Customer Reviews for

Elemental: The First

Average Rating 4.5
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Review by Book MOnster Reviews

My Review (Book Monster Guest Reviewer)

Rose is anything but an ordinary teenager. Throughout her life her family has been constantly on the move, never staying in one place too long, as a result Rose aims to be an open and bubbly person to combat the loneliness she...
My Review (Book Monster Guest Reviewer)

Rose is anything but an ordinary teenager. Throughout her life her family has been constantly on the move, never staying in one place too long, as a result Rose aims to be an open and bubbly person to combat the loneliness she feels every time she leaves a set of friends. At an early age Rose discovers that she is different, she can do things that her friends can't including being able to heal herself and others. When Rose moves in with her Grandmother Daisy she is given the freedom she craves she teams up with her childhood friends Hannah & Mira who introduce her around town. Rose finds herself drawn to two boys, Aiden the quitessential bad boy and Morgan the mysterious boy who lives on her Grandmothers estate. People have been disappearing from town and when someone close to Rose's new friends is next they decide to start their own investigation. As the mystery unravels Rose discovers that those closest to her have been keeping secrets and everyone has a hidden agenda.

It was refreshing to have a 16 yr old with little experience in the ways of the heart, she may be drawn to both boys but at the same time she is being cautious. I have a feeling there's more to come with her relationship with both Aiden & Morgan. Daisy is an interesting character, you just know she know's a lot more than what she is willing to admit to!

This is a tale full of mystery and intrigue, by the end I was wondering just who Rose could trust. It's heavy on the description at the start but by the end Alexandra seems to have found a nice balance between setting the scene, character interaction and plot development. The whole book has set the scene for the next one and I'm looking forward to seeing how the story develops and joining Rose on the next part of her journey.

posted by Book_Monster_Reviews on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good YA read

I found this book to be very slow in the beginning. Quite literally, the halfway point was where the story started to pick up for me. The author did a nice job with the interaction of all the characters. I was honestly, a ping pong. Yes you heard me. I couldn't decide w...
I found this book to be very slow in the beginning. Quite literally, the halfway point was where the story started to pick up for me. The author did a nice job with the interaction of all the characters. I was honestly, a ping pong. Yes you heard me. I couldn't decide who I liked more! At first, obvious choice was Aiden, but then helloooo Morgan. Both equally sexy in their own ways.
I was annoyed with Rose quite a bit in this book. I felt that she flew off the handle way to quickly, and acted like a pouty brat most of the time. I mean, if I were Morgan, and this chick kept flipping out on me because she did something wrong like break into my house, I wouldn't even bother.
The end had to be my favorite. That's when all the fun starts to happen. Secrets revealed, deception, heart ache. It was wonderful, and it ended perfectly for a second book.

posted by chapterxchapter on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Review by Book MOnster Reviews

    My Review (Book Monster Guest Reviewer)

    Rose is anything but an ordinary teenager. Throughout her life her family has been constantly on the move, never staying in one place too long, as a result Rose aims to be an open and bubbly person to combat the loneliness she feels every time she leaves a set of friends. At an early age Rose discovers that she is different, she can do things that her friends can't including being able to heal herself and others. When Rose moves in with her Grandmother Daisy she is given the freedom she craves she teams up with her childhood friends Hannah & Mira who introduce her around town. Rose finds herself drawn to two boys, Aiden the quitessential bad boy and Morgan the mysterious boy who lives on her Grandmothers estate. People have been disappearing from town and when someone close to Rose's new friends is next they decide to start their own investigation. As the mystery unravels Rose discovers that those closest to her have been keeping secrets and everyone has a hidden agenda.

    It was refreshing to have a 16 yr old with little experience in the ways of the heart, she may be drawn to both boys but at the same time she is being cautious. I have a feeling there's more to come with her relationship with both Aiden & Morgan. Daisy is an interesting character, you just know she know's a lot more than what she is willing to admit to!

    This is a tale full of mystery and intrigue, by the end I was wondering just who Rose could trust. It's heavy on the description at the start but by the end Alexandra seems to have found a nice balance between setting the scene, character interaction and plot development. The whole book has set the scene for the next one and I'm looking forward to seeing how the story develops and joining Rose on the next part of her journey.

    63 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You must try it out!

