BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Elegant Gathering of White Snows

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

How many times have you just wanted to keep walking...

For any woman who has ever just wanted to walk out the door and not come back...or wanted to just keep driving past the city limits sign...for any who have just been FED UP with the system, their lives...

I think that Kris Radish gives us memorable scenerios, strong ...
For any woman who has ever just wanted to walk out the door and not come back...or wanted to just keep driving past the city limits sign...for any who have just been FED UP with the system, their lives...

I think that Kris Radish gives us memorable scenerios, strong women, and a touch of fantasy-that-could-be reality...if you crossed your fingers and whistled in the dark...

I have enjoyed all of her books and look forward to the one or two that I have yet to read.

posted by zee12 on April 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It feels like two people wrote this book

This book alternates between beautifully-written stories of life, love, and loss and what feels like sappy, saccharine-coated slop. Too many underdeveloped characters not only make the narrative hard to follow, but kept me from ever really caring about any of these wome...
This book alternates between beautifully-written stories of life, love, and loss and what feels like sappy, saccharine-coated slop. Too many underdeveloped characters not only make the narrative hard to follow, but kept me from ever really caring about any of these women. The leaps from women walking to the 'miracles' that ripple from them are just too ridiculous to be believed (as someone pointed out, the cop suddenly seized with a desire to see his mother is just thrown at us with little development and no believability). Unfortunately, lovely, shining moments of Radish's prose were all too soon forgotten as my irritation mounted at the 'love-fest' scenes. Women (both lesbian and straight) can and do feel tremendous love for each other, but most of us would be too embarrassed to gush on about it in the ways Radish does. The biggest problem with this book is that it could have used a strong editor to weed out the slop from the gold. The best thing about the book is the inclusion of the opening chapter of Radish's next book, Dancing Naked at the Edge of Dawn. From this brief glance, it appears that Radish may have reined in some of her earlier silly exuberance, and that the characters (or at least the main character) may actually develop in some thoughful and measured way. One can only hope.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    How many times have you just wanted to keep walking...

    For any woman who has ever just wanted to walk out the door and not come back...or wanted to just keep driving past the city limits sign...for any who have just been FED UP with the system, their lives...

    I think that Kris Radish gives us memorable scenerios, strong women, and a touch of fantasy-that-could-be reality...if you crossed your fingers and whistled in the dark...

    I have enjoyed all of her books and look forward to the one or two that I have yet to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Excellent!

    Another great Chris Radish book! Well written for women of all ages. It is a wonderful example of the caring bond we (women) have that keeps us together. Renews my faith in all women that we all go through a lot of "stuff" and no one ever talks about it. I am making all my good friends read it and then we will go on a long walk! LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    I Get IT!

    You either 'get' this book, or you don't! I get it! It is fabulous. I recommended it to my friends and I know that it has been a favorite of several book clubs in the area. I have read all Radish fiction books and think they are all great! I look forward to her next novel due out Jan. 2007

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    It feels like two people wrote this book

    This book alternates between beautifully-written stories of life, love, and loss and what feels like sappy, saccharine-coated slop. Too many underdeveloped characters not only make the narrative hard to follow, but kept me from ever really caring about any of these women. The leaps from women walking to the 'miracles' that ripple from them are just too ridiculous to be believed (as someone pointed out, the cop suddenly seized with a desire to see his mother is just thrown at us with little development and no believability). Unfortunately, lovely, shining moments of Radish's prose were all too soon forgotten as my irritation mounted at the 'love-fest' scenes. Women (both lesbian and straight) can and do feel tremendous love for each other, but most of us would be too embarrassed to gush on about it in the ways Radish does. The biggest problem with this book is that it could have used a strong editor to weed out the slop from the gold. The best thing about the book is the inclusion of the opening chapter of Radish's next book, Dancing Naked at the Edge of Dawn. From this brief glance, it appears that Radish may have reined in some of her earlier silly exuberance, and that the characters (or at least the main character) may actually develop in some thoughful and measured way. One can only hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    Tried too hard to insight inspiration and emotion!

