Customer Reviews for

Elegance

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A truly elegant book!

The book's cover and black edging initially caught my eye. I then read the 'blurb' and decided that it might be an intersting read. Started reading it (while cooking supper!) the same day thinking I would just read leisurely; but I ended up finishing it in no time at a...
The book's cover and black edging initially caught my eye. I then read the 'blurb' and decided that it might be an intersting read. Started reading it (while cooking supper!) the same day thinking I would just read leisurely; but I ended up finishing it in no time at all. Was very glad I bought it as it turned out to be a deceptively simple book that leaves you with warm and happy feelings in the end. Would write more praise about this book but am obviously not a writer so can't adequately express how wonderful this book is! Will definitely be on the lookout for her next one...hope I don't have to wait too long.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tends to meander

Starts off strong but quickly begins to drift. A lot of time wasted on characters and scenarios that don't pay off or come to any interesting conclusion. The protagonist is unsympathetic -- her problems are all self-created. She doesn't seem to grow or change, even t...
Starts off strong but quickly begins to drift. A lot of time wasted on characters and scenarios that don't pay off or come to any interesting conclusion. The protagonist is unsympathetic -- her problems are all self-created. She doesn't seem to grow or change, even though that is supposedly the point of the story. Interesting idea, but not skillfully written.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    A truly elegant book!

    The book's cover and black edging initially caught my eye. I then read the 'blurb' and decided that it might be an intersting read. Started reading it (while cooking supper!) the same day thinking I would just read leisurely; but I ended up finishing it in no time at all. Was very glad I bought it as it turned out to be a deceptively simple book that leaves you with warm and happy feelings in the end. Would write more praise about this book but am obviously not a writer so can't adequately express how wonderful this book is! Will definitely be on the lookout for her next one...hope I don't have to wait too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    Smart, subtle and witty

    What a happy find! Amidst all the Bridget Jones rip-offs that try too hard and give us no one of interest, this book stands apart as a well-written, intelligent, thoughtful work. The protagonist is beautifully drawn, and the reader is with her for every step and every emotion of her journey. It's a wonderful thing when the contents of a book are as marvelous as its cover! (I liked this book so much, I got a copy of The Guide to Elegance by Madame Dariaux, which inspired this novel -- in fact, I'm giving copies of Elegance and The Guide as a pair for Christmas gifts to my girlfriends!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Elegance from Cover to Cover!

    Frome the front cover to the very last page, is a book well written and stylishly put together. I was consistantly wraped in the main character's journey to elegance through her life, friends, and lessons learned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Tends to meander

    Starts off strong but quickly begins to drift. A lot of time wasted on characters and scenarios that don't pay off or come to any interesting conclusion. The protagonist is unsympathetic -- her problems are all self-created. She doesn't seem to grow or change, even though that is supposedly the point of the story. Interesting idea, but not skillfully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Louise's journey to elegance is cleverly written

    Enjoyed the combination of the book inside a book. Found much of Madame Dariaux's "Elegance" book excerpts to be quite entertaining, as a look back at women's etiquette but almost as fascinating is how the rules still currently apply.
    It's interesting to think which story enabled the other. Was it the hope of grace and sophistication that the book "Elegance" promised or was it Louis's determination in making a change in her boring, unhappy, empty marriage life?
    I really enjoy Kathleen's witty, clever and sarcastic writing style following Louise as she fumbles and fails as she awkwardly finds her path to inner elegance through her divorce, friendships, dating and self-revelation. A very fun, clever and realistic read.
    xoxo_leigh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In Search of Elegance

    I was trying to find the actual book, but, in the end, I could only find the audio book, which may have hindered me from fully appreciating the novel the way it deserves. So I will write what I was able to gather, and I will suggest to readers that they read the actual book, because there is something to be said about the feel of pages between hands, the smell of paper, the experience of reading as well as the process of it. I found that Louise was very easy to relate to and indeed to have empathy for. Her life was a bit messy and complex, and we follow her as she stumbles through a simple guide to elegance. Although somewhat crude at times, the book nicely portrayed the common mistakes that many people make in fashion and in romance. I especially liked the quotes from Madame Dariaux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    One of my favorites

    Some classic references to amazing attire tied with a beautiful bow of a modern dance cinderella story told backwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Loved it!

    To be honest, my friend lent this book to me and, a 'cover girl' who usually sticks to historical romances, I was hesitant to read a book titled ELEGANCE with a wispy model-type figure on a black & white cover. I can't even tell you how long I avoided starting this book--it sitting on my nightstand table for months--but once I did, I was SO happily surprised (and feeling a little bit guilty at mistrusting my friend's judgement). I loved it! I know both myself and many of my friends have 'been' Louise many a time--and relating to her, I often found myself cringing in sympathy or laughing out loud at the everyday horrors of Louise's imperfect/normal life. A quick, light-hearted read, I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    A witty and enchanting modern fairy tale.

    What a delight of a book! An interesting, three-dimensional heroine and a supporting cast of charming minor characters. A true feel-good treat. Fans of 'What Not to Wear' and 'America's Next Top Model' will adore this frothy tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    RUBBISH!

    As a fan of chick lit and especially those novels that invoke the glamour of a more gracious time, I was excited about this book. Unfortunately the somewhat charming beginning evolves into a horrible, self-pitying, vulgar diatribe by the whining narrator who is so very preoccupied with her 'shocking' dark past. Neither truly romantic nor truly modern, the moral of the story is: This is a tale, truly told by an idiot, lacking in any kind of sophistication or intelligence.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Great summertime read

    A great summertime book. Its funny how a 'how to book' can have an influence on people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    A Fun, Funny, and Smart Read-what else do you need?

    I had read good things about this book and wasn't disappointed. I enjoyed it throughtly. Yes, some of the advice is dated-isn't that part of the fun. Overall, I laughted and delighted in the evolution into swan of the ugly duckling heroine. What is surprising is that that old silly advice really does still resonate. LOVED IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Starts strong... ends flat.

    I thought this was a very unique idea for a book, but the author lost me half way though. I loved the excerpts from the old book about 'elegance', but it seemed like this chick had every cliche' problem on earth! Suddenly in one chapter, out of the blue, you find out she has an eating disorder. What? At the beginning of the book the girl was fat! Plus, I was soooo sick of hearing her whine about stupid things. (oh, boo-hoo, she has to go to Ascot) It's not a completely bad book, but it could have been much better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Not Elegant in 2003

    If you think that you will get some advice from this book on being elegant then save your money, or better yet, your effort. The book lures you in very well in the beginning with well written instructions but wanes down dramatically when it passes the 200 page mark, too far to stop. The antiquated ways of elegance explained in this book are downright tacky, corny, simply unacceptable in this day and age. It is of no surprise that the main character ends up with someone who could care less about her clothes, or Wellingtons! Yes, this book is about being English, and acting English although the desperately seeking elegance gal is American, interesting right.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1