Customer Reviews for

Einstein's Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    One of my all time favorite books

    I've read this book four times now over the past few years. There's nothing to compare it to--it's a fascinating treatment of time, dimension, illusion, and much more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Amazing

    This book really makes me think about time and what it really is. Its eye opening and really makes you think.:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Fascinating And Eye Opening Views About Time

    Einstein's Dreams was a very interesting book to read. Lightman wrote the book in a way that was very easy to understand but it also kept you thinking a lot about the way we view the world. The layout is unique because each chapter is its own individual story. There isn't a flowing plot but all the chapters are about the same subject: different ways to view time. I find this type of format easier to read than a normal layout and it allows the reader to be surprised about what the next chapter will be about.

    Each individual chapter peered into different ways to view time. Some of the chapters talked about time being a circle, flowing like water, the dimensions of time, cause and effect, and even the fact that in the end, everyone is alone. It was so intriguing to read about time in so many different ways. The book really made you realize how much the average person depends on time to live their lives.

    This book made me think of the question, "Can we ever live life without keeping some sort of time?" Sure we don't have to look at the clocks, keep a schedule, or even know what day it is. But things like night and day will always be a factor in keeping time. Reading Einstein's Dreams made me realize that no matter what way you think time is, people are always going to be paying attention to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Einstein's Dreams captures the essence of time in a series of dreams.

    Alan Lightman's Einstein's Dreams captures the essence of time in a series of dreams. Lightman challenges the average person's way of life. He questions our understanding using illusions from the past and present that were captivated in dreams that Einstein had when he was an adolescent.

    The stories were short and sweet. They revolved around the absence and presence of time, each with a new twist that only Albert Einstein could have dreamed of. They were concise and easy to read and had me sitting on the edge of my chair, not knowing what will come next. Every story became more interesting and more in depth than the last and each continued to fascinate me.

    One story stood out. In this story, Einstein imagined a world in which people lived just one day, only saw one sunrise, one sunset. Everything we experienced in our lives was smashed together and experienced within twenty four hours. It made me think, what if our lives were as short as a day? What if our lives were meaningless compared to the length of time of our universe? I started to question similarly to what Einstein questioned about our everyday lifestyles. This book brought new ideas and insights to my life and every page was a blast to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    a mind-stretching sensory paradise

    A beautiful novel and one I continue to fall in love with whenever I read it. It¿s the inspired story of young Albert Einstein working in 1905 as a patent clerk in Switzerland. Einstein¿s Dreams is an imaginary recreation of the muse within Einstein¿s genius. He dreams of time: circular, flowing backwards, slowing down - all compelling, brilliant, fresh possibilities of what time may consist of, here and perhaps in other worlds. These dreams have taken hold of Einstein¿s own research and fostered his theory of relativity. Through Lightman¿s poetic writing, we too begin to see how romantic and creative the nature of time really is. Alan Lightman is a professor of humanities, creative writing and physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His writings about science (as opposed to his scientific writings) have appeared in every prestigious magazine throughout North America. Einstein¿s Dreams was an international bestseller when it was first published and since then has been translated into more than thirty languages as well as into theatrical and musical productions across the United States. Extraordinarily clever, although more a philosophical, meditative, playful journey than a plot-driven novel, Einstein¿s Dreams is not easily forgotten. Thirty dreams on variations of time are received by the reader as a mind-stretching sensory paradise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Excellent

    This book was absolutely amazing! It was beautifully written. I loved how the book showed all of the different perspectives of time, the way Einstein dreamed them up. It was totally awesome. You don't have to be into Einstein or physics to really enjoy this wonderful book. I would highly recommend it to everyone out there. It is well worth the time to read. I promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    WHOA

    This" Collage " of Einstein's dreams throws me into a parallel world of deeper consideration, where time is definately of the essence
    Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Mesmorizing

    There's something about this book of dreams that I find relaxing and hypnotic. Almost philosphical/existential in a way. Try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Great premise, poor execution

    My sister recommended me this book, and after hearing the premise I looked forward to reading it. However, its execution left me unsatisfied. Although each of Lightman's hypothetical worlds of time promises to yield a fascinating thought experiment, he rarely thinks through the implications of the parameters he proposes. Instead he fills each chapter with a sentimental series of images from the society Einstein lived in, as if showing off the historical research he did for the book. Vaguely thought-provoking romanticism this may be. Good science fiction it ain't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Absolutely amazing... Ironic how the book relates to time and I

    Absolutely amazing... Ironic how the book relates to time and I was so engrossed that I missed my stop on the train. Time really stood still for this literary genius..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Makes you think

    It's a good book to read along with another book. It just gives you a lot to think about with how life would be if time worked this way or that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Kelsey

    Im bored already lol hate school. *leans in back in the desk*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Alex

    Me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Science meets Dal¿

    Beautiful piece of work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Makes+you+think%2C+

    Every+chapter+puts+you+in+a+new+hypothetical+situation+in+which+time+and+consequences+for+actions+behave+in+different+ways.+One+chapter+places+all+if+one%27s+life+in+a+day%2C+and+another+makes+time+go+backwards.+Many+chapters%2C+like+these%2C+leave+the+reader+wondering%3A+how+would+I+lead+my+life+under+these+conditions%3F+If+it%27s+characters+you+want%2C+however%2C+you+will+not+find+it+in+this+thought-provoking+novel.+The+intrigue+and+descriptions+of+time+changes%2C+and++Einstein%27s+interpretation+of+things%2C++however%2C+more+than+makes+up+for+this+lack+of+protagonists.+

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Extraordinary.

    I read this one for english class, and I was surprised to find that it really interested me. Every chapter is a new beginning, each one describing the world with a different concept of time. In one, for instance, time moves slower towards the center of Earth and eventually stops. In another, cause and effect are erratic, making every choice of action one without consequence. How strange would life be if time was reversed, controllable, or completely nonexistent? All of these questions are answered in these fascinating pieces of fiction that make up Einstein's Dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent easy read with a great thought provoking premise.

    Fascinating study on how different people experience the passage of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Lightman's dreams not necessarily Einstein's

    Imaginative but also kind of annoying/silly to me. Just cashing in on the famous Einstein name.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Awakens definition

    This book is number two on my favorites list (The confessions of Max Tivoli is number one). It has that special ability of melting my heart into a slop of wet puddy on the floor. The bulk of it, I would assume, is mostly poetry, but it rubs off of elements of physics and theories. Nonetheless, it's something like cream cheese, something you have to savor. I'd say the best way to read this is to read one entry every day, no more. Any more and you might forget something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Mastered novel on creativity and perception of time.

    I started reading this book this morning a few minutes before leaving to work. Now, every minute I can sneak to read, I indulge myself in the insight of creativity. I'm not an avid reader, but I suffer every minute I'm not reading more of this book. This book is a necessity in anyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4