Customer Reviews for

Eleanor & Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 389 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

I have no words that will do this book justice. This book is per

I have no words that will do this book justice. This book is perfect in every way, from the imperfect and fractured characters, the 1986 setting, the mixtapes, walkmans, and lack of mobiles, to the raw emotional journey it took us through Eleanor and Park; two teenagers...
I have no words that will do this book justice. This book is perfect in every way, from the imperfect and fractured characters, the 1986 setting, the mixtapes, walkmans, and lack of mobiles, to the raw emotional journey it took us through Eleanor and Park; two teenagers who can't seem to find a place that they belong to, an identity they could proudly call their own, a "someone" they could turn to for help, for love, for friendship.. until they met each other. This book is so powerful. I read it in a couple of hours and I couldn't put it down. The two POVs, switching between Eleanor and Park, gave the readers more insight on what each side is feeling, thinking, and wishing. Something we don't usually witness. These characters were layered, had flaws, faults, and a history that would bring the readers emotional pain, allow them to connect with the characters, and root for them to get together, stay together, and be whoever they wanted and needed to be. 
Rainbow Rowell's gift in writing should not be overlooked. She was able to create such an eloquent novel from a simple setting, Eleanor and Park sitting in the bus on the same chair. That is how they met, that is when we see them together for over 100 pages.. they barely talk, they barely communicate, heck, Eleanor calls him "the stupid asian kid" while Park is just trying to pretend she doesn't exist. Eleanor isn't the stick thin girl, no she is not obese, but she still has baby fat and people make fun of her, for that and her outrageous sense of style and bright red hair. They call her "Big Red". However Eleanor ignores them, for the most part, and tries to not let them get to her. However after she and Park started talking, communicating, and getting to know each other, the bullying took a step back. Yes bullying was still a part of the novel, but me as a reader lived for the moments that Eleanor & Park met because I believed they were the most gratingly honest and through them you just couldn't help but fall in love with them. 
The story is more than a love story, it also includes an abusive relationship, Eleanor's mother and her step father; How I loathed him. I also did not have any happy thoughts towards Eleanor's mother. She has 4 small children, excluding Eleanor, and she still stays in that abusive relationship, stays with the man that kicked Eleanor out of the house for a full year. There is honestly so much family issues and all of them are so realistic which is why they all hit me hard, because many people suffer from being tied to such abusive relationships, and children being the helpless victims to that. I have to say though, I loved Park's family, he is half korean, and his dad loves his mom, so glaringly obvious that it really gives the readers a clear contrast between both families. I would have to say that every single young adult reader must pick this book. Whether they enjoy contemporary or not, this book is not one to miss. I am definitely going to be getting and cherishing a copy when it is out. Rowell, you officially made me a die hard fan. 

posted by majibookshelf on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I don't regret reading the book, it was really sweet. The only t

I don't regret reading the book, it was really sweet. The only thing is that I wish there was more conflict. The characters were well developed, I kept hoping that something more would happen. Nothing much happened... 

posted by Alli_Browni on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have no words that will do this book justice. This book is per

    I have no words that will do this book justice. This book is perfect in every way, from the imperfect and fractured characters, the 1986 setting, the mixtapes, walkmans, and lack of mobiles, to the raw emotional journey it took us through Eleanor and Park; two teenagers who can't seem to find a place that they belong to, an identity they could proudly call their own, a "someone" they could turn to for help, for love, for friendship.. until they met each other. This book is so powerful. I read it in a couple of hours and I couldn't put it down. The two POVs, switching between Eleanor and Park, gave the readers more insight on what each side is feeling, thinking, and wishing. Something we don't usually witness. These characters were layered, had flaws, faults, and a history that would bring the readers emotional pain, allow them to connect with the characters, and root for them to get together, stay together, and be whoever they wanted and needed to be. 
    Rainbow Rowell's gift in writing should not be overlooked. She was able to create such an eloquent novel from a simple setting, Eleanor and Park sitting in the bus on the same chair. That is how they met, that is when we see them together for over 100 pages.. they barely talk, they barely communicate, heck, Eleanor calls him "the stupid asian kid" while Park is just trying to pretend she doesn't exist. Eleanor isn't the stick thin girl, no she is not obese, but she still has baby fat and people make fun of her, for that and her outrageous sense of style and bright red hair. They call her "Big Red". However Eleanor ignores them, for the most part, and tries to not let them get to her. However after she and Park started talking, communicating, and getting to know each other, the bullying took a step back. Yes bullying was still a part of the novel, but me as a reader lived for the moments that Eleanor & Park met because I believed they were the most gratingly honest and through them you just couldn't help but fall in love with them. 
    The story is more than a love story, it also includes an abusive relationship, Eleanor's mother and her step father; How I loathed him. I also did not have any happy thoughts towards Eleanor's mother. She has 4 small children, excluding Eleanor, and she still stays in that abusive relationship, stays with the man that kicked Eleanor out of the house for a full year. There is honestly so much family issues and all of them are so realistic which is why they all hit me hard, because many people suffer from being tied to such abusive relationships, and children being the helpless victims to that. I have to say though, I loved Park's family, he is half korean, and his dad loves his mom, so glaringly obvious that it really gives the readers a clear contrast between both families. I would have to say that every single young adult reader must pick this book. Whether they enjoy contemporary or not, this book is not one to miss. I am definitely going to be getting and cherishing a copy when it is out. Rowell, you officially made me a die hard fan. 

    50 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    This is just...