    Again thanks to my favorite group Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy Fanatics! on Goodreads, Read to Review, and to Kay with all the hard work that goes into this program!

    This is a tough book for me to review I have very mixed up feelings about it but I am giving it 3.5 stars because if I feel this strongly about it I must have really liked it.

    First of all this is not my typical genre, this is more sci-fi than paranormal in my opinion. And second of all this is my constructive opinion... I don't like to say criticism because in the end a book and writing is an art form and who am I say what's right or wrong. I can only give my opinion as to what I believe and experienced as a reader.

    With all that said here goes...

    First the negative because I like leaving on a positive note if at all possible.
    I had a tough time reading this it may have been just a language barrier, meaning the conversation didn't flow for me. I have read British writing before but this felt a bit off for me. Second I felt like Rose was a bit quick to feel things or naive. Without revealing any spoilers, maybe her family is the cause of that but her encounters with her new friends and Morgan moved a bit quick, meaning as a reader it wasn't quite "believable".

    Here is the positive stuff.
    The story was imaginative and original. As a paranormal reader for me to enjoy the story of what I felt was a sci-fi book, it was a good story. There is some really interesting things going on in this small town! The book also feels like a half story to me and ends so abruptly I was left like ... WHAT?????? Now you say how can that be positive? Because the author did her job and got me extremely curious and ready for the next one. This is also a great book for teens, very clean and fun. For parents that like to read a book with their teens and discuss this is a great choice.

    All in all, you have to read it and I will be interested to see all my friends opinions.

    Thank you to Alexandra May for offering up her work to the group for our honest opinions it certainly takes guts and I enjoyed the journey.

    35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Dgjn

    I thought it was very slow at the beginning and was gonna give up on it; however; it turned out to be a very good book and i cant wait for the next one.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Interesting read

    I liked Elemental: The First it was filled with suspense and I was constantly trying to figure out what was going to happen next. Elemental: The First gives a lot of background information of the characters and the town. Normally, I find too much detailed information and not enough action to bore me but Alexandra had a perfect balance between the two. The ending did bug me because I was hoping that we would find out a bit more of what exactly Rose does and more about Aiden and Morgan but it ended right where the suspense was the greatest! Such a cliff hanger! I was in shock that it ended like that. It was like a TV Show finale that is split into 2 weeks and ends with your going NO I NEED MORE WHY THE HECK WOULD YOU END IT THERE ARRRG!!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Book?

    This was a great book! I really enjoyed readin git! I hop eothers have the chanceto read this :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Good book or not??????

    Yes its desent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    New one??

    at the end of this book you said that there was going to be another one in 2012, but now it is 2013 and still no new one.. so when?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Pretty good  i wonder when the second book is coming out.

    Pretty good  i wonder when the second book is coming out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Good first book

    Left me wanting more but it did take me a while to get in to

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Scary?

    Isthis book even remotly scary?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    looking forward to reading the rest of the series ...

    i really enjoyed this book .. it was a very needed change from vampires and wherewolves which seem to be all anyone can write about these days . i liked the characters and the story was interesting throughout .. id reccomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    This is the first full book i read on my nook

    This was a very good book,I couldn't put it down and I can't wait to read the next one. It took me only 3 days to read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Worth the Read

    Sometimes the book got boring and I had to put the book down for a little while. I always, hoever, picked it back up. This book overall is completely worth your time. I cannot wait for the second book and I absolutely adore the love angle the author put in. I want the not as focused on guy ( those of you that read it will know) to be the guy though. Normal people are boring!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Love at First Sight!!

    I had only read the first page, and had fallen in love!! The author just has a way with words!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Very good

    Can't wait for the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    will23@gmail.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Ahhhhhh the ending

    The ending is a cliffhanger. Not cool man not cool and they dont have the next book. Also is any one els suprised that(dont read any further if u dont want spoilers) daisy was just like rose like with the legend and stuff? Just my thoughts. P.s. if u r looking for a good book read Divergent. Thanks ~DIVERGENT913

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    It was a good book.

    I liked it but her choice of friends at the end was pretty terrible. Adien could have been plaing her and she would have never known. Stupid stupid stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Really good

    I really liked it. Even went and bought the rest in the series too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Nice, easy read.

    Nice, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5