Customer Reviews for

Einstein's Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    One of my all time favorite books

    I've read this book four times now over the past few years. There's nothing to compare it to--it's a fascinating treatment of time, dimension, illusion, and much more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Amazing

    This book really makes me think about time and what it really is. Its eye opening and really makes you think.:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Einstein's Dreams captures the essence of time in a series of dreams.

    Alan Lightman's Einstein's Dreams captures the essence of time in a series of dreams. Lightman challenges the average person's way of life. He questions our understanding using illusions from the past and present that were captivated in dreams that Einstein had when he was an adolescent.

    The stories were short and sweet. They revolved around the absence and presence of time, each with a new twist that only Albert Einstein could have dreamed of. They were concise and easy to read and had me sitting on the edge of my chair, not knowing what will come next. Every story became more interesting and more in depth than the last and each continued to fascinate me.

    One story stood out. In this story, Einstein imagined a world in which people lived just one day, only saw one sunrise, one sunset. Everything we experienced in our lives was smashed together and experienced within twenty four hours. It made me think, what if our lives were as short as a day? What if our lives were meaningless compared to the length of time of our universe? I started to question similarly to what Einstein questioned about our everyday lifestyles. This book brought new ideas and insights to my life and every page was a blast to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    a mind-stretching sensory paradise

    A beautiful novel and one I continue to fall in love with whenever I read it. It¿s the inspired story of young Albert Einstein working in 1905 as a patent clerk in Switzerland. Einstein¿s Dreams is an imaginary recreation of the muse within Einstein¿s genius. He dreams of time: circular, flowing backwards, slowing down - all compelling, brilliant, fresh possibilities of what time may consist of, here and perhaps in other worlds. These dreams have taken hold of Einstein¿s own research and fostered his theory of relativity. Through Lightman¿s poetic writing, we too begin to see how romantic and creative the nature of time really is. Alan Lightman is a professor of humanities, creative writing and physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His writings about science (as opposed to his scientific writings) have appeared in every prestigious magazine throughout North America. Einstein¿s Dreams was an international bestseller when it was first published and since then has been translated into more than thirty languages as well as into theatrical and musical productions across the United States. Extraordinarily clever, although more a philosophical, meditative, playful journey than a plot-driven novel, Einstein¿s Dreams is not easily forgotten. Thirty dreams on variations of time are received by the reader as a mind-stretching sensory paradise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Excellent

    This book was absolutely amazing! It was beautifully written. I loved how the book showed all of the different perspectives of time, the way Einstein dreamed them up. It was totally awesome. You don't have to be into Einstein or physics to really enjoy this wonderful book. I would highly recommend it to everyone out there. It is well worth the time to read. I promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Absolutely amazing... Ironic how the book relates to time and I

    Absolutely amazing... Ironic how the book relates to time and I was so engrossed that I missed my stop on the train. Time really stood still for this literary genius..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Kelsey

    Im bored already lol hate school. *leans in back in the desk*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Alex

    Me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Science meets Dal¿

    Beautiful piece of work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Awakens definition

    This book is number two on my favorites list (The confessions of Max Tivoli is number one). It has that special ability of melting my heart into a slop of wet puddy on the floor. The bulk of it, I would assume, is mostly poetry, but it rubs off of elements of physics and theories. Nonetheless, it's something like cream cheese, something you have to savor. I'd say the best way to read this is to read one entry every day, no more. Any more and you might forget something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Mastered novel on creativity and perception of time.

    I started reading this book this morning a few minutes before leaving to work. Now, every minute I can sneak to read, I indulge myself in the insight of creativity. I'm not an avid reader, but I suffer every minute I'm not reading more of this book. This book is a necessity in anyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    The Perfect Gift

    This book continues to be the gift I give to anyone who expresses an interest in reading. Pick up a copy for yourself and anyone else who enjoys a thought provoking, intellectual, yet easy and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Great book

    Einstein's dreams is a Very inspiring book that deals with the concept of time and it's meaning. I went into a book store today and the title captured my eye so I sat down to read a few pages and the next thing I know I've gone through the entire book. Im planning on buying it next time to add to my collection. I can honestly say I've never read a book like it and I dont think I ever will. The only disappointment I found was that it wasn¿t longer. -V.E.,15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    five stars aren't enough

    It's short. It has almost no plot and no recurring characters outside of the brief interludes involving Einstein and Besso. But it's brilliant, and beautiful. It's poetry in complete sentences. Lightman's later efforts (The Diagnosis, Good Benito) don't hit the mark like this one, but this one is something very special. It's the most lyrical, thought-provoking piece of writing I've read in many, many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    widen your horizon...

    this book was totally creative, im just about the average teen and even i loved the thing. it really braudens your point of view and brings many different point of views. easy to read and it makes youu think. somewhat matrix like?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    Understanding Reality by Imagining the Alternatives!

