Customer Reviews for

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

TREMENDOUSLY INSPIRING WAS "THE ELEMENT" ! ! !

I heard Dr. Ken Robinson discussing his book "The Element" on Huckabee, and immediately ordered it at B&N online. I awaited it anxiously and was very pleased that it arrived promptly! My anticipation was well founded! Dr. Robinson's book was a GREAT read!

I am a...
I heard Dr. Ken Robinson discussing his book "The Element" on Huckabee, and immediately ordered it at B&N online. I awaited it anxiously and was very pleased that it arrived promptly! My anticipation was well founded! Dr. Robinson's book was a GREAT read!

I am at a point in my life, having worked in the same field for over 25 years, that I have begun entertaining the idea of pursuing another line of work along some of my interests. "The Element" gave me a fresh and insightful perspective into what is likely to provide me with the greatest level of satisfaction and feeling of achievement.

Dr. Robinson did an artful job of weaving the stories of real people, many of them celebrities or people of notoriety, into his thematic presentation. He adeptly utilized inspiring true life accounts of people who have found "the element" to illustrate his persuasive arguments in each chapter. He paints a very convincing picture of how people are happiest in life when their abilities or competencies intersect their passions or most gratifying pursuits. In short, he guides the reader through "I get it!"... "I love it!"... "I want it!"... "Where is it?!" Fortunately, or tragically (I'm still mulling this over!), about the time I was ready to charge out and begin a new career, Robinson allowed for the fact that a person can still feel very fulfilled through pursuing their passion as a hobby or outside interest and not just through making it their life's work.

Reading "The Element" was undoubtably time well spent! I seriously hated putting it down and, when I had finished it, thought that it ended almost too soon. However, Dr. Robinson did a masterful job of making his point, and providing genuine inspiration, in an appropriate amount of time. The length is perfect... long enough to be convincing... brief enough to leave you wanting more. Nice job. Dr. Robinson is certainly in "the element". Pick up a copy soon and BUY it, don't borrow it, as you'll want to have it on your bookshelf for periodic review!

posted by TerBenn on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Finding my Element...or Telling me about others who had?

SO. I picked up this book originally because I heard a speech by the author about the book. The speech was wonderful! However, the book was just repeating over and over ALL these success stories about people who weren't successful in school, but made it big time after t...
SO. I picked up this book originally because I heard a speech by the author about the book. The speech was wonderful! However, the book was just repeating over and over ALL these success stories about people who weren't successful in school, but made it big time after they dropped out or moved on or whatever. I thought this book was going to inspire me to GO find my element...nope. It inspired me to want to hurt allll the people in the book who were living their dreams when they didn't work hard in school. I'm working my butt off in school, and my element is sitting on a shelf collecting dust because everyone seems to get in my way. This book did not help me to feel better about not having my element, but it helped me feel depressed and angry toward our school system, most of which I knew about the No Child Left Behind...but overall, not what I was expecting. A huge disappointment.

posted by bookwormCH on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TREMENDOUSLY INSPIRING WAS "THE ELEMENT" ! ! !

    I heard Dr. Ken Robinson discussing his book "The Element" on Huckabee, and immediately ordered it at B&N online. I awaited it anxiously and was very pleased that it arrived promptly! My anticipation was well founded! Dr. Robinson's book was a GREAT read!

    I am at a point in my life, having worked in the same field for over 25 years, that I have begun entertaining the idea of pursuing another line of work along some of my interests. "The Element" gave me a fresh and insightful perspective into what is likely to provide me with the greatest level of satisfaction and feeling of achievement.

    Dr. Robinson did an artful job of weaving the stories of real people, many of them celebrities or people of notoriety, into his thematic presentation. He adeptly utilized inspiring true life accounts of people who have found "the element" to illustrate his persuasive arguments in each chapter. He paints a very convincing picture of how people are happiest in life when their abilities or competencies intersect their passions or most gratifying pursuits. In short, he guides the reader through "I get it!"... "I love it!"... "I want it!"... "Where is it?!" Fortunately, or tragically (I'm still mulling this over!), about the time I was ready to charge out and begin a new career, Robinson allowed for the fact that a person can still feel very fulfilled through pursuing their passion as a hobby or outside interest and not just through making it their life's work.

    Reading "The Element" was undoubtably time well spent! I seriously hated putting it down and, when I had finished it, thought that it ended almost too soon. However, Dr. Robinson did a masterful job of making his point, and providing genuine inspiration, in an appropriate amount of time. The length is perfect... long enough to be convincing... brief enough to leave you wanting more. Nice job. Dr. Robinson is certainly in "the element". Pick up a copy soon and BUY it, don't borrow it, as you'll want to have it on your bookshelf for periodic review!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Parents, Educators and Business People!