    Slow and at times appeared corny rather than genuine. Had great potential to be motivating and uplifting for women everywhere but, did not come across as 'real' on the pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Confusing and unrealistic

    The first chapter grabbed me. But then it went downhill from there. There were so many characters and none were fully developed. I tried to get into the book, but it was so choppy that as soon as you started to sort of relate with a character, it ended and you never heard from them again. Overall, I didn't like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Caught me at an emotional level

    I was given a bag of books and this stuck out as different. It was. I couldn't connect with all the women but then, that would be impossible anyway. All of them were better off when they let go of the weights they kept with them. Alice was wonderful but so were many of the little vignettes of women altered by reading about the walkers. I loved Sister Cheryl and Lenny. It is all form the heart. I wished I had a book group to share it with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book and could actually relate to each of the characters that are in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Enjoyed this book

    I enjoyed this book becasue it struck a cord with me. In fact, have thought about just taking off and walking (acutally driving). So I was really surprised when the plot revolved around leaving everything behind to find inner truth. Even though not every side character was fully developed and it had, what seemed, as an 'all women are lesbian" theme, I thought the book was inspiring and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a let down...

    Eight woman over 40 leave everything behind to walk "it" off. Each woman had an "it" they needed to fix, get over, or work past. Sounded like an adventure that I would like to read about. Too bad the story was not believable or even just fun. I didn't like the main characters in the story except maybe Alice. I loved the 2 or 3 page story of Margaret who was no more than a side note. The woman were crazy but not in a funny way.
    What did I take away from this book, If you dont just stop once in awhile and take in the important things they can get lost and become meaningless and it may send you on a long walk with bad shoes and a bunch of man hating lesbians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    I laughed, I cried. A lot.

    This was really my first women's fiction novel and I absolutely loved it! I didn't think it would affect me the way it did. I cried quite a few times which really suprised me. I recommend this novel to any woman who would like to be moved and touched by the stories of a group of women friends. Don't forget your tissue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Loved It!

    Excellent story that opens up all women's minds to so many possibilities. I will always be a loyal follower to this author and cannot wait for the next book. I have read and enjoyed everything written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    What a Great Movie This Would Make!!!

    This book is one of the most enjoyable books i have ever read. Each of the women in this book is on a special journey. The special friendship that these women share is a treasure. I can seriously see this book turn into a movie someday. I think if you are a woman over 35 you will enjoy this book, and it will capture your heart. With each chapter i find myself following these womens footsteps. This is a must read for every woman. A most memorable journey for the heart and soul!!!!! Thanks Kris Radish for writing a very heartfelt book! I cannot wait to read her other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Kris Radish...You must be joking.....

    This book is a total and complete farce and an insult to women everywhere. The cover leads you to believe it's about women, sisterhhood, the joys of friendship and so on. In reality its a 300 page absurdity implying all women are lesbians waiting to come out of their broom closets and make out with their best friends.Every interaction had sexual undertones, unlike what really happens when real women get together with their girlfirends. Oh, please!!I gave it one star becasue that was the lowest I could..it deserves none.This book had me talking out loud to myself and I assure you I wasn't saying positive or nice things about it!The chapter on the police officer who sees the group of women walkers and within minutes finds himself longing to call his own, dear, Mom (whom he hasn't called in SIX YEARS )actually made my stomach turn. What a load of garbage. Sadly it was the first read for our book club. Two of us refused to waste another minute on it and didin't finsih it while the other 4 dutifully finished ,though not one liked it a bit.The only good thing I can say is that( unlike the rest of my peers) I took the book out of the library instead of purchasing it! Half way through the first chapter ( which is so bad it makes you literally gag knowing you have only just begun),I felt I should do the public a service and light the book on fire, BUT the library frowns on that sort of behavior, so I didn't.Basically, the question of the evening at our first meeting was , 'What the heck am I going to do with this awful book now?I certainly don't want to pass it on to anyone!' In my 46 years on this planet I can say I have never despised a book like I did this one, it was pathetic. Again I stress that it so misrepresents itself from the jcket wirte up to the actual story ...just bizarre! This is the very first time I have ever not finished a book since learning to read 40 years ago.To sum it up: Buyer Beware!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Women Get 'It'

