Customer Reviews for

Eldest (Inheritance Cycle Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1673)

4 Star

(515)

3 Star

(160)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

An unforgettable tale

I highly recommend this book! It's GREAT! I actually cried at one part... I loved Eragon, and I'm glad Eldest didn't let me down. I wish they'd continue producing the movies. The Eragon movie is what got me to read the books in the first place. Chris Paolini is an incre...
I highly recommend this book! It's GREAT! I actually cried at one part... I loved Eragon, and I'm glad Eldest didn't let me down. I wish they'd continue producing the movies. The Eragon movie is what got me to read the books in the first place. Chris Paolini is an incredible writer! I still can't believe these monstrous books, with their incredible characters, languages, lands, and creatures was created by a guy younger than me! I don't usually read these sorts of books, but I'm glad I did. It's been a nice change of pace in terms of reading material, and it's been an awesome adventure.

posted by VaBookworm on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was enjoyable but unoriginal in some factors...

This book bears many similarites to The Lord of the Rings, Dune and other such works, which dampen a reader's enjoyment of the work. And it is just not one or two-Aragorn vs. Eragon, Arya vs. Arwen. Elver is quite similar to the main character's younger sister in Dune...
This book bears many similarites to The Lord of the Rings, Dune and other such works, which dampen a reader's enjoyment of the work. And it is just not one or two-Aragorn vs. Eragon, Arya vs. Arwen. Elver is quite similar to the main character's younger sister in Dune, otherwise this book was okay

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very good.

    Good, but itcould use some improvements where Roran is concerned. But Eragon's story is fantastic, a wonderful sequel to the first book, Eragon. I really enjoy reading this and it kept me entertained for over 9 hoirs on a car trip. Even after reading it for so long, I still read before I went to bed that night.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My how the author has grown

    I read Eragon because everyone else had already read Eragon. It was a fun read, although I agree that you can see every fantasy classic mimiced within the pages. However, with Eldest, Paolini matures as a writer. Funny how his protagonist transforms into a Rider while the man behind the curtain gains his writing chops. Can't wait to read the final installment. (And if you like Paolini, you gotta try Lloyd Alexander. I've included the Prydain series with this review. They rock.)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Decent

    I've read the book it gets somewhat confusing but its still a good book. Its a must read if liked Eragon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Focus

    If you r the kind of reader who reads with out paying attention to the book u will get confused by the 2 plotlines
    J Ford

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Thanks Ashley

    Love this book. My friend Ashley who is also my teachers daughter reccomended Eragon to me anyone in their right mind would LOVE this book It just keeps getting better and better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love this series

    I could not put any of these books down! I finished the series in less than a week. This installment is probably the slowest of the 4 books, but it's still better than most books I've read. This book is classified as children's/teen, but I would say its for older or very well read teens since its tough to get through the extra languages and strange pronunciation. Overall a very solid piece!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book. I enjoyed this even more than the first book.

    I am fairly new to the fantasy genre and I have enjoyed the Eragon series very much. It's a long book but moves along very quickly and the characters are very well drawn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    A solid sequel, amorphous concepts

    This sequel in Paolini's trilogy is a much more solid story that has some interesting ideas, but few surprises. While the author successfully weaves this story together, a lot of the hero's endeavors seem to mirror those of the archetypicals in fantasy stories: boy is trained boy becomes hero hero is trained hero tries to fall in love cheesy conflict ensues...___(insert Lucas cliche next)It's an utter shame that Paolini fails to reveal Eragon as distinctively more mature, along with Saphira by the end of this story. However, the young writer once again manages to convey the conflicts and complexities of adolescent romance and stress. Many unfortunate lines dying to be tied off - much akin to a CIA scandal - are finally finished - while countless more are unveiled - and we eagerly are allowed to see more of Eragon's brother Roran as he begins the well-rehearsed role of 'leadership' in the town that is quickly becoming overrun with danger and fear. The parallels between these two characters is, apart from the pseudo-philosophical natterings of Eragon and his mentor Oromis, the most entertaining facet of this intricate novel. The hopelessness of his crush on Arya is laughably hilarious, and yet oddly relatable. I did feel a little guile and contempt when the life-threatening condition of Eragon was resolved in the usual cheap 'sacred magic' tactic most juvenile artists will use to fill in a blotchy problem. Add to this an unsurprising climax with Murtaugh and a few other flat unlikeables, and we have the botox injected into the surface of this story to pass on an incongruous skinrash of complacency. However, I commend Paolini for developing the characters of Nasuada and Roran - and mildy, Eragon - so efficiently. His story is very unconventional and yet, overly formulaic. Sometimes the grandeur defines the flaws, and sometimes the flaws define the grandeur, but they both mesh together to create an intriguing and much more focused work, worthy of some appraisal. Let's hope Eragon receives the greatest victory in his unending struggles... and a break from using that cheesy 'ancient' language. 8-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Good...

    But i think eragon was better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    To rex

    Either find a way to make it work or dont talk to me wich one. Oh and onother thing are u lying or being a coward about not signing up. I dont understand why its not working. Mabe it wil work if u acktrolly type to the Master not just say your trying to type to Him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Love it.

    Love this series. No matter how many times I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    I grew up reading Christopher Paolini. Eragon was so whimsical a

    I grew up reading Christopher Paolini. Eragon was so whimsical and endearing that you followed it along eagerly until the end. But, as many people will tell you, it reads like it was written by a fifteen year old, as Christopher was when he write Eragon. In eldest, we see a noticable change in his writing style, We see Eragon grow up a little bit more as a person and see him grow into his power as Dragon Rider. The story is so fantastic and fascinating, and Christopher keeps you reading until the end. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Very good

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Interesting

    This is the 2nd in the 4 book series. Like the Harry Potter books, this 2nd book focuses more on story and character development instead of fully being it's own story. I found it interesting as I, as many of you, first was introduced by way of the movie and not by starting with the books. The books are completely different and more interesting. In this cycle, Eragon really becomes a Rider and his relationship with Arya is better explained. In it, Roran (his cousin) returns and becomes a principle character whereas in the first, he leaves early on and is only mentioned. A most recommended continuation in a very well done series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Wonderful writing

    This is my personal favorite of Paolini's books, despite the cliches and occasional tangents. Paolini's writing is excellent in this book, the second installment in the Inheritance Cycle, and he has time to delve into character and plot development a bit more than in the previous book. Relationships between characters are further developed and, despite the cliches, I gained a better understanding of Paolini's plot through his time spent on character development. This book is long, perhaps too long, but it is a fast read. If you want a fun, easy summer read, this could be it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    yo number 105.

    EST TOI B¿TE OU QUOI?!?!
    Oops:l sorry my french again.
    ARE YOU CRAZY OR WHAT?!?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Message to: Anonymous on March 1, 2012

    Hey you! If you think that this book sucks you suck more. THIS BOOK IS A M A Z I N G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Amazing book so far

    I have been reading this book for about a week now, and it's pretty interesting. At some parts it can be boring, but after I read them over again, it doesn't seem as boring. Keep it up Paolini!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome book!

    You don't find many good books to read like this one. It has a great plot, an interesting twist, and it's just unique. Readers of all other ages will love this book for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Must read

    Action packed continuation of the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26