Customer Reviews for

Elder Rage, or Take My Father... Please! How to Survive Caring for Aging Parents

Average Rating 5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(253)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Best Book on Dementia!

Seeing someone you love go through the trauma of dementia is a confusing and frightening experience. When my mother was first diagnosed with dementia, I soon realized that I knew next to nothing about this very serious illness. I began searching for books about dement...
Seeing someone you love go through the trauma of dementia is a confusing and frightening experience. When my mother was first diagnosed with dementia, I soon realized that I knew next to nothing about this very serious illness. I began searching for books about dementia, in order to gain a better understanding of the disease, and found many excellent resources. However, even after having read many books and articles, I was still feeling lost and unable to fully comprehend the complexity of the personality and behavioral changes that I had been witnessing personally. When I first learned of the book "Elder Rage", it was the title that hit a familiar note for me, with its emphasis on one of the key issues of the disease - RAGE!
As I read page after page of "Elder Rage", I began to feel less alone and confused. Finally, I had found the most detailed and forthright account of the nightmarish effects of dementia that I had come across so far! The story is told in a way that is so honest, open, personal, and revealing, that you feel like you are right there with the author sharing the experience. She also includes guidance for caregivers, and detailed steps to be taken when you are coping with all of the complexities of helping someone with dementia. This book is the most complete and helpful resource that I have come across so far, and I am deeply grateful to the author for sharing her experience!

posted by 1276150 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Immature perceptions

Little intellectual, emotional or literary depth to this book.

posted by 11469617 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Best Book on Dementia!

    Seeing someone you love go through the trauma of dementia is a confusing and frightening experience. When my mother was first diagnosed with dementia, I soon realized that I knew next to nothing about this very serious illness. I began searching for books about dementia, in order to gain a better understanding of the disease, and found many excellent resources. However, even after having read many books and articles, I was still feeling lost and unable to fully comprehend the complexity of the personality and behavioral changes that I had been witnessing personally. When I first learned of the book "Elder Rage", it was the title that hit a familiar note for me, with its emphasis on one of the key issues of the disease - RAGE!
    As I read page after page of "Elder Rage", I began to feel less alone and confused. Finally, I had found the most detailed and forthright account of the nightmarish effects of dementia that I had come across so far! The story is told in a way that is so honest, open, personal, and revealing, that you feel like you are right there with the author sharing the experience. She also includes guidance for caregivers, and detailed steps to be taken when you are coping with all of the complexities of helping someone with dementia. This book is the most complete and helpful resource that I have come across so far, and I am deeply grateful to the author for sharing her experience!

    27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    Read this one

    What a relief to have a laugh while trying to deal with this often depressing subject. The author uses funny stories to tell what she went through. While you are laughing you can relate to what she went through and get an important lesson at the same time. I have bought every guide know to mankind and I found this one to be the MOST HELPFUL and MOST HUMAN.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    If You Have Aging Parents- Read This Book NOW

    There are so many books on caring for elderly now, but this is the first one I have ever LOVED reading! The first two-thirds is this amazing true story that reads like a novel and you just can¿t put it down, and then when you do you keep thinking about the characters and just have to get back to it. It¿s exciting and poignant and then there¿s this unexpected witty humor woven in that keeps you laughing and then crying on the same page and you can¿t wait to see what she¿s going to say next! <BR/><BR/> <BR/>And then by being so fascinated by what¿s happening and getting so emotionally attached to Jacqueline and her parents and everyone, you suddenly realize you¿re absorbing all this important knowledge so fast and easily and that you¿ll never forget it, like we usually do when we read a boring text-type book. <BR/><BR/> Then, the last third is this Resource Section with answers to 25 of the most common eldercare and caregiving questions. And then this extensive Addendum on treating dementia by a Neurologist who is a Dementia Specialist, so I see how good it would be for doctors who aren¿t trained in dementia to read. Then she has all these other resources, on an on, just very extensive. No wonder she got so many celebrities and well-known healthcare professionals to endorse it. I couldn¿t believe that the first six pages are glowing quotes of praise from famous people, but now I see why, as they are very well deserved!<BR/><BR/> <BR/><BR/>Sue Haviland, Author of ¿The Senior Solution: Secrets to Maintaining Independence and Choice for Life¿, National Speaker and Reverse Mortgage Consultant: www.askSueHaviland.com, www.helpseniorsnow.com

