Customer Reviews for

The Oath

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Captivating

Have loved this book for a long time and each time i read it even knowing what happens next I cant put it down! A must read!

posted by 18750471 on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful but disappointing

I found The Oath to be very interesting and suspensful in the beginning. I am a christian who reads both christian and non- christian books. I was very intrigued by the mystery of the town and its past but once the christian aspect was introduced the story was so predic...
I found The Oath to be very interesting and suspensful in the beginning. I am a christian who reads both christian and non- christian books. I was very intrigued by the mystery of the town and its past but once the christian aspect was introduced the story was so predictable it just lost its appeal. If you go into the book knowing its a biblical message then you would probably avoid this let down cuz it is an interesting story with a moral to it. For me i was disappointed with how the secular mystery turned into a predictable biblical ending with unsaved characters suddenly praying for help.

posted by 8972099 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Suspenseful but disappointing

    I found The Oath to be very interesting and suspensful in the beginning. I am a christian who reads both christian and non- christian books. I was very intrigued by the mystery of the town and its past but once the christian aspect was introduced the story was so predictable it just lost its appeal. If you go into the book knowing its a biblical message then you would probably avoid this let down cuz it is an interesting story with a moral to it. For me i was disappointed with how the secular mystery turned into a predictable biblical ending with unsaved characters suddenly praying for help.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Awesome!

    This is by far my favorite book from Frank Peretti. The plot moves fast, and I couldn't put it down! If you're a fan of Peretti, you'll love this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Captivating!

    Could not put this down, just had to finish it once i started it! Your going to love it!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Amazing!

    Absolutely captivating. My favorite of all time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Captivating

    Have loved this book for a long time and each time i read it even knowing what happens next I cant put it down! A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Awesome

    My favorite Frank Peretti book by far!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Very highly recommended

    This man writes incredible stories. Keeps you wondering to the end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    AMAZINGGGGG!!!!!

    If you absolutely love mysterious mystery novels, then you will love The Oath! Even if you just open the book up to read the introduction, it sucks you right in. Frank Peretti is a very popular Christian Fiction author and hasn't let me down yet with his phenomenal ways of writing. This novel starts out written in two different parts but they eventually come together throughout the book forming a very juicy plot. This novel is extremely good at keeping you on your tippy toes. When Isearch for a book, I typically search for the stories that keep me hooked and with this novel, the detail is incredible. They way the author puts things together is even more incredible. The first sentence of the introduction in this novel totally yanked me in at first sight. "Sin is the monster we love to deny." It really feels like anyone could connect to this novel in some sort of way. The first page of the novel brings you into a world with tension and really raises your blood pressure. It completely engulfs you and makes you feel what the characters in this novel are feeling. It's such a wonderful and detailed experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Love God

    This book is so true! Everybody sins but God can save you from it all because his sinless son died for us. Its so captivating and it made me think about how strong my faith was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    NOOK REVIVAL

    Please help us reach all nook users for Christ at "revival for god" first result :) †††

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Only 11

    Im only 11 and this book was kind of scary at night when I read. Its not much compared to the hunger games or harry potter but in all it was pretty good. I wouldnt recommend it to younger people like me but not very many people my age read as big or as much books as I do. I wanted to give it a four and a half but thats not possible. I gave it a four because some of the parts you just think the writer put in to make more pages because they are kind of boring. But ya it was preety good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Holy Cow

    This book is great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    You won't want to put this book down until the last page. I enjoyed the book so much that I decided to read the Visitation next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    I encourage young readers to give this one a chance

    My daughter is13 and she said that it was awesome. She also said a nother good book by ted dekker 'skin' was another awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great book

    If you enjoyed it read ted dekker books. Peretti and dekker co author house. House was made into a movie. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Great book!!

    Really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Very worthwhile

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2