    Know what? Forget it. I can't do this book justice with just 3385 characters remaining. It's inevitably impossible.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Meeting on the school bus where Park offers Eleanor his seat whe

    Meeting on the school bus where Park offers Eleanor his seat when no one else will give up theirs. They soon bond over comic books and music and start hanging out with each other. 


    Eleanor and Park come from two different backgrounds.

    Park for the most part is okay with who he is, he does not want a lot of attention, but he does want to be accepted.


    Eleanor’s fiery red hair matches her feisty personality. She comes from a poor family, never having enough or the things that she really needs. Her father is horrible, her mom just accepts things for the way they are and does not try to protect Eleanor and her siblings or try to make their lives better. No matter what she goes through, she hangs in there. She is a tough cookie.


    The story is told from alternating points of view, which helped to get to know Park and Eleanor better. I love stories told this way.


    What I liked:
    These two could not have been more different. I liked that even though they were; they took a chance with each other, found things in common, and shared a connection. They were friends who fell in love with each other. It was a sweet, yet emotional ride.


    Final thoughts:
    Reading Eleanor and Park brought back memories of what it was like to fall in love at a young age; the warm fuzzy feelings and the bittersweet moments as well. It is a super cute coming of age story that I instantly fell in love with.


    ** I received this book from St. Martin’s Press in exchange for nothing, but my honest review. Thank you!** 

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Aww...

    I didn't want it to end.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    This book was great.

    Despite all of the swearing throught the book, it is far most my new favorite book. I spent all night reading it. I could not put it down. As a 14 year old, i consitered this a teen-friendly book.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Ending made me so mad!

    Loved it until the ending hated it

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    I don't regret reading the book, it was really sweet. The only t

    I don't regret reading the book, it was really sweet. The only thing is that I wish there was more conflict. The characters were well developed, I kept hoping that something more would happen. Nothing much happened... 

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great story of friendship turned to first love

    I read this novel in one day. Very quick read, as in I just had to find out what happens to the main characters. I couldn't put the book down. At points it had me reflecting on my own first love; I found myself both smiling and crying a long with the characters. The only down fall I see with the electronic version is that there are a few grammatical errors throughout the novel. I am going to buy the real book and hoping those errors are not in the hard copy.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Just read it.

    A love story to defeat all love stories. This is perfection.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    This book is absolutely perfect, there are no words to describe

    This book is absolutely perfect, there are no words to describe how perfect. I'm pretty sure I fell in love with Park. Their journey is pure genius and their love is legendary. Romance novels about young love is my favorite genre, but this hit it out of the park (no pun intended). It's very real and raw, it makes you want to believe in true love. I have nothing but good things to say about this book, I  recommend this book 100%.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I've been afraid to read books after reading The Fault In Our St

    I've been afraid to read books after reading The Fault In Our Stars because I felt like in my eyes nothing could compare. I saw that John Green,the author or TFIOS reviewed it so I thoughts why not! I am so very happy I bought this book. In just two days I finished the book and suffered post book depression! I immediately fell in love with almost all of the characters, even Parks parents! I recommend this to anyone who wants a good teen romance novel. The book has so many cute moments in it that made me smile for what seemed like forever, and tragic moments that made me put the book against my chest as if I were hugging the characters to comfort them. I love this book and didn't want it to end at all!! Rainbow did an amazing job!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    READ THIS BOOK

    READ THIS BOOK. Do not worry that you find it in the YA section of the book store and you aren't young anymore. Once you were. Once you were in love for the first time. Once you felt like you didn't belong. Once you finally felt like you had found your place in the world and you messed it up royally. Once adults failed you. Once adults saved you. Once you saved yourself. Once you were completely and wholly true to yourself. Once you read a book that reminded you of all those things. At least you did if you read Eleanor & Park. Read this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Unsatisfying, rushed ending

    It was a great story until the end when it seems like Powell just literally gives up on the story. Disappointing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    I only finished this book because I have a thing against startin

    I only finished this book because I have a thing against starting a book and not finishing it, but there were so many times when I wanted to throw this book at the wall. There was no conflict, there was no point, and there was no conclusion. Furthermore, I personally thought the ending was horrible and left me pissed off more than anything, and the characters were really bizarre. Boring and weird sums it up.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was WAY better than what I expected.

    It was WAY better than what I expected.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I read this based on a recommendation by one of my favorite authors, John Green, and he did not steer me wrong. It's an adorable story of young love.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    I am not sure why all the rating for this novel are above averag

    I am not sure why all the rating for this novel are above average. This book is ok, quick read not  a page turning spectacular story.  Disappointed in Barnes and Noble for promoting so many books that are just mediocre. 

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    very cute!

    a perfect summer read. I read it in a day. the book had tears rolling down my face. it brings you back to your first "love" in school.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Buy this!! Best book ever.

    This book was filled with amazing description, dialogue, plot, everything. Its not a cheesy romance; it actually depicts a realistic and believable love that just makes you delve into this sweet romance even more. Rowell did an exceptional job creating this star crossed, perfect-in-all-the-right-and-wrong-ways romace novel. I loved it and so will you.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    If perfection was a book, this would be it. It has the broken, t

    If perfection was a book, this would be it. It has the broken, tough-faced characters reflecting teenagers in real life with a retro twist and abundance of mix tapes and comic books. Definitely one of, if not the, best books I have ever read. I very literally read this in three hours. I couldn't put it down. The love of Eleanor & Park is the kind of love that makes your chest squeeze up in an uncomfortable yet not unwanted kind of way. It isn't your typical teenage love story, but it's about five thousands time better like that. I loved it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20