    Excellent book. All parents and educators should read this. Explains why we need to make changes to our educational system to allow for and develop creativity and right-brained thinking as we progress in the 21st Century. Many examples of people who did not fit into conventional/technical/math/science curriculum, but became highly successful and have made an impact in the world when they found their "Element." Reading this and Daniel Pink's "A Whole New Mind" will inspire you to want to make changes and to do away with all the technical testing required by Bush's No Child Left Behind law.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Inspiring!

    Robinson's insight into creativity is innovative and motivating. He inspires us all to uncover and follow our inner passions in our daily life and work. Using anecdotes as well as thoughtful reflection, Robinson's humorous tone keeps the pace fast without diluting his message. This is a must-read for anyone who feels victim to monotony.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ken Robinson understands the personal desire for clairty in one's life. Find your Element today!

    At sixty years old, I now understandn why I have been very empty creativly most of my life. Thank you Mr. Robinson. What an answer to prayer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Firedash

    Grounded. ~ Firedash

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Lilysun

    "Okay, its just a little confusing counting the results" Lilysun mewed pressing against him.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Ken Robinson is brilliant. Everyone should read this book, though, Robinson's message is critical for educators and parents. Readers will learn that "the element is the meeting place between natural aptitude and personal passion". When we are in the element, and doing the work we were truly meant to do, our professional lives will be satisfying and meaningful. This happens when we honor our true talents, and intelligence, and turn them into career opportunities. This is a very different message than the one on which most of us were raised. Yet, personal satisfaction with one's work is part of leading a healthy and satisfying life. We should want this for ourselves. We should want this for our children. We should want this evolved attitude about true aptitude and intelligence for our society.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Spottedcloud

    Pads out through the main camp tunnel and later there is a stench of blood coming from outside in the forest...
    The elder had been taking a walk wanting to maybe catch an odd mouse or beetle. But while she was stalking a mouse she had forgoten to check for foxes or badgers...
    *A fox slid out of the bushes silently creeping up on the unaware elder* pounce! The elder caught her mouse, a young and plump one but then the fox attacked; and bit her throat leaving blood stains on the ground. The elder fought back bravely and strongly, her pelt shining and almost glowing silver, her blue eyes as bright as light, and the golden cloud print on her sides were gleaming. The elder looked young as in her prime time but her throat was cut open and she was getting weaker by the moment...
    Some warriors and apprentices rush out and drive the fox away but they were to late...
    Spottedclouds eyes were dim and staring into nothingness and her pelt dim, her pelt cold, and her sweet, free, and familiar scent fading away with her spirit. She was dead, andgone to her anscestors in Starclan.~dead,Spottedcloud

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Smpkeheart

    *pressed his muzzle into he pelt* i didnt get to know you that well and i am sorry i didnt rest in peace my old ancestor.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    B

    "I am renewing it", she mewed unfazed.
    ~Amberstar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Snowfur

    Snowfur~ *she sighed* ok. Maby my nook was acting slow.......i will try again.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Swankit

    My mommy and daddy say l can be a apprentice citrusstar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Citrusstar

    Ok. Listen up everyone, Elementclan and Frostclan are joining to now be known as Trinityclan. Everyone please go to wix all results, that is our new home. See you there.
    Citrusstar

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Most Inspirational Book I've read in ages

    This book is so good that, although I borrowed the library copy, I may end up buying it. For anyone out there that knows they are meant to be doing more with their lives but, up to now, feels a bit sidetracked by life (education, friends, family...) this book will help you understand why you've ended up where you are, and give you some insight into how you can step into a more fulfilling life. BUY IT NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    The Element--a life changing experience

    Every so often a book comes along that shakes your world. Whether you're already doing what you love, or know someone who isn't, this book is an absolute marvel. Aside from being a scathing indictment on our antiquated educational system, it is a wonderful motivator to do what you love and love what you do. I've bought copies for everyone at my office and in my family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    element

    This is an excellent book on creativity. It is used as required material for the Creative minds class at De Anza College. I strongly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    The Element

    All teachers, parents and students should have this as required reading!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    inspiring

    This book will help you find your way if you don't know which way to go, forgot what to do, feel like you don't belong, can't see where others belong or what they have to give. It will give you inspiration if life has become old-boring-tired, to find new life and direction. It helps you see that we all have something to give and to receive from everyone and everything. And clarifies that everything has meaning and purpose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Great for parents, kids, and school officials

    I thought his information and ideas were great, and that more schools and parents should take his ideas into consideration. Some parts of the book were a little slow reading, but I thought his message was GREAT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    If you don't know what you want to be when you grow up, read this!

    If your children need to know what they should do for a career, have them read this or read it and guide them through the decision process. Ken Robinson has done an excellant job putting things into perspective. I wish this book was required reading by High School seniors and College freshman. Did you hear me teachers & professors?
    This is a great book for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2