Customer Reviews for

Element, Part 1

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read. I was hooked! Can't wait for part 2

Loved this unique sci-fi romance. It felt a little like a paranormal sci -fi, but think it is supposed to just be sci-fi.

I loved Ryan, a lot, he is like the perfect guy, and unrealistic as I do not think you will find anyone, ever like him. He is too perfect, lol, b...
Loved this unique sci-fi romance. It felt a little like a paranormal sci -fi, but think it is supposed to just be sci-fi.

I loved Ryan, a lot, he is like the perfect guy, and unrealistic as I do not think you will find anyone, ever like him. He is too perfect, lol, but it’s ok, I still loved him, great one to have a fantasy about. Lol.

I liked Natalie too, she was really down to earth, and easy to like. She handled her changes pretty well too. Won’t get into that much, trying to keep this spoiler free.

Lise on the other hand, Natalie’s best friend and roommate I didn’t care for too much, she was pretty shallow, and to me seemed immature to an extent, wanting to only party, and a bit promiscuous from what was said of her past anyway.
Sal seemed like a great guy too, he is Ryan’s cousin, and I liked what I seen of him, he and Lise were not a huge part of the story, at least not in this part one.

Overall, I enjoyed the mystery of what was going on, and really loved the slow going romance of Ryan and Natalie. I found it admirable that they took the time to get to know each other, and didn’t just jump into bed. Their chemistry was hot though, whew, not sure how they were able to control themselves, as they have a bit of a supernatural chemistry going on.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the mystery types with some sci-fi in it. I sure hope part two is out soon, as it does end on a major cliffhanger, which I hate, I despise cliffhangers like that, and try to avoid reading those kinds of books until I have the next one in hand, when I can. If I read a review or something of a book, and they say it has one, I won’t read right away, lol, I will buy and wait, lol. (unless its for a book tour or something of course)

5 out of 5 stars, would give more if I could. Lots of promise with this series.

I was provided a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.

posted by ConciseReviewsByMichelleL on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Element, part 1

Waste of my time. I read more than halfway through the book and then quit because its just awful. It is supposed to be about Natalie going though changes when volunteering to try out a supplement. That is only mentioned like once or twice then its all about global warmi...
Waste of my time. I read more than halfway through the book and then quit because its just awful. It is supposed to be about Natalie going though changes when volunteering to try out a supplement. That is only mentioned like once or twice then its all about global warming (which i dont believe in) and being in love with a country boy. Awful. Natalie is an incredibly annoying character. I hate reading about girls who play hard to get because their ex was a butt. Also, what does global warming have to do with anything! It was just randomly throw in the book. I felt like the author threw a bunch of ideas in a blender and spit them out. Wish i could give it zero stars.

posted by Vi26 on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Element, part 1

    Waste of my time. I read more than halfway through the book and then quit because its just awful. It is supposed to be about Natalie going though changes when volunteering to try out a supplement. That is only mentioned like once or twice then its all about global warming (which i dont believe in) and being in love with a country boy. Awful. Natalie is an incredibly annoying character. I hate reading about girls who play hard to get because their ex was a butt. Also, what does global warming have to do with anything! It was just randomly throw in the book. I felt like the author threw a bunch of ideas in a blender and spit them out. Wish i could give it zero stars.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome read. I was hooked! Can't wait for part 2

    Loved this unique sci-fi romance. It felt a little like a paranormal sci -fi, but think it is supposed to just be sci-fi.

    I loved Ryan, a lot, he is like the perfect guy, and unrealistic as I do not think you will find anyone, ever like him. He is too perfect, lol, but it’s ok, I still loved him, great one to have a fantasy about. Lol.

    I liked Natalie too, she was really down to earth, and easy to like. She handled her changes pretty well too. Won’t get into that much, trying to keep this spoiler free.

