Customer Reviews for

Einstein's Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    The Perfect Gift

    This book continues to be the gift I give to anyone who expresses an interest in reading. Pick up a copy for yourself and anyone else who enjoys a thought provoking, intellectual, yet easy and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Great book

    Einstein's dreams is a Very inspiring book that deals with the concept of time and it's meaning. I went into a book store today and the title captured my eye so I sat down to read a few pages and the next thing I know I've gone through the entire book. Im planning on buying it next time to add to my collection. I can honestly say I've never read a book like it and I dont think I ever will. The only disappointment I found was that it wasn¿t longer. -V.E.,15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    five stars aren't enough

    It's short. It has almost no plot and no recurring characters outside of the brief interludes involving Einstein and Besso. But it's brilliant, and beautiful. It's poetry in complete sentences. Lightman's later efforts (The Diagnosis, Good Benito) don't hit the mark like this one, but this one is something very special. It's the most lyrical, thought-provoking piece of writing I've read in many, many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    A twilight experience!

    For those who ever wonder...this is your book! It explores the nature of time in every possible way and stretches your imagination so effortlessly. It's like physics with a dash of poetry...enchanting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    widen your horizon...

    this book was totally creative, im just about the average teen and even i loved the thing. it really braudens your point of view and brings many different point of views. easy to read and it makes youu think. somewhat matrix like?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    Understanding Reality by Imagining the Alternatives!

    Understanding Reality by Imagining the Alternatives! This book deserves many more than five stars for its potential to make you a better thinker!! One of the most creative people I know (holder of dozens of patents that have created two new industries) first told me about this book. He said that Einstein¿s Dreams was better for stimulating new ideas than any other book he had ever read. Naturally, I added the book to my list . . . but didn¿t get around to it right away. That was a mistake! I found Einstein¿s Dreams better for stimulating creativity than all other creativity books I have read combined. I wish I had read Einstein¿s Dreams when it first came out. Einstein, of course, was famous for this ¿thought experiments¿ in which he would imagine what would happen if he were placed in different circumstances. For example, what if he were riding on a photon of light? What would happen if he shined a flashlight ahead of him? How would someone riding on a parallel photon of light perceive his flashlight if he flashed it toward the other person? The result of most of these thought experiments was to understand the nature of time, and to create his famous special and general theories of relativity. (If you want to know more about this subject, be sure to check out Professor Stephen Hawking¿s latest, The Universe in a Nutshell.) Alan Lightman has created a novel built around 30 ¿dreams¿ (or scenarios) that make differing assumptions about time, and describe how the lives of ordinary people living in Switzerland in 1905 would be changed. In the process, you will probably have several epiphanies. For example, so much of the way we run our lives depends on the fact that time runs forward in what normally seems like a linear, predictable way . . . but without giving us certainty about what happens next in our lives. If time operated in a fractured way, for example, we would find little incentive to try to create connections to others and to create something better for the future. The other epiphany you will probably have is that you can take everything that you believe to be well understood, and think about that factor as being dozens of different things using these dreams as templates. For example, you can apply the ideas in this book to an academic discipline like linguistics, art history, behavioral psychology, or anything else. In the process of thinking through these ¿factual¿ areas in terms of assuming that reality is different, you will immediately see ¿reality¿ more clearly and objectively than ever before. Finally, you will realize that the greatest limitation we have in creating new learning is our lack of imagination. Fill in the empty spaces in our minds with new questions, new possibilities, and new problems, and vast new insights immediately emerge without using computers, mathematics, or any sort of technology. All you have to do is dream . . . or day dream, if you prefer. My suggestion for you is that you plan to read this book several times. After the first time, when you have the idea of the book¿s approach well in hand, take something that you have absolute certainty about and apply the dreams here to your area of certainty. On the next reading, do the same thing with yet another subject. After you have done this a few times, come back and reread the book considering your first topic. Another possibility is to take the 30 dreams and expand on what the author has written about the implications for time. A number of these are on the sketchy side, and you can make them more vivid and valuable to you if you flesh the dreams out. I also suggest reading this book someplace where it is quiet, and you will not be disturbed. You will also probably find it helpful to ponder a little with each dream before moving onto the next one. Donald Mitchell, co-author of The 2,000 Percent Solution and The Irresistible Growth Enterprise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    Thought provoking and emotion evoking

    I have always enjoyed the sciences from a theory point of view. However, this book is not important for any scientific premises it documents, but for the literary technique used to express emotions about humanity. Those who can not sense the enrapturing prose in this short 'novel' are lost forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Claptrap! Psychobabble.

    Sadly, we learn nothing of Einstein¿s dreams from the point of view of a physicist trained and teacher of writing (the author), and if one is to be informed by this book, read only the Prologue for information about the young Einstein¿s day job at the patent office. Otherwise, this book has lots of Freudian physique ¿ sex and slithering ¿ but neither physics nor metaphysics. This book drools, and is a sad testament to uninspired writing and starry-eyed sentiment. Pity the author can¿t take it back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2000

    A quick but wonderful read.

    Interesting, with beautifully written prose, close to poetry at points. Excellent use of literary techniques. Great for lovers of literature as well as for popular readers. Extremely accessible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    wow

    i totally enjoyed ever page in this book after i was done reading one chapter i would stop and i can feel like i m where the last chapter was abt a book that u cant stop reading till u r done and after that u want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    sublime and enjoyable reading

    I am amazed that I have finally found a link to my own thoughts. This brings the simple truths of life into an interesting retropect. It is amazing how realistic and on line some of these analyzations are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    Outstanding

    This is a must read for all people who are intrested in time and Albert Einstein theorys of time. Each chapter is a diffrent way time is and can be. Alan Lightman is brilliant in this book of understanding time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    An Intellectual Stimulant

    This book is one I continue to pick up and read. Lightman's prose reads with unique fluidity that makes you want to read more and more. I have never been so excited about a book. Each chapter led me through time and its mysterious dimensions. Lightman presents a compelling, thought-provoking novel that involves experience, questioning, and discovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    a delight to read

    a fantastic voyage into the many different ways time can be perceived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Without hesitation my all-time favorite book.

    Quite simply the most tender, intriguing, magical, and thought-provoking book I have ever read. As a student of the sciences, this book made me rediscover why I loved it in the first place. If anyone ever asks me to recommend a book to them, this is the one. Everyone I've recommended it to has fallen equally in love with it. Lightman's prose is amazing in how literally dreamlike it is, and just like the best dreams, it leaves you with a profound, intense, but ultimately abstract and fleeting sense of beauty that, more than anything else, you wish would last forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    I wish my dreams were as good

    Alan Lightman writes a book that not only fictionally describes the possible dreams that Einstein may have had as he was pondering his theories, but a book that makes us all dare to dream of things that go beyond our conventional perceptions. If I could have only one dream, be sure it would be one inspired by Lightman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Artistic Interpretation

    As an actor I usually find any scientific subject confusing and boring yet, a book which contemplates the kind of dreams Einstein might have had is one of the most compelling and human novels I have ever read. It exhibits a true quality of realism in science fiction and makes for a beautiful melting pot of literature and science.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4