Customer Reviews for

The Elder Gods (Dreamers Series #1)

Average Rating 3
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Agree and Disagree

I've also read all of David Eddings book, well exept the sci-fi ones. I'm a fantasy lover to the core and read very few I didn't like. I'll admit I only picked this one up because of who wrote it, but I enjoyed it all the same. I myself have to disagree with anyone who ...
I've also read all of David Eddings book, well exept the sci-fi ones. I'm a fantasy lover to the core and read very few I didn't like. I'll admit I only picked this one up because of who wrote it, but I enjoyed it all the same. I myself have to disagree with anyone who says it's not original. I found it refreshing both for fantasy and Eddings. I will agree that it lacked detail, but I've always been one to take things simple before complication. After all I only made it to book 5 of the Wheel of Time before both the romantic plot and the detail started to give me a foul taste in my mouth. And from what I've heard and read, it only got worse on both counts. I think anyone who is a true fantasy lover understands that all fantasy simply brakes down to the battle of good and evil. And the road an author takes you on can't always be original, but can be interesting nun the less. Eddings takes us into a world seen throw the eyes of gods. I believe that alone is a huge start to originality. And while the gods aren't all powerfull, as one would expect gods to be, and there need for human help to defeat a common enemy is typical Eddings, it didn't make the book any less enjoyable for me. I look foward to reading the next three books and any other fantasy series Eddings comes out with.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What were they thinking?

I love all of David Eddings other books and series and have read and reread them many times, but this book was horrible. I read this one and part of the second but could not go on. Horrible characters, horrible story line which was hard to follow and even harder to ge...
I love all of David Eddings other books and series and have read and reread them many times, but this book was horrible. I read this one and part of the second but could not go on. Horrible characters, horrible story line which was hard to follow and even harder to get into. Please write something approaching the level of the Belgariad or Mallorean those series were awesome. David eddings is one of my favorite authors, but if I had found this series first I would never have read the others. If you haven't read his other series, you really should. Don't give up on the author just because of this horrible series.

posted by 1480650 on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What were they thinking?

    I love all of David Eddings other books and series and have read and reread them many times, but this book was horrible. I read this one and part of the second but could not go on. Horrible characters, horrible story line which was hard to follow and even harder to get into. Please write something approaching the level of the Belgariad or Mallorean those series were awesome. David eddings is one of my favorite authors, but if I had found this series first I would never have read the others. If you haven't read his other series, you really should. Don't give up on the author just because of this horrible series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Pretty good

    I enjoyed this one the best out of the series is not as good as the Belgariad or the Mallorean

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Belgariad much better.

    Not happy with this book. I love David and Leigh's other books, but this is just bad. The Belgariad should be on the list of their books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Agree and Disagree

    I've also read all of David Eddings book, well exept the sci-fi ones. I'm a fantasy lover to the core and read very few I didn't like. I'll admit I only picked this one up because of who wrote it, but I enjoyed it all the same. I myself have to disagree with anyone who says it's not original. I found it refreshing both for fantasy and Eddings. I will agree that it lacked detail, but I've always been one to take things simple before complication. After all I only made it to book 5 of the Wheel of Time before both the romantic plot and the detail started to give me a foul taste in my mouth. And from what I've heard and read, it only got worse on both counts. I think anyone who is a true fantasy lover understands that all fantasy simply brakes down to the battle of good and evil. And the road an author takes you on can't always be original, but can be interesting nun the less. Eddings takes us into a world seen throw the eyes of gods. I believe that alone is a huge start to originality. And while the gods aren't all powerfull, as one would expect gods to be, and there need for human help to defeat a common enemy is typical Eddings, it didn't make the book any less enjoyable for me. I look foward to reading the next three books and any other fantasy series Eddings comes out with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    It's a travesty that this schlock is the only available David Ed