    Lise on the other hand, Natalie’s best friend and roommate I didn’t care for too much, she was pretty shallow, and to me seemed immature to an extent, wanting to only party, and a bit promiscuous from what was said of her past anyway.
    Sal seemed like a great guy too, he is Ryan’s cousin, and I liked what I seen of him, he and Lise were not a huge part of the story, at least not in this part one.

    Overall, I enjoyed the mystery of what was going on, and really loved the slow going romance of Ryan and Natalie. I found it admirable that they took the time to get to know each other, and didn’t just jump into bed. Their chemistry was hot though, whew, not sure how they were able to control themselves, as they have a bit of a supernatural chemistry going on.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the mystery types with some sci-fi in it. I sure hope part two is out soon, as it does end on a major cliffhanger, which I hate, I despise cliffhangers like that, and try to avoid reading those kinds of books until I have the next one in hand, when I can. If I read a review or something of a book, and they say it has one, I won’t read right away, lol, I will buy and wait, lol. (unless its for a book tour or something of course)

    5 out of 5 stars, would give more if I could. Lots of promise with this series.

    I was provided a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    must get

    must get the whole series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was just O.K. Not great, but ok.  The first 3/4 of

    This book was just O.K. Not great, but ok. 




    The first 3/4 of the book or so read very much like a Spanish Soap Opera, which I don't particularly care for. The reactions each character had were very dramatic and emotional, and not very realistic (especially the main character, Natalie). Each scene gave a clear picture of overly dramatic people, and picturing it as anything but a Soap was very difficult...




    The writing was not realistic at all- the dialog was somewhat cheesy and irritating, and had a lot of phrases that don't make much sense. For example, Ryan is supposed to be a Southern Texas cowboy, yet many of his lines read like a surfer guy from SoCal...then he'd have a random line like "this condo is kickin'" ...what?? 




    It seemed very disjointed and confused- like the characters aren't completely defined, and very unsettled. 




    It also somewhat seemed like a book written by a dictionary...every phrase was something you'd expect to hear from a proper English professor...not college Freshmen (even if some of them were nerds...). It just wasn't very believable or realistic, and got to be somewhat monotonous in tone. 




    The reason I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 2, is because once the plot got going (past the monumentally frustrating main chunk of the book with a lot of redundant personal challenges and internal turmoil from the main character) towards the end of the book, it actually got interesting. I hate when books leave on a cliff-hanger, but it did leave me wanting to read the next book, now that there's more of a story than "Oh my, I'm so afraid to trust anyone, but gosh darn it, you're sexy, and I just want to bang you so bad, who cares?!" *fake Southern accent there*. 




    I'm hoping the next book will be better, and since I am still considering reading the series, I'm leaving it a 3 star instead of 2...




    I'd recommend it if, 1) you don't mind cheesy Soap Opera plots and dialog to trudge through til the last few chapters, and, 2) the next book in the series/the series all-together, sounds interesting to you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    This story centers around Natalie, a girl with the ambition to b

    This story centers around Natalie, a girl with the ambition to be a great scientist in Kromberg Laboratories, hoping the internship she was granted for the summer will be her foot in the door so to speak. Throughout the story there's repeated mentioning of Vitamins and Supplements that Natalie has been guinea pigging for the company which have toned up her body amazingly and made her work out sessions less straining on her.
    Strange things start to happen when she runs into an old friend from high school named Ryan. The two have an unusual affect on each other for seemingly no reason (Not once does Natalie even consider the pills she's been taking to be the cause).The story would be a great read for anyone who enjoys young adult romance. However, those of the more paranormal/Science Fiction nature, will find this book lacking in the paranormal department until about charpter 6 or 7. Keep in mind this book only has 8 chapters total.
    If I had written this, I would have waited for Element part 2 to be completed and then simply merged the two novellas into one novel to give the reader a better experience with the story as a whole.
    I still look forward to reading Element Part 2 since it picks up where this one leaves off and I already know since the paranormal elements come into play at the end of this one that they will be there in force in the second one.
    New Readers, I urge you not to stop reading this series simply because this part didn't live up to your standards, pick up a copy of Part 2 and see how the story plays out, you may get surprised.
    I give this book 3 of 5 paws

