Customer Reviews for

Elantris

Average Rating 4.5
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great first novel

I highly recommend this book to fantasy buffs as well as fans of Sanderson's other works. While not quite as fast paced or polished as his Mistborn series, it was a fantastic read with a very satisfying conclusion.

posted by 11028875 on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book, though not his best.

I enjoyed this book. It's definitely not as good as Sanderson's later works, but it's reflective of his fertile imagination. I loved the premised and enjoyed the plot. The characters were just okay and the ending wrapped up a little too neatly, which is why I don't rate...
I enjoyed this book. It's definitely not as good as Sanderson's later works, but it's reflective of his fertile imagination. I loved the premised and enjoyed the plot. The characters were just okay and the ending wrapped up a little too neatly, which is why I don't rate it higher. Don't let the overhyping spoil it for you. It's a fine, middle-of-the-pack fantasy.

posted by KelliJ1 on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great Sci-Fi

    I really enjoyed this book. I found the time and world fascinating. It was amazing to think of an arranged marriage princess bride arriving to her new land to find out that her intended was dead and she was married to him, thus a widow never having met him in person. I have to admit that I have never met a character who came so close and yet had such a hard time getting married.

    I marvel how both the Princess and Prince created their own realms similarly yet apart. You want so badly for them to get together because you know that they would be good together.

    I love how the Prince pieces together the puzzle and comes to really love the Princess. He was so good at changing everyone in Elantris by giving them a job to do, a purpose. It really helps you appreciate our need for purpose in our lives. I was fascinated by the science involved in Elantris.

    It is hard to keep track of all of the characters especially because they sometimes have similar sounding names. There are a ton of characters to keep track of too.

    I found the priests involvement in the story disturbing at times but also intriguing.

    I do like how it ends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great standalone novel

    Elantris, by Brandon Sanderson, is a great novel. This story of "gods" brought low is quite gripping, leaving the reader on the edge of his or her seat. The story of the Elantrans, and their once great race and city, is very deep, with a plot that has more twists and turns than a hedge maze. A prince deeply loved by his people, shows the signs of the changing, pronounced dead, and thrown in the old city of Elantris with the rest of these immortal beings. His betrothed arrives at the palace only to find that he has "died," yet the story she is told seems not to fit with what she sees. A priest of the most powerful religion in the world sees the fall of Elantris as a sign that his religion is the one true path...or is it? Elantris was hard to put down, and even harder to know that it is a standalone, for I only want more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    So good. READ!

    I loved it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Amazing

    I have just finsihed reading this amazing book and I am glad I found it. I feel in love with all the wonderful people in this book and read it every chance I got. When I wasn't able to read it I could not get it off my mind this book blew me away becuase at the time I bought it I was not able to fully read what it was about and by luck it was one of the best books I have read. Now I am going to by another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Another Fantastic Book By Mr. Sanderson. As others have said not

    Another Fantastic Book By Mr. Sanderson. As others have said not as fast as some of his other works but still exceptionally well written, with a fantastic climax and ending, and well developed characters. The world he creates is described in amazing detail and the characters are amazingly easy to relate to and sympathize with. So many wrenches are thrown in the plot as it continues to develop making it truly gripping. A very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Five stars!!!

    Great fantasy, kept me reading past midnight! I love Sanderson's books, especially Mistborn. A must read for fantasy readers! I like how original his books are. This book keeps you guessing till the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    A refreshing change of pace

    What if the city of the gods, a beacon of hope and healing around the world, suddenly turned into a place of disease and ceaseless pain? The story of Elantris picks up ten years after the miraculous city of Elantris suffers that fate, and details the political maneuverings in the outside world in the aftermath.

    The book has no elves, no rings, no dragons, no wands, no vampires, and no werewolves and tells a humdinger of a good story. This is the first book I've read by Brandon Sanderson, and if they're all this good, I'm going to get every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Fantastic, fresh, gripping, deep, evoking...

    I love this novel. It is completely unlike anything that has been done before. Sanderson's ability to create new types of magic is just incredible. And then he uses it to help the characters grow and develop and it is wonderful. I had definitely been in a reading slump, all the fantasy novels started to feel the same and then I picked up Elantris... I couldn't put it down. I was drawn into the intrigue and depth. I rarely knew exactly what was coming next. Sometimes I'd have a good idea, and he sets it up well to give the right hints, letting the reader think and then realize it had been set up perfectly. I really cannot recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great Book!

    Compelling characters, Rich and Dynamic world, Page-turning story. I've now read several Brandon Sanderson novels/series and I can honestly say I LOVE Elantris. It's a stand-alone and is a great quick read for me. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes Fantasy, anyone who likes good fiction and anyone interested in reading Brandon Sanderson. The only problem I had was that I didn't want to haul around my hard copy for when the impulse to read it struck. Problem solved! I now own it on Nook as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Amazing

    One of the best books I have ever read in this genre

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Amazing!!

    I went into this book expecting it to be good and was not disappointed! Masterfully written this book kept me spellbound till the last amazing page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Awesome

    A great read. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Bailee Rae

    Best book eva

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Would love to see this as a series!

    Would love to see this as a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Luvs it!

    I honestly did not see how this would be resolved til it was. Great read and inspiring optimism amid what would be certain dispair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    !

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    One of my new favorite authors

    Love his writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    amazing ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Best book ever

    This is one of the best books i have ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Superb

    I loved the writing style and magic system. The author does a great job with Sarene's character and with weaving a romance into a well structured plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13