BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Eighty-Dollar Champion: Snowman, the Horse That Inspired a Nation

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring!

I wouldn't consider myself a person who ordinarily gravitates to animal stories, but Eighty Dollar Champion absolutely captivated me. Heart-warming, inspirational, and moving, the story of Harry and Snowman is without question one of my favorite books of the year. I was...
I wouldn't consider myself a person who ordinarily gravitates to animal stories, but Eighty Dollar Champion absolutely captivated me. Heart-warming, inspirational, and moving, the story of Harry and Snowman is without question one of my favorite books of the year. I was a big fan of Elizabeth Letts' fiction, and she proves in this that she's just as skilled when it comes to writing non-fiction. A perfect book to curl up after you've sent the kids back to school!

posted by anya1632 on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A little dissapointed.

I grew up around horses, and I continue to have a love affiar with these wonderful animals. I enjoyed the story line of this book. What I didn't enjoy was all the history of jumping and current events of that time. I felt at times that the author was just filling spac...
I grew up around horses, and I continue to have a love affiar with these wonderful animals. I enjoyed the story line of this book. What I didn't enjoy was all the history of jumping and current events of that time. I felt at times that the author was just filling space. The actual story is interesting and inspiring. I would not pay full price for this book again. A little dissappointed.

posted by 1543780 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Inspiring!

    I wouldn't consider myself a person who ordinarily gravitates to animal stories, but Eighty Dollar Champion absolutely captivated me. Heart-warming, inspirational, and moving, the story of Harry and Snowman is without question one of my favorite books of the year. I was a big fan of Elizabeth Letts' fiction, and she proves in this that she's just as skilled when it comes to writing non-fiction. A perfect book to curl up after you've sent the kids back to school!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    the feel good book of the year!

    THis wonderful book illuminates the close bond between humans and animals - in this case a horse bound for the slaughterhouse and the Dutch immigrant who rescued him and made him into a champion jumper. A warm and inspiring story that takes you into the world of the 1950s. What a great movie it will be!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Wow!!!!!!This is the heartwarming book of the year!!!!!!!!!!

    I have always loved stories about great horses, from The Black Stallion to Seabiscuit, to the movie Secretariat, I'm always first in line. But somehow it's hard to find great horse books that really seem to capture the magic.This is the true story of Harry Delayer, a poor immigrant who started out with nothing but rose to the highest heights after one day when he could not pass by a poor old horse who was on his way to the slaughterhouse.The way the author writes made me feel like I was there and she even includes bits of history along the way to teach me about what life was like back then.But the very best part of this story is the unbreakable bond between the man and his horse. You will cheer for them and you will admire the man who did it all. Don't wait to read this book! It's a winner.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    What a phenomenal story!

    As a guy who swore never to read an animal book, I found the Eighty-Dollar Champion to be one of the most touching stories I've ever read. The relationship between Snowman and his rider was clearly a special bond and following the two of them through their journey was thoroughly rewarding.

    I'd definitely recommend this book to readers of all ages. Whether you enjoy the challenge of competition, or the passion of the relationship between man and animal, I guarantee that any reader will sincerely enjoy the tale of a man and horse who defied the odds!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Snowman - a great read ! Gives hope for today,

    Teenagers and adults will enjoy this true story of a horse! We need this kind of story today! One that makes you laugh, cry and most of all gives one HOPE!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A book all horse lovers should read.

    All my life i have read horse books. This book belongs with the best of them!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Such a great story! The movie should still be made!

    A novel could not have read more engaging than this true story of a diamond in the rough horse and a young Dutchman new to America. The patience and love for horses helped spare this flea bitten grey gelding bound for the slaughterhouse. The bond between horse and rider created such a stir in the world of event jumping that would elevate the sport to new heights. A must read for all who marvel at the wonder which is embodied in the horse!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Eighty Dollar Champion!!

    Okay for those who asked how many pages it was, it was about 376 pages. Great story and for those who gave it a bad review, I respect your opinion but disagree...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Loved This Book!!!

    I found this book a joy to read! As a horse lover and rider who competed in hunters with sheer determination, not fancy horses, I loved Harry's unstoppable commitment to his dream! His knowledge, bravery, spirit and dedication is admirable!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating story even if you're not into horse racing. This is

    Fascinating story even if you're not into horse racing. This is quite an amazing story and Letts is wonderful storyteller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Loved it

    Inspiring true story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Do Yourself a Favor - Read this Book!

    A wonderful book -- not only is the story inspirational, it's true.
    I only wish that more deserving creatures, whether equine, canine, or feline, found the loving home that Snowman did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    A must read

    When bought off the death truck, Snowball looks ragged and worthless but his new owner sees something special in him. Over time this something special develops as does the relationship of the horse to his owner and of the horse's owner to the horse. This is a story of hard work, commitment, trust and success. Story builds on a well described background with writing that makes this an easy read that is hard to put down. A true story of man's relationship to horse and of how hard work, knowledge and commitment will get one to a goal of pride and success.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    READ ME!!!!!!!!!!************ READ ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*

    I have the paper copy at home and I absoloutly love this book! It is the best book ever! I am even doing a book report on it for school! I will read it over and over again! (I love horses too.) Read the summary if you have not!!!!!!!! No matter the cost buy it! It is totally worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    -Madison
    Age 10

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Great horse reading

    Good book clean reading for all age groups.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Gres Great read!/

    Grear book for sanimaa

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Lovely Story...

    I loved this book. It was very well written from beginning to end. If you love horses this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent story. Loved it so much I just couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Love it

    I loved this heartfelt story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Recommend

    a rather simple book about a very unusual horse....very heartwarming...charming...I read it mainly because it was set on Long Island, where I am from. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves horses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8