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    I am in the process of reading this book, so far so good!  I am

    I am in the process of reading this book, so far so good!  I am not really into sci-fi books so much...but so far this has held me captive and I am enjoying the relationship building between Ryan and Natalie for sure.  I am up to Chapter 6 in the book and look forward to what's in store and for CM Doporto's next book! DRaley

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Book Review: I had mixed feelings about this novella.  F

    Book Review:








    I had mixed feelings about this novella.  First, the book is first and foremost a Young Adult Romance and SciFi is a far second.  Most of the story revolves around the budding relationship of Natalie and Ryan.  While I was definitely engaged in their romance and I was enthralled by their plight, I think I was expecting a little more freaky stuff.




    That being said, I suspect the next part in the series will have a great deal more freaky stuff.  Sadly, like many of the novellas I've read, especially ones broadcasting they'll part of a series like this one, I felt a lack of closure.




    I loved the dream sequences most of all.  But I guess I have a thing for dream sequences because you can stretch the limits of reality even beyond the limits of your story.  I also loved the part where they're dancing and he's singing "Getting you home" by Chris Young (which is a song, by the way, I really like).  All I was thinking was that it was probably not the most apropos song when they intend to wait till marriage.




    I was a little frustrated with Natalie and her whole I don't want to get hurt again thing.  I get being hurt and being afraid of getting hurt again.  I don't get taking a single experience and extrapolating it consciously to the entire male population.  This bugged me throughout the story and made me want to yell at her to get over herself.




    I really enjoyed the last ¼ of the book and the ending was great.  It took a while for the story to really build.  The author gives you bits and pieces and clues, but unfortunately it has more than one part and you only get the first part with this book.  




    Now, onto a few of my pet peeves.  I'm not overly fond of reviewing ARC copies, as this one was.  I'm never certain what will be removed from the finalized printing and what was, in fact, a mistake.  Why doesn't she put up a fuss when he suggests adding a class in May when they had their schedules finalized in April?  And, I don't know about you, but when I hit someone really skinny, I go down.  No muscle and no fat means you contact directly with bone... which is very painful.  Last time I did it, I was on the floor for ten minutes trying to regain the ability to walk.




    All in all, if you enjoy a good YA Romance with just a dash of weird, I think you'll enjoy the book.  It's sweet and angsty.  There's danger and suspense and shady dealings.  It really picks up around 3/4 the way through the book.  I found myself really wanting the two to get together and really frustrated as their pasts and presents kept clashing and keeping them apart.  Looking forward to Part II.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Confusing book.

    Confusing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The book is well-written, but it moved way too slowly for me and

    The book is well-written, but it moved way too slowly for me and I lost interest. The characters were realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Cool but...

    Grammattical errors drive me crazy!!!!!! But otherwise great story. Partly through the book as of now. Im kind of a gramnar nut so....

    --TigressAyura
    Sent from my NOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No depth

    The story line consists mostly of Natalie's bad relationship with a former boyfriend and why she doesn't trust the new guy in her life. That's fine and typical of many romances but it goes on...and on...and on. Meanwhile we're given scenes with Lise, Natalie's bff which go something like 'He's so hot!', "Who? Ryan?" "Well, him too but I can't wait to have sex with his cousin." Not that there's any actualy sex and not that there's any actual sexual tension of any sort. But that seems to match the plot because there doesn't seem to be any actual plot either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    It was ok

