Customer Reviews for

Elemental: The First

Average Rating 4.5
( 405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Review by Book MOnster Reviews

My Review (Book Monster Guest Reviewer)

Rose is anything but an ordinary teenager. Throughout her life her family has been constantly on the move, never staying in one place too long, as a result Rose aims to be an open and bubbly person to combat the loneliness she...
My Review (Book Monster Guest Reviewer)

Rose is anything but an ordinary teenager. Throughout her life her family has been constantly on the move, never staying in one place too long, as a result Rose aims to be an open and bubbly person to combat the loneliness she feels every time she leaves a set of friends. At an early age Rose discovers that she is different, she can do things that her friends can't including being able to heal herself and others. When Rose moves in with her Grandmother Daisy she is given the freedom she craves she teams up with her childhood friends Hannah & Mira who introduce her around town. Rose finds herself drawn to two boys, Aiden the quitessential bad boy and Morgan the mysterious boy who lives on her Grandmothers estate. People have been disappearing from town and when someone close to Rose's new friends is next they decide to start their own investigation. As the mystery unravels Rose discovers that those closest to her have been keeping secrets and everyone has a hidden agenda.

It was refreshing to have a 16 yr old with little experience in the ways of the heart, she may be drawn to both boys but at the same time she is being cautious. I have a feeling there's more to come with her relationship with both Aiden & Morgan. Daisy is an interesting character, you just know she know's a lot more than what she is willing to admit to!

This is a tale full of mystery and intrigue, by the end I was wondering just who Rose could trust. It's heavy on the description at the start but by the end Alexandra seems to have found a nice balance between setting the scene, character interaction and plot development. The whole book has set the scene for the next one and I'm looking forward to seeing how the story develops and joining Rose on the next part of her journey.

posted by Book_Monster_Reviews on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good YA read

I found this book to be very slow in the beginning. Quite literally, the halfway point was where the story started to pick up for me. The author did a nice job with the interaction of all the characters. I was honestly, a ping pong. Yes you heard me. I couldn't decide w...
I found this book to be very slow in the beginning. Quite literally, the halfway point was where the story started to pick up for me. The author did a nice job with the interaction of all the characters. I was honestly, a ping pong. Yes you heard me. I couldn't decide who I liked more! At first, obvious choice was Aiden, but then helloooo Morgan. Both equally sexy in their own ways.
I was annoyed with Rose quite a bit in this book. I felt that she flew off the handle way to quickly, and acted like a pouty brat most of the time. I mean, if I were Morgan, and this chick kept flipping out on me because she did something wrong like break into my house, I wouldn't even bother.
The end had to be my favorite. That's when all the fun starts to happen. Secrets revealed, deception, heart ache. It was wonderful, and it ended perfectly for a second book.

posted by chapterxchapter on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Really good read

    I enjoyed this book from the first page to the last. It held my attention and kept me turning pages.

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyed it (:

    "Right now, as I ran along the dark tunnel, retracing my steps back to Aiden, I realised that my old life was over.."