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Making the Best of a Bad Situation

    Jaqueline Marcell is surely one of a kind. So many people who went through or who are going through only a part of what she went through with her father's Alzheimer's would have broken. Maybe if they had an extremely strong support system, they could have delt with her father's situation. She not only delt with it for over a year, but alone and in the process became an authority on caregiving to Alzheimer's patients. <BR/><BR/>Jaqueline's book Elder Rage, or Take My Father... Please!: How to Survive Caring for Aging Parents is surely a must read for anyone dealing in anyway with Alzheimer's. She covers all the hurdles that must be overcome through out the caregiving process. By reading her book and learning about these hurdles in advance, it truely makes the caregiving process endurable. I know from experience how important it is to be able to get the jump on problems that will surely arise from an Alzheimer's patient. <BR/><BR/>The humor Jaqueline injects into her book makes the learning process so much more enjoyable and tends to lighten the seriousness of it all. As serious as an Alzheimer's condition is anyway, the more often you can read or do something to keep yourself focused in a positive manner the better. Jaqueline's book definately does this. <BR/><BR/>I highly recommend Elder Rage by Jaqueline Marcell to anyone associated in any way with Alzheimer's, whether it be an Alzheimer's patient, caregiver, friend or family member. <BR/><BR/>Terry F. Townsend <BR/>Author, "Living Alone with Dementia-Alzheimer's" (How to Keep Your Loved One in Their Home as Long as Possible)

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Exceptional Read

    This book handles a rather difficult topic exceptionally well. She gives much needed insight to help others handle the many obstacles involved in the care of an aging loved one. I found it difficult to put down and extremely helpful in many ways. Give it a try, I think you'll love it too.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    A must read for caregiver and professional alike!

    Jacqueline's book is helpful and humorous, dealing with the timeless topic of caring for ones aging parents. As a case manager, I found the resources in the book to be invaluable. As a child of aging parents, I found the story heartwarming, uplifting, and affirming. The book was a real page-turner with a LOL funny storyline. A must read!

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    A Loving Advocate Makes All the Difference

    "As I read Elder Rage I felt like I was right there going through every unbelievable twist and turn with Jacqueline. Her incredible indefatigable humor and pop culture references often brought laugh-out-loud relief to situations you'd never expect! She also includes extensive valuable suggestions and resources to help caregivers navigate their situation. As the son of an Alzheimer's sufferer, I know so well that having a loving advocate like Jacqueline in the family can make all the difference in the world. Thank you, Jacqueline, for educating and sharing a piece of your heart!"
    --Dan Koffman, Author, "Simple Pleasures for Special Seniors Books" (for later stage dementia/Alzheimer's patients)

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Valuable Resource

    This book is a valuable resource to anyone who is caring for an elderly family member. While reading the often funny, always touching, occasionally horrifying memoir, I learned so much about caring for my aging mother. This is rich with advice, examples, and brilliance. Thank you, Jackie, for sharing your story with us. I will buy more copies and give them to my friends whose parents are approaching the age where they¿ll need some care. I am also now taking assessment of my own behaviors as I get older; I don¿t want any of my bad habits following me into my golden years! It is clear from your Jake Tales that these habits may become exaggerated as we get older and I don¿t want my kids to have to deal with me if I¿m going to be difficult

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2008

    Best Alzheimer's Book I Have Ever Read

    As a Caregiver Coordinator for the local Area Agency on Aging I read a lot of books concerning caregiving and Alzheiemer's disease. This is the best one I have ever read. The story is told with humor, but it is full of extremely helpful tips and education. A great book! I will recommend it to all of my caregivers!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Very helpful

    Gave encouragement to me when starting out caring for my dad. Learned a lot from a book that wasn't written in a 'textbook' format, but in a way anyone could read and enjoy while learning about the ups & downs.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    WOMEN'S STRENGTH

    The book is not for the squeamish, however I feel much stronger as a woman after having read Elder Rage. I am more ready to take some stands in making better decisions for myself--and am left wondering why it took me so long to see the light regarding my personal abilities. If this new feeling does not last, I may need another dose of Elder Rage to get me back on track. Although the book is her personal story, I found much everyday wisdom in it, so that even an individual who is not a caregiver can gain a completely new perspective on life.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    ELDER RAGE Saved My Sanity!

