Customer Reviews for

Einstein's Shutter

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Awesome memoir...anyone can relate to author's experiences

    Okay, I'll confess that I do know the author of this book...or I thought I did until I read this memoir. Though I knew most of the people and places and lived my life parallel to Vince's I had no idea of the breadth and depth of his spirit and soul.

    I had been putting off reading the book because I still remember 9/11; what I saw, where I was, who I was with and what it was like that day trying to get off the island and back to the safety of my home and husband in Jersey City. I remember the hours, days and weeks after 9/11 and I was afraid this book would bring up bad memories. Einstein's Shutter is thoughtfully written and the subject of 9/11 (though still painful) was addressed in the author's unique perspective and provides an integral part of the narrative.

    It's a beautiful story of love, loss, redemption and all of the subjects that make a great read. I was afraid I would be uncomfortable seeing a side of Vince that was so private but, I wasn't the least bit uncomfortable. I was so enthralled that read the whole book from cover to cover in one day.

    Please read this book if you feel like you are screwed up, alone, don't know what it all means or aren't worth love. Read this book if you want a laugh, a cry and just to know there is someone else out there who struggles to figure out why we are on this big old blue ball in the sky.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    One of my Top-20 books of all time!

    I loved this book! The writing style was refreshingly human, like my own thoughts and conversations in print. I chuckled, laughed out loud and pondered my own life choices and beliefs. This is a book I am going to buy in printed form so I can add it to my collection of "read it again every 5 years or so" books, because it is that good! I will be recommending this book to everyone I know who can read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    love it

    An entertaining read..am still reading it and really enjoying it. Quirky comes to mind! will definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I can hardly believe I only paid 99 cents for this NookBook. It

    I can hardly believe I only paid 99 cents for this NookBook. It was an exceptionally good read. A coming of age book with buddhism and tales of sadness of desperation with some humor for good measure. I highly recommend it to anyone. I would have willingly paid more for this memoir. Thanks Vince for keeping me awake nights so I could read it to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Good read

    I read it in 2 days, hard to put down, made me think about a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Great book!

    Didn't want it to end-----a long time since I've read a book so enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Loved it! I'm hoping I can ask Vincent a question on his FB page.

    Actually I am on page 624 of 684! I downloaded this book for free and have enjoyed every page. He does a great job of expressing his thoughts and feelings in a very believable, and many times, humorous manner. He's a talented writer and I can't help but like the guy!
    Vince, I just requested to join your FB page, but I hope I can send you message, because I have a HUGE question for you: It has to do with the love and devotion you had for Hanna, while at the same time, your heart was in an emotional relationship with Ann. Not that it's any of my business, but...I just don't get it! lol! Are you brave enough to field that question?
    Berni from Ohio.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Enjoyed this book. Even though the couple in the book were not directly effected by 9/11 it shows how the time and place changed everyone in some way. It made us all a bit different than we were before 9/11.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Yea, check it out!

    An interesting story that kept me wanting to read more. Could hardly put it down. Good mind exercise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    great read

    enjoyed from begining to end. conversations with the monk was the best. good insight into how the male mind thinks while in and out of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Wonderful Book

    I stumbled on this book, and I loved it. It is equal parts witty, touching, funny, sad and thoughtful. Mr. Yanez found a way to strike very universal chords in a story that was very specifically about his life. I got the feeling in reading that his politics and mine probably don't match, and I've never lived in the cities he lived in and wrote about. His experiences were very unique, and his life seems, to me at least, quite out of the ordinary. And yet, I found myself relating to an incredible amount of the story he told. This book is really great. It's well-written and it moves along quickly. It jumps back and forth in time, not following a linear path through events, but it isn't confusing. the style adds to the story rather than subtracting from it in any way. I'd highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    a good read.

    Just a good read. Very difficult to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Fantastic story!

    This book is a really wonderful larger than life story of soul searching, friendships, relationships... and it is a "true" story! I loved every minute of this book...could not put it down...There were sad moments and there were times I actually laughed out loud. Vincent is a very gifted writer, his style of writing is like you are listening to the thoughts as he is thinking or remembering them in his head...this book is a great read and I highly recommend it. Hope to see more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    I was so sad when I reached the last page of this book. I have a

    I was so sad when I reached the last page of this book. I have a book hangover, I'm so caught up with the people in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Hgjn cycjbndhtgdg tggfjgyvy

    HfhtdgxgtxvcyfhchycbchhchfhchfyfhfyVdyghbhbjurjtgldhmfzruvygtrrrhfttchgcerrrrrrxxxh vfjwhfsbfsvgsfhrngfngwgndsghddgnfrgvfgndehrrjfgytfthetnetkfeuhdrhfethvdehvgbfgrcjdrsjhydtduhrsfhseyidhdyffsswyfyfgdydhdydhcyfdyfyfufyfhqqqqqqqcxxxxxjtutrrrrrtudhctdhcrsgvhxrgjdfxj

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Disgusting

    The more I read the more disgusting it became - I tried to like it but there is just no way! Ultimately it is simply about a man with a huge ego plus mental issues. Don't waste any of your precious days on this earth reading this mixed up egotistical mess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    OK

    Quirky story about a quirky guy. Way too many typos, though, especially in a time when a good word/grammar check program is available on any computer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    ok

    it was interesting but way 2 long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Would certainly read more by this author.

    This is a quiet and understated book, but beautifully written. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Boring

    A very dry and disorganized read. 200+ pages about a man pretending to be a New Yorker in a thousand one paragraph long chapters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3