    It's a travesty that this schlock is the only available David Eddings series for the Nook. By the time he got around to writing this, he or Leigh were clearly just regurgitating clichéd lines from the superior earlier works. If I had to read the line "He's such I nice boy!" one more freaking time, I was going to projectile vomit.
    I stopped reading this series after the second book, so I don't know how it ends. What's more, I don't really care. The first two books were awful enough without having to subject my brain to more tired, trite and clichéd junk penned by author's who were clearly on auto-pilot. B&N, PLEASE put the Belgariad and the Mallorean, the Elenium and the Tamuli out in Nook format so we readers can have the books that made Eddings deservedly famous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Awful

    This book is just awful. I hate to leave a negative review, but in this case I can't express just how poorly written this book is. Shame on you D. Eddings, shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    No depth

    Not an intelligent series. Horrible dialog--inane jokes and banter. I could not 'immerse' myself in the story at all, way too shallow, and by the end of the series, you realize that it was all pointless. I'm a book lover and addict, so I didn't put the books down when I should have, which is around the first chapter. Sorry to be so harsh. Perhaps their other works are better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Poorly written, lacks dimension

    Poorly written work. Written in a very simplistic style. Characters are unidimensional and seem 'dummed-down'. Plot is limited. There is not as much character development or plot intrigue, nor even as much descriptive detail as other popular epic fantasy writers such as Terry Goodkind, Robert Jordan, or Anne McCaffrey, all of whom are much more satisfying reads. I regret that I paid money for this book and that I wasted time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Blast you, Eddings! :(

    This was a good thriller although there are slight familiarities from Eddings' other books. Not a lot and it didn't ruin the book... - If you like Eddings' books you will enjoy this. I say 'Blast you, Eddings!' because I was jumpin around enjoyin my book and then he just.. STOPPED IT!!! IT was an okay place to stop but it bugged me. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Wonderful

    This is yet another Eddings' classic, wide in scope and it accomplishes all of it. i consider Eddings better than Tolkein, and they never leave me wondering why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    been there, done that

    It seems as though we have met many of these characters before. Their interaction, way of speaking, and humor was much more entertaining the first time around. I found both books to be somewhat slow moving. They tend to backtrack in order to show how each character felt or reacted to what was going on at the time. I will read the rest of the story, but not until it is released in paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Similarites

    This book by Eddings is one of his better books, if you have read the Mallorean or Belgariad series. You will most def. see similarities between those series and this new one. If you haven't read the Mallorean or Belgariad, this is still a great book. I await the next book eagerly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Disappointed in FLA

    I have read and loved all of DE's books ...but I had to force myself to finish this one. A big disappointment after such a long wait. I intend to read the next in the series with hope that Eddings comes through in style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    High Expectations. Great Disappointment

    As a die-hard fan I was so VERY disappointed with the writing and character development. I felt like I was reading a book for a 4th grader with repeating dialogue and very few clever exchanges. Way too chatty. Almost as if they didn't have this first of four fully thought out and were only using it to introduce character. I fault the editors as well as the writers. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A good read

    Will not Disappoint any fan of David Eddings, can't wait to read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Not up to par

    I really like Eddings but this book was not at all up to the level of the Belgariad or the Mallorean. I wanted to like it but just couldn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    It's great!!!!!!!!!!

    It's great!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Disappointing

    I was very disappointed in this book. I loved the Belgariad, but The Elder Gods reads like a primer. I finally had to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Derivative of his own work, but could be worse

    If you're reading Edding's stuff for the first time, it's a good read. However, if you've read his other works, like the Belgariad and Tamuli series, then you notice that he applies the same formula in regards to plot, characters, and the story in general. In other words, the structure of the story is highly predictable -- it's just the names and particulars that change. I'm not saying that it's bad. It might be good to someone who read his stuff for the first time. I'm just saying that it's more of the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    An excellent book that fantasy fans will enjoy.

    David and Leigh Eddings take you on a wonderful adventure though the Land of Dhrall in 'The Elder Gods'. The characters are very easy to relate to and the plot is original. I strongly recommend this book for all fantasy readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4