    Let me start by saying that this is the farthest thing from my usual read. Something about the title grabbed me and then I read a relatively positive review. I was hooked when Susan collapsed after revealing her secret and everyone else went into autopilot. I am lucky enough to have friends who are just like that. I can't tell you what drew me into the book except to say that the 'IT' women get is how to be there for you no matter what. Read the book and then give it to your best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Too many other good books out there

    This was the selection for my March Book Club. I read the back cover and thought, well, atleast the book is short. I read the book in about two days after work and really did not have strong feelings one way or the other about it. I did not identify with any of the characters on the walk. The only one that I somewhat liked was the one that went home to her husband. When I went to the book club, I wasn't surprised when I started to hear the negative reviews. One of the worst was that it was similar to a really bad Lifetime movie. We still had an interesting discussion and ate great food. If you are looking for a book that will generate some discussion regarding how absurd the characters were...choose this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Excellent, powerfully touching book!

    When I read so many negative reviews, I was apprehensive about this being the first selection for a newly formed reading group I am a part of. However, I was amazed by this book. I could relate in part to almost every character in this book, whether it be from my own experiences, or my experiences of other women in my life. I felt as if I was walking along with these amazing women the whole time I was reading, drawn into their lives to learn a valuable lesson. This book demonstrates the power of love, both platonic and romantic, between women...and how the lines distinguishing one from the other can be drawn, crossed, and blurred throughought our lives. It made me remember that we all have the power to change our own lives, and while doing that, whether it be our intention or not, have the power to alter the lives of everyone in the universe. My life, my view and appreciation of my friendships has definitely been changed by this amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    A Thoughtful Book

    It's a shame that there are so many negative reviews...I found this book quite an enjoyable read. I didn't have to personally relate to any of the women to understand that the mere undertaking of something outside of the ordinary can have an extraordinary 'ripple effect', in ways and in people that we cannot even begin to fathom. I found myself reassured that we all make a difference every day by the choices that we make, perhaps only in that we inspire others to make the same (or different) choices. I found the book to be personally thought-provoking and touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    this book put the 'uck' in suck

    OK, if it weren't for the book club I belong to, there is no way I would have spent another minute of my time finishing this book. But because I had to, I struggled reading each page. I would say outloud things like 'this is the most rediculous thing I've ever read' and 'I can't stand this', etc. I think you get the idea. The way that Radish describes these women, their marriages, their children, and their own childhoods is from a victimized viewpoint which is very unhealthy. It isn't inspiring, it's pathetic. As a woman who has had women friends for over 30 years, this does not represent me or my friendships. We actually have conversations that don't include 'screwing someone's brains out'. The sex crazed, self centered, sappy women in this book were not only unbelievable but a horrible representation of the female gender.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    The most ridiculous book I've ever read

    Not only was the book poorly written, but there were too many characters and I didn't relate to any of them. Here are some of Radish's 'eloquent' lines: 'she has always regretted not going into his sleeping car and screwing his brains out as the train rolled through the tall, penis-like Wasatch mountains of Utah.' 'Alice lifts her head like a little turtle who has spotted something in the distance. 'So what about all the sex everyone but me has been getting for the past forty years.'' It is hard to believe that the story of the women walkers would get international attention. Also, I got very tired of hearing about how all of these women were victims and hated men, when many of the husbands were likable characters. I would not recommend this book to anyone, unless you are looking for a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2