BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eldest (Inheritance Cycle Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1664)

4 Star

(513)

3 Star

(160)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

An unforgettable tale

I highly recommend this book! It's GREAT! I actually cried at one part... I loved Eragon, and I'm glad Eldest didn't let me down. I wish they'd continue producing the movies. The Eragon movie is what got me to read the books in the first place. Chris Paolini is an incre...
I highly recommend this book! It's GREAT! I actually cried at one part... I loved Eragon, and I'm glad Eldest didn't let me down. I wish they'd continue producing the movies. The Eragon movie is what got me to read the books in the first place. Chris Paolini is an incredible writer! I still can't believe these monstrous books, with their incredible characters, languages, lands, and creatures was created by a guy younger than me! I don't usually read these sorts of books, but I'm glad I did. It's been a nice change of pace in terms of reading material, and it's been an awesome adventure.

posted by VaBookworm on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was enjoyable but unoriginal in some factors...

This book bears many similarites to The Lord of the Rings, Dune and other such works, which dampen a reader's enjoyment of the work. And it is just not one or two-Aragorn vs. Eragon, Arya vs. Arwen. Elver is quite similar to the main character's younger sister in Dune...
This book bears many similarites to The Lord of the Rings, Dune and other such works, which dampen a reader's enjoyment of the work. And it is just not one or two-Aragorn vs. Eragon, Arya vs. Arwen. Elver is quite similar to the main character's younger sister in Dune, otherwise this book was okay

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1664 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 84
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An unforgettable tale

    I highly recommend this book! It's GREAT! I actually cried at one part... I loved Eragon, and I'm glad Eldest didn't let me down. I wish they'd continue producing the movies. The Eragon movie is what got me to read the books in the first place. Chris Paolini is an incredible writer! I still can't believe these monstrous books, with their incredible characters, languages, lands, and creatures was created by a guy younger than me! I don't usually read these sorts of books, but I'm glad I did. It's been a nice change of pace in terms of reading material, and it's been an awesome adventure.

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    On the recommendation of a young friend...

    ...I read Eragon. I was hooked so I had to read this one too. Then of course I just couldn't wait to read the next. I really am enjoying this series and am looking forward to the conclusion book. This is my idea of escapism. You find yourself pulled into the story and loving or hating the characters as they appeal to you. I would recommend this not just to young adults but to older readers as well.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Eldest- Must Read

    I have read many books in my time, and Eldest, along with the other books in the Eragon series are some of the best i have seen in a long time. If you like fantasty, adventure, and a hint of love stories, you will love this book!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great theme/story. Love it

    Great theme/story. Love it

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I have reread this book several times! Enjoy it alot! Characters are well made and allow you to really get into the story!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    This book was an amazing follow up of Eragon! As with Eragon, it was thrilling and action packed which keeps the reader on the edge of their seat and unable to put the book down. I would (and have) suggest this series to anyone and everyone because it is perfect for anyone who can read at this level! I can't wait to see what Paolini comes out with next, heres hoping for more stories from Alagaesia!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Best book ever

    Hello i recommend this book to you i am only 10 and i love this book. Good byye Harry Potter fans! :D

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Genius

    Great book. Hope Paolini goes on to do great things.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Sweet!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!! !! !!

    Awsome book!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing read

    I wasn't expecting to like this series so much! What a pleasant surprise! I had been reading some really good series' lately and didn't think anything could top them but Christopher Paolini has done an amazing job with this series. I feel like the characters are like old friends. I would highly recommend this book (and series) to everyone!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Love it

    Love it

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Sequel to Eragon!

    This book just picked off where Eragon left off and kept going... As always I love this book and it is just as good if not better as Eragon. Great twist at the end that you dont see coming! If you liked Eragon then definitly take the time to read this sequel!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Review for the book Eldest

    Eldest is a great book and I would recommend it to anyone of my friends. The whole Inheritance Cycle is very good. I have just started to read Brisingr and I like it very much. Eldest has action, fantasy, and suspense just like Eragon which is a good book also. Kids will love this book and so will parents.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Inheritance vs. Heroes of Olympus

    Can't decide which is better, Inheritance Cycle or Heroes of Olympus.


    Click yes if you like both and want minecraft pe for nook!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I loved this book so much i think i cried when it was over! I could not believe the ending!!! You have to read this! No matter how old u are! Read it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Eldest-love the second book!

    My son talked me into starting the series and I thought it would be too geared to young people for me to enjoy, but then I thought that about Harry Potter books too.

    Love the atmosphere, the scenery, and the depth of characters. Makes me feel like I'm there.

    I'm currently reading Brisingr and haven't regretted any money spent on these ebooks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Third book is "Brisingr"

    The forth one is out too

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Hi

    This is an amazing book! It is the second book, so if you haven't read the book Eragon, read that first. Eldest is about Eragons training in a city calledElsmera. The middle is a bit boring, but once you get past that part the end is SUPER exiting! You learn secrets and if you love fantacy and love action, this is the book for you! READ THIS BOOK!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    To all spolier people

    You annoy me. Now when i find out while i'm Reading, it will take all the surprise out. A$sholes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Awesomeness

    This series is the best! I love eragon and saphira XD
    :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1664 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 84