Customer Reviews for

Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 767 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(514)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the f...
Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the first book like this my late bloomer to read and ENJOY a chapter book. I think that some 4th and 5th graders will enjoy this book, as well as high schoolers. The series does get more complicated and doesn't feel quite as written down to a certain level as much as this first one did, but I still recommend it (kind the same way the first Harry Potter book lacked some of the complexity of the later books). Lots of sarcastic humor that preteens and teens alike will love, as well as a lot of fun to read, as the whole series is rapidly shaping up to be!

posted by Laurel_Mac on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

very slow for me but i am not a teenager so......

i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except t...
i think this is a good book for teenagers. I think adults or young adults are gonna get bored with the first book however; i am enjoying the second book better and it is bringing out some of the teen in me like crushes and trying to make it through high school except this fella has to deal with being a vampire to with out anyone suspecting him. I like to read and try new things and i do not regret reading this book i really enjoy the characters, and i really enjoy reading a vampire book from a guys perspective and vlad is a good one to read about i do wish he would buck up and stop letting people pick on him and at first he is a chicken, no confidence, and no self esteem. i know this is just part of the story and i cant wait to see him turn into something more. hope you like my review . fyi: if you do not want your child or teenager to read about a vampire taking a womens life than you need to steer them away from this book, it was kinda brutal but then again so is life. all i am saying is it may not be appropriate for all teenagers. thanks again

posted by elizabethbennet on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Loved it

    Vlad's a half vampire, trying to survive his first crush, the eighth grade and discovering things about his vampiric side...

    This was more Harry Potter than it was Twilight, but vampire fans will thirst for more! This is the first book in the series, and it was the first book like this my late bloomer to read and ENJOY a chapter book. I think that some 4th and 5th graders will enjoy this book, as well as high schoolers. The series does get more complicated and doesn't feel quite as written down to a certain level as much as this first one did, but I still recommend it (kind the same way the first Harry Potter book lacked some of the complexity of the later books). Lots of sarcastic humor that preteens and teens alike will love, as well as a lot of fun to read, as the whole series is rapidly shaping up to be!

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    a REAL vampire story, where the vampires dont sparkle

    this book was really a good read, i mean it was too short for me (in read it in a day), but i think i will finish the rest of the series, i just wish Brewer could make up her mind with Otis, it was annoying how it was like, he is evil, now he inst....but good over all

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eighth Grade Bites

    i love this book! it's amazing! after i read this i NEEDED to read Ninth Grade Slays! I HAD TO! i cant wait till Tenth Grade Bleeds! i think it comes out in July...:]

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Awesome read

    What first caught my eye about this book series was the trademark vampire smiley. I picked it up because I wanted something that would be a nice short read for me. Little did I know that once I started reading that I would become a Minion for life.

    Vlad's character is easy to relate to if you have ever been an outcast in school and were picked on. Vlad has a crush on popular girl Meredith whom he has liked since elementary school but she doesn’t show any feelings towards Vlad. Although beside Henry, Vlad’s best friend, Meredith is the only other person that doesn’t look at Vlad's like he is some freak.

    If you’re a fan of Harry Potter I believe you will like this series the first book has a bit of a Harry Potter feel to it but quickly evolves into its own story. I found myself laughing a lot during the series. Nelly Vlad’s guardian and Henry provide awesome comic relief.

    Target audience is around Grades 5-9 but is still a great read for an adult or a Momion (mom who is a minion). This is one vampire series that boys will actually like as there is no romance and they can understand what Vlad has to go through on a day to day basis.

    Overall Auntie Heather does a fangtastic job of keeping my attention and subconsciously letting her minions know that it is okay to be an outcast and that you are not a freak.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Vladmir Tod

    This book bites. Literally!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Sick book.....

    Yo this book is awesome.....the story is great......Vlad is the best.......you rock heather brewer.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Vladamir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites Review

    Eighth Grade Bites, an exciting read by Heather Brewer, is a mind pulling novella. With four more to read after this single, there are many open ends and quick turns in the book, leaving exciting feelings and knee jerk reactions to character¿s doings.
    In small town Bathory, there are a few secrets being held from the rest of the town, except for three others. Nelly, Henry, and Vladimir, all share the same secret, besides the one in the group that carries it. Vlad is a vampire, and a vampire without Vampiric parents. They have passed afew years ago, leaving him scarred for life.
    When a cult of evil vampires show up, Vlad brings the vamp from within. A strange English teacher is also out for Vlad, but may be out for him in a different way. Get your galic juice, because you¿ll be fretting vampires after this shocker!
    In Eighth Grade, there¿s not much hiding to do from most. Except for our little vampire, he has a lot to do. Heather Brewer shows her skill in his novella, telling us she can do it, and do it well. Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites is a good read for any young book
    enthusiast.
    Vladamir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites is a very interesting and mind pulling novel. Being the first in a five book chronicle is having to cover much ground itself to set up for books in the future. The way it sets up in only two hundred pages. makes it brisk and to the point, which I was was different as well. A well thought book should be longer than a short story of a cow on a farm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Anoumous