    Before I read Elder Rage I thought either I or my father had gone insane. This outstanding, unflinching account of the author's heartbreaking struggle with her out-of-control father showed me I wasn't crazy, nor was I alone in my struggle, and my father needed my help, compassion and most of all my prayers.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    I'm not giving birth

    When you give birth it is obvious and everyone wants to help and you have tons of books to read but when dementia hits you don't know the date, where to start, what to do, no one jumps in to help and you feel like you are concurring the west again. When you retire your family should be given this book so they know what the signs are and not just brush off as they are getting old. I wish i had this book 2 yrs ago when i jumped in feet first to tackle my in-laws.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Just the ticket!

    If nothing is to be feared, only understood, has this writer got the solution for you! With humor as the override, the writer takes you where few have dared to go. You'll find much that validates the worst of situations with difficult parents and even more that will keep you focused and winning the battles. A must-read for anyone questioning their sanity after dealing with hard-to-handle parents!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Now your parents need you!

    Your parents spend years taking care of you. Then one day you find out they can't do very much without you. This book is the authority on how to care for elder parents and leaves no stone unturned.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Been there, done that, she has too...

    This is one of the most outstanding books I can recommend about dealing with difficult elderly parents. Anyone can quote helpful suggestions, but reading this story is an eye-opening experience for a baby-boomer about to begin the wonderful world of 'taking care of my parents.' Sure, we can tell people there are gaps in the system, that they need to be prepared for...and this is how you might deal with.... but reading Jackie's experiences puts it in a human perspective. She makes you really care about her parents as human beings, and to root for her and her caregivers as they struggle to cope and find ways to deal with what seems to be an impossible situation. The informational sections at the end are sound, and quite helpful, but not as personal, engrossing and human. I can see this becoming a good movie, one you'd actually be able to tolerate watching, as good a love story as 'The Notebook,' but true. As someone who is caring for a elderly parent,I have bought copies of this book for everyone I know who is going through similar trials.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    Elder Rage is a large step forward into understanding roadblocks and struggles associated with doctors and care for an elderly person

    Elder Rage was my first exposure to some of the big differences between dealing with myself and dealing with my parents in the medical system. Most of us want to do our best and do whats right for our parents in the twilght of their lives. This book gave me some really good advice, so hopefully I will have an easier time with my parents (which I have).

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    The One Must-Have Book for Caregivers

    Elder Rage is a must-have book for all caregivers of elderly parents. Jacqueline Marcell's ability to keep her sanity through heart-breaking episodes of parental dementia and extreme frustration with professionals, will be of great help to everyone dealing with the elderly, not only their children but also professionals who interact with them. Written with great compassion and humor. If I had to choose just one book of all that I have read on this topic, this would be the one.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for anyone who has an aging parent

    I was given this book by a patient's daughter who is living with an aging parent. As a home care therapist, I thought Jacqueline's book was perfect in capturing the frustration associated with long term health care. I couldnt put it down once I started it and will recommend it to all my clients' families.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    This is a Life Changing Story

    I read this book on a whim, my mother had borrowed it from a friend of hers and when I saw it at Mom's house, I had to read it. However now that I've read it, I have to say it is a fantastic book. The author tells her very personal story of dealing with her elderly parents who both suffer from ill health and dementia. Her father particularly is combative at times which adds a twist tot he story that had me praying that Jackie would find a way to help all of them. I was able to relate to much of her story as it is told in a conversational tone and is easy to draw parallels between your situation and hers. I would recommend this book to absolutely everyone who is in a caregiver situation.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14