Customer Reviews for

Element, Part 1

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read. I was hooked! Can't wait for part 2

Loved this unique sci-fi romance. It felt a little like a paranormal sci -fi, but think it is supposed to just be sci-fi.

I loved Ryan, a lot, he is like the perfect guy, and unrealistic as I do not think you will find anyone, ever like him. He is too perfect, lol, b...
Loved this unique sci-fi romance. It felt a little like a paranormal sci -fi, but think it is supposed to just be sci-fi.

I loved Ryan, a lot, he is like the perfect guy, and unrealistic as I do not think you will find anyone, ever like him. He is too perfect, lol, but it’s ok, I still loved him, great one to have a fantasy about. Lol.

I liked Natalie too, she was really down to earth, and easy to like. She handled her changes pretty well too. Won’t get into that much, trying to keep this spoiler free.

Lise on the other hand, Natalie’s best friend and roommate I didn’t care for too much, she was pretty shallow, and to me seemed immature to an extent, wanting to only party, and a bit promiscuous from what was said of her past anyway.
Sal seemed like a great guy too, he is Ryan’s cousin, and I liked what I seen of him, he and Lise were not a huge part of the story, at least not in this part one.

Overall, I enjoyed the mystery of what was going on, and really loved the slow going romance of Ryan and Natalie. I found it admirable that they took the time to get to know each other, and didn’t just jump into bed. Their chemistry was hot though, whew, not sure how they were able to control themselves, as they have a bit of a supernatural chemistry going on.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the mystery types with some sci-fi in it. I sure hope part two is out soon, as it does end on a major cliffhanger, which I hate, I despise cliffhangers like that, and try to avoid reading those kinds of books until I have the next one in hand, when I can. If I read a review or something of a book, and they say it has one, I won’t read right away, lol, I will buy and wait, lol. (unless its for a book tour or something of course)

5 out of 5 stars, would give more if I could. Lots of promise with this series.

I was provided a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.

posted by ConciseReviewsByMichelleL on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Element, part 1

Waste of my time. I read more than halfway through the book and then quit because its just awful. It is supposed to be about Natalie going though changes when volunteering to try out a supplement. That is only mentioned like once or twice then its all about global warmi...
Waste of my time. I read more than halfway through the book and then quit because its just awful. It is supposed to be about Natalie going though changes when volunteering to try out a supplement. That is only mentioned like once or twice then its all about global warming (which i dont believe in) and being in love with a country boy. Awful. Natalie is an incredibly annoying character. I hate reading about girls who play hard to get because their ex was a butt. Also, what does global warming have to do with anything! It was just randomly throw in the book. I felt like the author threw a bunch of ideas in a blender and spit them out. Wish i could give it zero stars.

posted by Vi26 on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome read. I was hooked! Can't wait for part 2

    Loved this unique sci-fi romance. It felt a little like a paranormal sci -fi, but think it is supposed to just be sci-fi.

    I loved Ryan, a lot, he is like the perfect guy, and unrealistic as I do not think you will find anyone, ever like him. He is too perfect, lol, but it’s ok, I still loved him, great one to have a fantasy about. Lol.

    I liked Natalie too, she was really down to earth, and easy to like. She handled her changes pretty well too. Won’t get into that much, trying to keep this spoiler free.

    Lise on the other hand, Natalie’s best friend and roommate I didn’t care for too much, she was pretty shallow, and to me seemed immature to an extent, wanting to only party, and a bit promiscuous from what was said of her past anyway.
    Sal seemed like a great guy too, he is Ryan’s cousin, and I liked what I seen of him, he and Lise were not a huge part of the story, at least not in this part one.

    Overall, I enjoyed the mystery of what was going on, and really loved the slow going romance of Ryan and Natalie. I found it admirable that they took the time to get to know each other, and didn’t just jump into bed. Their chemistry was hot though, whew, not sure how they were able to control themselves, as they have a bit of a supernatural chemistry going on.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the mystery types with some sci-fi in it. I sure hope part two is out soon, as it does end on a major cliffhanger, which I hate, I despise cliffhangers like that, and try to avoid reading those kinds of books until I have the next one in hand, when I can. If I read a review or something of a book, and they say it has one, I won’t read right away, lol, I will buy and wait, lol. (unless its for a book tour or something of course)

    5 out of 5 stars, would give more if I could. Lots of promise with this series.

    I was provided a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    must get

    must get the whole series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    I am in the process of reading this book, so far so good!  I am

    I am in the process of reading this book, so far so good!  I am not really into sci-fi books so much...but so far this has held me captive and I am enjoying the relationship building between Ryan and Natalie for sure.  I am up to Chapter 6 in the book and look forward to what's in store and for CM Doporto's next book! DRaley

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Elements Part 1 is a story full of mysterious happenings. Natali

    Elements Part 1 is a story full of mysterious happenings. Natalie is attending her first year of college with her best friend Lise. Natalie agrees to be a test subject for a new drug and strange things start happening to her, especially to her body. Her and Lise meet Ryan and Sal, and immediately you can feel Natalie and Ryan’s connection. Whenever Natalie is near Ryan she gets a funny feeling in her body. Through all the changes that Natalie is facing, she has to try and figure out what is going on. The intensity of Natalie and Ryan’s feelings for one another will make your heart race, your palms sweat, and your cheeks blush. Together Natalie, Ryan, Lise and Sal are thrown into a huge supernatural mystery.

    C.M. Doporto has written a keep-you-guessing story that engages the reader. The characters are each unique and bring something to the story that helps Natalie on her journey. Sit back and join this motley crew on their adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    When I read the blurb for this book, I knew it was a book I want

    When I read the blurb for this book, I knew it was a book I wanted to read but it wasn't until I actually started it that I realized how much I loved it. Element, Part 1 was extremely well written and, unlike other books I've read from Amazon, it wasn't riddled with typos or grammatically incorrect sentences. The story moved just a bit fast for me to buy it completely but that could have been because there didn't seem to be much of a timeline involved. I wasn't sure if the relationship developed over the course of a month or 6 months. That's honestly my own issue with the book. I'd love to know just how much time had passed from the start to the end. All in all, I loved it. And I promise that if you give this book a chance, you might too.

    Natalie, a college freshman, is suffering from heartbreak from her high school boyfriend when she sees an old crush turn up at an orientation for the job of her dreams. They've both had their hearts broken and aren't ready for relationships but are drawn to each other regardless. Strange things start happening to Natalie each time she's near Ryan but neither of them think anything of it. Until the very end, that is.

    Which is exactly where CM Doporto leaves us with a cliff hanger. Stuck, biting our nails, wondering what on earth Natalie will tell Ryan and if they will work through their issues and figure out what is going on together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Loved it! I liked how the characters were developed. They were n

    Loved it! I liked how the characters were developed. They were not predictable in the cookie cutter sense, and I love that. In the story, Ryan revealed something to Natalie and it was not what I expected it to be. In fact, I am not sure what I expected. Doporto writes a well-crafted plot that is very interesting once the story gets going. The chemistry between Ryan and Natalie is great and I am eager to read more about it.
    The story line was well developed and the end leaves you wanting more. Cannot wait until Part 2 comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1