so you arent able to connect with them cuz there way to exciting and beyond the reach of us mere mortals. VLAD IS SO SEXY in his normalness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Vlad...Vlad... I like this lad

    I instantly liked Vladimir Tod. His sense of humor was so much like my own, i knew he would be my new best friend. This book starts off slow, but picks up. If you read this type genre, you might find this story predictable. Although I figured it out early, it didn't stop me from wanting to finish this book. I could tell that the coming books was worth me reading this book.

    The side characters were totally worth having. Henry, is by far my favorite. Here's a fairly popular guy, and he's trustworthy enough to keep Vlad's secret, and he's his best friend. We all would wish for a good friend like this. All in all....I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Accident

    I accidentally bought the second book, I wouldn't read the second book so I bought the first one and I was impressed. I didnt expect to be sucked in so fast. The action was a little weak, which made me bump the four stars down to three. But over all it was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    When I first saw the cover, it reminded me of something from a Manga.

    This is the story of Vladmir "Vlad" Todd, who lives with a nurse name Nelly and has to deal with not only being a vampire but with school. Thankfully he has his best friend Henry who knows his secret while he has a crush on a girl name Meredith who may like Henry. Not to mention that his teacher Mr. Craig is missing and has to deal with the sub. Its the first in the Chronicles of Vladimir Tod series. Its nothing I haven't read before but I still thought its a pretty good book. Recommend it if you are a vampire fan or just looking for something to new to read.

    Love the shirt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    This book was pretty good

    Eighth Grade Bites: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod.

    Eighth Grade Bites: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, by Heather Brewer, is an action and mystery book. It is a good book for teens. It explains some everyday teen dilemmas. It is a great book for vampire lovers.
    The main character is a boy named Vladimir Tod, but everyone calls him Vlad. Vlad is your average teenager. He has bullies harassing him, and he has a crush, except she prefers his best friend. Vlad has a secret that he keeps from everyone. Henry is Vlad's best friend. He is popular while Vlad is not. He is the only one who knows Vlad's secret, beside his Aunt Nelly. Vlad lives with his Aunt Nelly, who is really his mom's best friend.
    This story takes place at Vlad's school and at his home in majority of the story. It's a modern day story line, and there's not a lot of history in it except for Vlad's background story. It does kind of make it exciting because he tries to keep a secret to himself, and he is in a place where a lot of people can find out.
    In the beginning Vlad's teacher suddenly disappears and is no where to be found. Later, Vlad and Henry go to a party and Vlad gets harassed. Vlad has to go into an attic and find family history. In the middle, Aunt Nelly invites Vlad's new teacher for dinner. Finally, toward the end, there's a fight but it's not too violent.
    I thought the book was pretty good. I liked how Vlad got his "cravings". There really wasn't enough action. The story was kind of confusing in some parts but not that bad. The story was predictable. The ending was good but not the best. I give it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    ehh....

    Ok, too many authors are trying to write like Stephenie Meyer. This book reminded me so much of twilight, it's not every funny. It was OK over-all. (twilight is better, of course!) but i don't like how it is almost exactly like twilight, meaning, the author has no creativity what-so-ever. If you want to read it, i recommend borrowing it from the library..and not buying it. cuz you might end up not liking it-like me. I guess i'll give it 3 stars.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4