Customer Reviews for

Elegy for Eddie (Maisie Dobbs Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Undecided

The Maisie Dobbs series, now with nine entries, has taken her from World War I, where she served as a nurse, to the cusp of the Second World War. In this novel, there are three themes which can tend to confuse the reader until the author brings them together and makes ...
The Maisie Dobbs series, now with nine entries, has taken her from World War I, where she served as a nurse, to the cusp of the Second World War. In this novel, there are three themes which can tend to confuse the reader until the author brings them together and makes sense out of what at first appear to be separate subplots.

To start with, a delegation from Lambeth, scene of Maisie’s childhood, visits her to engage her services as an investigator to find out how a young man died in a paper factory. The other two plot lines, one more personal to her than the other, has Maisie questioning her own motives and standards as well as her relationship with her lover; and the last involving the stealth campaign of Winston Churchill to prepare Great Britain for the possible war with Nazi Germany.

The book is equal to its predecessors in characterization and human interest. Obviously, it is more political in tone than its forerunners, given the time in which it takes place: the depression era and rise of Adolf Hitler. While Maisie’s introspections may be overdone, they certainly are in keeping with the character.

Recommended.

posted by tedfeit0 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ForgetBig Brother; here comes Big Sister

Maisie Dobbs displays an incredibly annoying ability to not understand that othef people are allowed to have their own lives apart from her, without letting her know what they are doing at every minute. Her conviction that she is being "lied to" because some of her acqu...
Maisie Dobbs displays an incredibly annoying ability to not understand that othef people are allowed to have their own lives apart from her, without letting her know what they are doing at every minute. Her conviction that she is being "lied to" because some of her acquaintances have facets of their lives that they cannot (or do not want to) share with her is wearing quite thin. I realize her calling card says Psychologist and Inquiry agent, but I didn't realize her brief included inquiring into everyone else's lives, whether bidden or not.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good Reading.

    I have now read all of Jacqueline Winspears books and I enjoyed them all. Can't wait for next book to come out. Best to read her books in order to follow her story lines.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    My favorite series

    Another great book in the Lady Emily series. I seriously never want these books to end, the next one never comes quick enough. This series reignited my passion for reading, especially period mysteries, though none make me as happy as the Lady Emily series. This series gets better and better!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    excellent as always

    maisie dobbs continues to be clever and inquisitive, but not so bright that she can't learn life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    A pivotal book in this award-winning series

    The “Eddie” in the title is Eddie Pettit, born to an unmarried teenage mother in 1887 while she was mucking out a stable – a job that just barely keeps her out of the workhouse. All his life, Eddie had a special gift for working with horses. And now in 1933, Eddie dies in a freak accident at a printing plant. But Eddie’s friends, the fruit sellers in Covent Garden, don’t believe his death was an accident and come to Maisie Dobbs, daughter of their friend and former costermonger Frankie Dobbs, to investigate his death.

    Maisie takes on the job, only too glad to be of help to her father’s pals, whom she’s known since she was a little girl. And when her assistant, Billy Beale, winds up in the hospital after a beating sustained while asking questions about the case, she’s pretty certain that her clients’ suspicions about Eddie’s death are on target.

    Elegy for Eddie is a pivotal book in this award-winning series, a turning point for its protagonist. Maisie is still becoming accustomed to newfound wealth – which came to her when her mentor and friend Maurice died and left her most of his considerable estate. Maisie is always willing to use her money to help others, but in Elegy for Eddie, she’s confronted with the accusation, from a very credible source, that she may be using gifts to control other people’s lives. Maisie also realizes that she must decide what her relationship is to be with her lover, James, who wants a traditional marriage, meaning Maisie gives up her work.

    The Maisie Dobbs books are wonderful … it’s one series I collect in hardcover. I just want to own them. Elegy for Eddie is number nine, and it’s just about time for me to go back to #1 and read some of the early ones again. It’s that kind of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Maisie Dobbs is Addictive

    I have only recently found Jacqueline Winspear's wonderful Maisie Dobbs series, and I have now devoured all of them. Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I love the Maisie Dobbs series. I read one right after the other. I am really bummed that the next isn't out until Dec 2013. Excelent books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Great book for anyone who likes detective stories. Read the whole Maisie Dobbs series.

    Haven't finished this book as I am reading another book as well. Love the whole series of Maisie Dobbs. This is my 9th book in the series can't wait to see how the story unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    A great read - a must have

    This entire Maisie Dobbs series is so good, I gobbled down every one of them and can hardly wait for Winspear's next book. Start with one and you'll have to read the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Every one of the Maise Dobbs novels are unique in themselves and the latest, ELEGY FOR EDDIE is no exception.
    Jacqueline Winspear is outstanding in the way she develops her characters until you become invested in each one, villan or hero!

    I was late to discover her work, so I was fortunate to read all 9 in the Maise Dobbs series one after another. NONE of them were disappointing! They are more than mysteries.....they are character studies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Another great story

    I have read all of the Maisie Dobbs books and they're great. Strong female heroine succeeding in a man's world. Impeccable detail of post WWI England. I hope J. Winspear continues to bring us Maisie's life. Excellent writing. I would recommend this book for book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I have enjoyed the Maisie Dobbs series through the past few year

    I have enjoyed the Maisie Dobbs series through the past few years, and I always look forward to a new title. I found this book to be one of the best in the series, perhaps because I had time to read it all within a short period of time. The thoughtful representation of a successful professional woman at a time when there were few visible continues to be one of the strengths of the series. I'm always sad Maisie Dobbs cannot add personal commitment to her long list of successes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2