    Understanding Reality by Imagining the Alternatives! This book deserves many more than five stars for its potential to make you a better thinker!! One of the most creative people I know (holder of dozens of patents that have created two new industries) first told me about this book. He said that Einstein¿s Dreams was better for stimulating new ideas than any other book he had ever read. Naturally, I added the book to my list . . . but didn¿t get around to it right away. That was a mistake! I found Einstein¿s Dreams better for stimulating creativity than all other creativity books I have read combined. I wish I had read Einstein¿s Dreams when it first came out. Einstein, of course, was famous for this ¿thought experiments¿ in which he would imagine what would happen if he were placed in different circumstances. For example, what if he were riding on a photon of light? What would happen if he shined a flashlight ahead of him? How would someone riding on a parallel photon of light perceive his flashlight if he flashed it toward the other person? The result of most of these thought experiments was to understand the nature of time, and to create his famous special and general theories of relativity. (If you want to know more about this subject, be sure to check out Professor Stephen Hawking¿s latest, The Universe in a Nutshell.) Alan Lightman has created a novel built around 30 ¿dreams¿ (or scenarios) that make differing assumptions about time, and describe how the lives of ordinary people living in Switzerland in 1905 would be changed. In the process, you will probably have several epiphanies. For example, so much of the way we run our lives depends on the fact that time runs forward in what normally seems like a linear, predictable way . . . but without giving us certainty about what happens next in our lives. If time operated in a fractured way, for example, we would find little incentive to try to create connections to others and to create something better for the future. The other epiphany you will probably have is that you can take everything that you believe to be well understood, and think about that factor as being dozens of different things using these dreams as templates. For example, you can apply the ideas in this book to an academic discipline like linguistics, art history, behavioral psychology, or anything else. In the process of thinking through these ¿factual¿ areas in terms of assuming that reality is different, you will immediately see ¿reality¿ more clearly and objectively than ever before. Finally, you will realize that the greatest limitation we have in creating new learning is our lack of imagination. Fill in the empty spaces in our minds with new questions, new possibilities, and new problems, and vast new insights immediately emerge without using computers, mathematics, or any sort of technology. All you have to do is dream . . . or day dream, if you prefer. My suggestion for you is that you plan to read this book several times. After the first time, when you have the idea of the book¿s approach well in hand, take something that you have absolute certainty about and apply the dreams here to your area of certainty. On the next reading, do the same thing with yet another subject. After you have done this a few times, come back and reread the book considering your first topic. Another possibility is to take the 30 dreams and expand on what the author has written about the implications for time. A number of these are on the sketchy side, and you can make them more vivid and valuable to you if you flesh the dreams out. I also suggest reading this book someplace where it is quiet, and you will not be disturbed. You will also probably find it helpful to ponder a little with each dream before moving onto the next one. Donald Mitchell, co-author of The 2,000 Percent Solution and The Irresistible Growth Enterprise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    Thought provoking and emotion evoking

    I have always enjoyed the sciences from a theory point of view. However, this book is not important for any scientific premises it documents, but for the literary technique used to express emotions about humanity. Those who can not sense the enrapturing prose in this short 'novel' are lost forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2000

    A quick but wonderful read.

    Interesting, with beautifully written prose, close to poetry at points. Excellent use of literary techniques. Great for lovers of literature as well as for popular readers. Extremely accessible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    wow

    i totally enjoyed ever page in this book after i was done reading one chapter i would stop and i can feel like i m where the last chapter was abt a book that u cant stop reading till u r done and after that u want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    sublime and enjoyable reading

    I am amazed that I have finally found a link to my own thoughts. This brings the simple truths of life into an interesting retropect. It is amazing how realistic and on line some of these analyzations are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2