Customer Reviews for

Elegy for a Lost Star (Symphony of Ages Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    HUH?

    I don't get it. I really don't! First, in Rhapsody, Achmed starts to like Rhapsody. In Propechy, it's even more apparent, and in Destiny, they kiss! Yay!!!But in Requiem for the Sun, that's vanished. But in Elegy for a Lost Star, when they were trapped in Llauron's wing, Rhapsody says she loves Achmed! Hello didn't any of you notice that? Or am I wrong? Did she mean just as a friend? Anyway, this was a great book, and I finished it in about a day. But...my main complaint is WHY Achmed and Rhapsody can't get together! I mean, why would Elizabeth Haydon even say that he loved her if it was unrequited love? She wouldn't be that cruel--or WOULD she? The parts with Talaquist were boring. Achmed is my favorite character! WHY does Rhapsody like stupid, STUPID Ashe? He's an airhead and pighead. He's just, as another reviewer said, a pretty boy. Achmed and Rhapsody were MEANT to be together! Oooh! Why...Elizabeth Haydon...HOW can you doooo this to meeee?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Good But Could Have Been Better

    I think the series should have ended with the first three fantastic books. Reqiuem and Elegy aren't up to par with the others. The plots aren't as engrossing or creative. The reappearences (or should I say ressurrections?) of such characters like Anwyn, seems tacky, like Haydon lost the inspiration to think of new characters. She also seems to have lost sight of the Three. The story revolves around Rhapsody and Ashe much more then it should. Achmed and Grunthor were key characters in the original trilogy and they also seem to be the most popular. In Elegy, however, Achmed only appears every 100 pages or so and there is hardly any mention of Grunthor. And everyone seems awfully cranky all the time... I hope the next novel will be better and more true to the first three. Haydon left many loose ends in Elegy that look promising and I will definately purchase the long-awaited sixth book but I think the new installments could have been much better and she shouldn't have tampered with her achievements in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Amazing author!

    Loved every book in this series. I am lookin forward to reading the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Good book

    Again this book dragged a little too. And why does it seem through this book and Requiem that Achmed is having PMS? Just go tell her that you love her. You already kissed her you dum-dum! I hope something happens in the next book! It is titled the Assassin King for a reason, it's gonna be mainly about him. Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    Elizabeth Haydon captivates and ensnares you in this most wonderful series!

    Elizabeth Haydon has written some of the most captivating books i have ever read and The Symphony of Ages books are no exception. es a fantastic job and her books are worth ever second it takes to read them. i am looking forward with great excitement for The Assassin King. Definately a must read Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Disappointing

    This book was very disappointing. I had a hard time finishing it. I had been impressed with the writing and the well thought out story in the first 3 books. Although the story in this book has potential, it lacks the intricate plot and the heart of the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    A wonderful, action filled read.

    Not a book to pick up at bed-time. Hard to put down after I began reading. The only negative point I found is that it is no where near long enough. I can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A desperate wait, but worth it

    I can't believe how long it took for me to finally get this book, and how fast I read it. Ms. Haydon has done it again! Elegy is very different from the original trilogy, however. It moves faster, which is good, but it is a little spare on the lore we have come to expect from the Symrphony of Ages series. On the plus side, the action is wonderful, it reads really fast, and there is a LOT of Achmed, my favorite character! Ignore the ignorant cranks, and enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great fantasy

    Rhapsody and her half-dragon husband Ashe are enjoying the quiet serenity of married life. Both are elated that she is carrying his child and look forward to raising a brood of kids together. The calm has allowed their allies King Achmed and Grunthor to make progress on restoring the kingdom of Ylorc. Finally, they celebrate that their ward Gwydion has become an adult................................. Everything is perfect. Not! Vengeance is in the air. Assassins plan to kill Achmed because of his killing of their lead; Anwyn the Dragon has arisen like a phoenix with plans to kill Rhapsody who put him into the death-sleep that he lived for the past three years. Finally Sorbold Emperor Talquist has a new ally the evil seer Anwyn. The war to end wars seems imminent................................... The middle book of The Sympathy of Ages series is a solid fantasy that is a bit different in tone than the first series (see Rhapsody) or the first book in this trilogy (see REQUIEM FOR A SUN) as this tale contains much more action, but a lot less philosophical mythos. The story line starts slow as readers are lulled into the calmness that seems to be everywhere the trio are, but that serenity ends rather quickly into hyperspeed action packed thriller. Fans of the series will enjoy this rousing tale, but must adjust to the different tone............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Worth every star

    The best thing about Elizabeth Haydon's books is the apparent backstory. You always get the sense that you are hearing a little piece of a vast history that has been totally planned out. Elegy for a Lost Star carries on the tradition. Achmed fans will love it, and fans of the series will be dying to read the next one alreay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Short Story

    OK, First let me say that the first three Novels were well written, well planned out, etc. This book is lil more than a story. Come on, 315 pages ? The other books were 500-600 pages. Totally dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    a great series

    i love reading elizabeth haydon's books and hope that more books come from this great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    Awesome

    Elizabeth Haydon's Symphony of Ages series has been wonderful. I can't wait to pick up #5!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    I hate this book

    I hate this Trilogy, it's no where near as good as tthe SoT series or even the Halo series. Bland perfect characters mixed with excessive sex brings it down. For good sex, check out SoT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    To Halo Fan:

    I love Elizabeth Haydon's novels. I find that the only thing excessive sex does in novels is to bring characters together explicitly so the reading audience can see that they are, in fact, together. Also, Ms. Haydon's novels do not need sex, because they combine wonderful storytelling with awesome character development. Hers is one of the best storylines that I have read, apart from Terry Brooks and Robert Jordan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2