    This book has left me completly and utterly astonished! When I recieved this book for review I knew I was gonna enjoy it, I had no idea though that it was gonna put me on a rollar coaster of love, suspense, mystery and so much more ! This book has surprises around every corner and I loved every moment I spent devouring it! Needless to say, I really liked this book.
    Elemental is threw the eyes of Rose, Rose is moving into her Grandmas house, as far as she knows, her dad has a dangerous job, and some people want to hurt him and his family, so her family leaves her to live with her grandma so she is safe, what rose doesn't know, is there is way more to why they want her living there..Rose meets up with some old friends, and things seem to be going great she even starts to form feelings for Morgan, Morgan seems perfect, but there is someone else occupying Rose's thoughts, and that's Aiden. Aiden is mysterious and dangrous, everyone tells Rose he is bad news and she needs to stay away, but he seems so caring towards Rose that it's hard for her to beilieve them, as more and more weird things start to happen around Rose she will be tested in ways she can't even imagine, her heart will be tested, she will be betrayed, and she will find out what she is to become...
    Alexandra May has put together such an amazing new addition to the YA world, and I can honestly say I can't wait to see more of her work! Elemental took on awhole new fantasy involving the Halíka Dacomé legend, but what Rose believes is a legend, isnt at all. This book had wonderful plot, the story was something new and completly keeps your attention threwout, the characters had great development, scenry is beautifully describeded, this book just had everything I look for in an amazing read.
    One of the best aspects of this story for me was the suspense. This book had me on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen! Rose is so fearless and threwout the story is put in sistuations where you can't help, but get the feeling something bad is going to happen. This was one of the main reasons this book got me so much, when Rose enters those situations you can't help but keep reading until you know everyone will come out okay!
    The romance is also what really caught my attention, Rose has mixed feelings for both Morgan and Aiden, Morgan is gorgeous and everyone loves him, Rose has feelings for him, but it's nothing compared to the connection she feels when she is around Aiden. Aiden, I completly and totally love him. Alexandra has put together such a unique character when it comes to Aiden, I have never EVER met another character like him, he really is just one of a kind and was such a delight to read.
    All in all this book was an amazing read and I recommend it to anyone looking for a new fantasy or just anyone who is looking for a great read. This book will draw you in with it's suspense and romance, and once you finish, it will leave you begging for book two.

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It makes your imagination take you on an adventure. Cant wait for th next book.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Good

    I liked it

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Loved!

    I absalutely, possitivly loved this book! (I know i didnt spell any of that right) Yeah the beginning was a little slow but over all it was a very intriguing book! My questions and the suspense never diminished. I always wondered 'what will happen?' Will Rose end up with Morgan or Aiden? Was Rose seeing the future through her dreams?
    Omigosh! I loved the way Morgan and Rose met! It was so funny! I also loved Morgan! Awww he was soooo sweet and gentle and caring and... ugh i love him! Please get this book if you are intrigued by fantasy, romance, suspense, and gorgeouse boys who will most definatley charm you!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Elemental

    So this book is amazing i finished it in 3 days i couldnt put it down. I reliaze that in the beginning its slow but it picks up speed torwards the middle of it. In my opinion this book should be every where and with an award winning tilte. Some people might say its like twilight and the romance might be but there is no vampires nor werewolves either.

    Rose Frost- She is the main character. She is a very intreging character. She has some that are unusual but she is a good character.

    Morgan Mcraw- He is a sweet guy who has his heart in the righht place. He does have a litle trouble with his romance with------ but he is a good character

    Adin Devrill- He is a dilincwent. He is really sweet to rose but is he really safe for her.

    Hannah and Mira- They are Roses best friends have been since they were very little.

    Look outfor the next book in the series!!!!!!!!!!
    I CANT WAIT!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This is a great book for teens and older people like myself. It is about a girl who discovers she has powers on her 16th birthday. She goes to stay with her grandmother and a whole new life enfolds for her. This book has romance, magic, mystery and all the ingredients for a great read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Suberb book

    This book was fantastic does any one know when the next one comes out?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    I FREAKIN LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    Cant explain it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Love it!

    This book is amazing! I couldnt put it down, i finished it within one day! Morgan is so sexy&&sweet. I cant wait to read the next one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Anonomous

    Great book!!!! Captivated me till the end!!!! Any one know when the next book comes out?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Great Book!

    I really liked the book. I like it when there are a lot of strange circumstances and questions at the beginning of a book, and then they start fitting into place as the story progresses. Also, I'm only 12, so I love that it's fully appropriate. The characters have very strong, definite personalities, which doesn't always happen. It's an amazing book, and the only time I stopped reading was when my Nook was down to 5 percent! I highly recomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    I thought this was a great read I cant wait for the next one. 

    I thought this was a great read I cant wait for the next one. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Such a feaking good biok

    I am so obssesed with this book i really love it and would really reconmend this book to anyone and its very intresting!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    To berson below

    5 stars???? You gave it 4

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Love it

    Realy good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Awesome

    Amazingly writen and played out really well and it touches the heart of our bodies and it made me think about moving into the middle of nowhere town it is just that good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Great

    This is a good book it is major page turner and will keep u guessing till the end .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    C

    Best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book. Can't wait for the second part.

    Loved this book. Can't wait for the second part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13