    Love it but really expisive make it 0.99 people is it that hard to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Eighth grade burns

    It was an interrsting book.....a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    If you like this you should read Suck it up by Brian Meehl

    It's about a accidental vampire named Morning McCobb he isnt like most vampires he's a vegan who drinks a soy-based blood subsitute called blood lite. Morning is scrawny and plain unlike most of the vampires in his school Leaguer Academy a school for vampires that no longer drink "human" blood. Then their are loners vampires who drink humaan blood and live by the old commandments, thou shall not age, thou shall not destroy thy maker, yad yad. Morning is chossen by the head master to go on a mission kind of a "coming out party" for all vampires all the Leaguers want is
    1. Respect
    2. Equal rights
    3. To make stalking a hate crime
    4. To put our holidays on the calander
    5. To have a parade on Vampire Pride Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Kinda dissapointing ending

    It went from the climax to they lived happily ever after in like 2 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    One Word,,,,,,, LOVE!!!

    I am a vamp lover. I try to read all the good vampire books abd after reading this i was not disapointed! Infact i might even steal their cats name. Lol.

    ^ ^
    ( * =x= * )
    ==#==

    Cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Awesomeness

    This book is a epic read.
    It has awesome detail.
    I really recomend it.
    You will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Vampires

    Wow vampires I am into horror movies and books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    This book was pretty good for the most part. Well worth reading.

    This book was pretty good for the most part. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Perfect for a teenage boy

    Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer is the next book I read in my effort to get more up to speed on a Young Adult Fads. This book surrounds a teenage boy trying to manage middle school life, cope with his growing thirst for blood, and figure out how to controlling his always-strengthening vampire powers. Just to be clear here: the target audience consists of teenage boys. Anyone else might have a hard time getting into the story.

    Vlad is a likable kid. He was orphaned four years ago, and I felt for him whenever he would remember his parents. His parents are shrouded with mystery, as I feel there's a little more to them than is being revealed to us in the present. Vlad's surrounded by a faithful best friend, an ominous teacher, a treacherous villain, and a caring guardian in this coming-of-age story. The characters are great. No problems here.

    The plot is nice and quick. The action and daily life are integrated in a way that's reminiscent of the Harry Potter books. A bit premature comparing the two? Yes, but Eighth Grade Bites isn't one of those books with non-stop action and no character development. Balanced plots are a must in books like this. The only plot hole I could find was that one character was trusted a little to easily. That character then betrays Vlad. (whodathunkit?) But then changes his mind and saves Vlad again. (Yay?) Then Vlad immediately grows attached to this character and they walk off into the sunset together and all is happy again. That's a pretty big plot hole.

    Also, Heather Brewer struggles with explaining this particular vampire world. She tries to create a world where half of the vampire myths are true where the other half are completely fake. A little more explanation would have been helpful.

    Despite the faults, EGB is still a good, quick read. If you're a teenage boy, you'll probably love this one, but the rest of us who demand a little more explanation in our lives should stay away.

    Grade: B

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    GREAT READ

    It was great well written , but at sometimes it seemed like i was drown in and other times nor so much . Over all it the a great read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Hi

    Neeki ur fat

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer

    My book is The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer. In my opinion, this book is meant for teens who think that they are different. The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites is a different but exciting book.
    Vladimir Tod is a thirteen-year-old junior high school student. He is just like every other junior high school student. Vlad goes to school and gets bullied, gets annoyed by Mr. Snelgrove, the principal, and crushes on a popular girl. Vlad’s best friend, Henry, is with Vlad through everything. As a matter of fact, Henry is one of the only people who know Vlad’s secret. Vlad’s mother was human, but his father was a vampire. When Vladimir was eight, his parents were killed in a house fire after Vlad had already left for school. After his parents’ death, Vlad moved across town with his mom’s best friend Nelly. Not only is his life bad, but to make matters worse, another vampire is after Vlad, D’Ablo.
    “D’Ablo clucked his tongue and closed his eyes. ‘Where are you, Tomas? You can’t possibly be dead.’ When he opened his eyes, he noticed a small panel beside the charred bed. He knelt and brushed away the soot with his fingers. The glyph glowed a cool blue.” This series of vampire books are not like any others. In an odd way, the reader will feel a connection with Vlad.
    In the ending, Vlad and his uncle get locked in a cell in Elysia. They manage to crawl through a tunnel and they both return home safely. Vlad asks Otis, his uncle, to stay, but he refuses. Before Otis leaves, he gives Vlad his mark. A vampire’s mark is their name in Elysian code. Otis bites into Vlad’s arm and gives him his mark.
    This book is a different but exciting book. It sends you on a nail-biting adventure that fills you with curiosity and fear at the same time. Vladimir may be a vampire, but you feel like you have a lot in common with Vlad. This is one of the best books I have ever read and the rest of the series is just as great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I loved the series!!

    Good vampire stories!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8