    It was ok not the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Eww

    This book is terrible. There is hardly any plot, and it could do with more explaining. I do not reccomend this book for anyone. If you want a good book, go and read the divergent series, or the elementalists, the arena wars, every soul a star, or the grey wolves series. Those are all great books with fabulous plots. This book shows no potential, and is very boring. I am sorry to say, but dont waste your time on this book whe you can benreading other books. For the sake of boredom. DO NOT GET THIS BOOK! It is the honest truth, and i will not lie. This book had me snoring right after i read the first 10 pages.
    Sincerely,
    Artemi D'Avrohan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Good

    Could have been better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Good start

    Lets see where this goes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    I usually go into reading books with an open mind and that is wh

    I usually go into reading books with an open mind and that is what I did when I picked up Element, Part One. I will admit that it was slow to start, but once it got past all of the character drama and into the meat of the story it went really well. Aside from the occasional grammatical errors throughout, I enjoyed reading it. The concept is one that I haven't heard much of, so it will be interesting to see how Part Two reads out-- especially after the ending!

    The characters are fairly well developed, even if the sudden and unique attraction between Ryan and Natalie seemed a little weird at first. Overall, it was a good read and I look forward to the second part!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Elements Part 1 is a story full of mysterious happenings. Natali

    Elements Part 1 is a story full of mysterious happenings. Natalie is attending her first year of college with her best friend Lise. Natalie agrees to be a test subject for a new drug and strange things start happening to her, especially to her body. Her and Lise meet Ryan and Sal, and immediately you can feel Natalie and Ryan’s connection. Whenever Natalie is near Ryan she gets a funny feeling in her body. Through all the changes that Natalie is facing, she has to try and figure out what is going on. The intensity of Natalie and Ryan’s feelings for one another will make your heart race, your palms sweat, and your cheeks blush. Together Natalie, Ryan, Lise and Sal are thrown into a huge supernatural mystery.

    C.M. Doporto has written a keep-you-guessing story that engages the reader. The characters are each unique and bring something to the story that helps Natalie on her journey. Sit back and join this motley crew on their adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    When I read the blurb for this book, I knew it was a book I want

    When I read the blurb for this book, I knew it was a book I wanted to read but it wasn't until I actually started it that I realized how much I loved it. Element, Part 1 was extremely well written and, unlike other books I've read from Amazon, it wasn't riddled with typos or grammatically incorrect sentences. The story moved just a bit fast for me to buy it completely but that could have been because there didn't seem to be much of a timeline involved. I wasn't sure if the relationship developed over the course of a month or 6 months. That's honestly my own issue with the book. I'd love to know just how much time had passed from the start to the end. All in all, I loved it. And I promise that if you give this book a chance, you might too.

    Natalie, a college freshman, is suffering from heartbreak from her high school boyfriend when she sees an old crush turn up at an orientation for the job of her dreams. They've both had their hearts broken and aren't ready for relationships but are drawn to each other regardless. Strange things start happening to Natalie each time she's near Ryan but neither of them think anything of it. Until the very end, that is.

    Which is exactly where CM Doporto leaves us with a cliff hanger. Stuck, biting our nails, wondering what on earth Natalie will tell Ryan and if they will work through their issues and figure out what is going on together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    3.5 stars I liked this book! :) As you may or may not know, I h

    3.5 stars

    I liked this book! :) As you may or may not know, I have a weakness for books/movies about people with elemental powers, so this one belongs on that list too. It wasn't the best ever and sometimes the romance between Ryan and Natalie seemed a bit... rushed. It almost is one of those instant-love thingies you often read in books nowadays. And I'm not really a fan of that. But overall this was a fun book and I liked it. I really did. And I would read the sequel because I want to know what happens next. 

    ARC courtesy of the author. Received a free copy in exchange for an honest review as a beta reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I like the story line. Natalie Vega is a freshman in college and

    I like the story line. Natalie Vega is a freshman in college and after several near-death experiences, notices changes in her body - MAJOR changes. Also, she dealing with a fun-loving roommate and boy she had a crush on in high school.

    The relationship between Ryan and Natalie is sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2