Customer Reviews for

Elemental

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Penguin Young Readers Group and Netgalley.)
    16-year-old Thom is unique… in a bad way; the only person ever to have no ‘element’. Everyone else has a link to one of the elements – fire, earth, wind, or water. They can catch fish, predict storms, or start fires with their bare hands, but Thom can’t do anything, and everybody thinks that he is a ‘nothing’.

    During a storm, Thom, his brothers, and some of the other kids from the island where he lives head over to a hurricane shelter in an abandoned town on another island. Problem is that in the morning when the ‘Guardians’ – the older inhabitants of the island (their parents and siblings), should be coming to the hurricane shelter to collect them, they don’t arrive, and when the kids look over to the island where they live, there are huge plumes of smoke – their home is burning.

    When they row back to their home island to find out what has happened, the guardians are all missing, their homes are burned to the ground, and sailing just off the island is a pirate ship.

    When the pirates realise that the kids are back on the island, they come back in search of them. They believe they one of them is ‘the solution’ (a cure to the plague that has forced them to live in isolation). Now the kids must not only stop themselves from being taken by the pirates, but must also try to rescue their families.
    Who is ‘the solution’ though? What do they believe ‘the solution’ can really do? And is Thom really a nothing?


    This was a great story. There was plenty of mystery surrounding each of the kids and their abilities, and what the pirates wanted them for. I must say that it isn’t quite as scary as a lot of dystopian books that I have read – no zombies here, but it was still a great read.

    I liked the different abilities that each of the kids had, and how they were able to use them. I hated how poor Thom was made to feel like a ‘nothing’, and how the others treated him because they thought he had no element. He was totally made to feel like a second class citizen which was really unfair.

    There was a hint at romance, but no real romance storyline. There were 2 girls who both seemed to like Thom, but it never went any further than that.

    There wasn’t a lot of backstory to be had, but there was enough to set the scene, and give an idea of the sort of world where the story took place.

    There were also plenty of little twists in the story that I really appreciated; especially the one at the end! I totally didn’t expect the revelation at the end, but it makes me wonder if there may be a sequel to this book in the works?

    Overall; a great YA dystopian – not too scary, and no romance.
    7.5 out of 10.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I just finished the book and it was wonderful. i cant wait for t

    I just finished the book and it was wonderful. i cant wait for the second book by antony john - FireBrand. This book gave great detail and wonderful scenes full of suspense and action. I could not stop reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ┬┐Elemental┬┐ by, Antony John Thomas is a sixteen-year-old boy

    “Elemental” by, Antony John




    Thomas is a sixteen-year-old boy growing up on an island with a handfull of others who have survived a plague. The people in this colony all have special elemental powers, with the exception of Thomas who was born without one. When a group of pirates invade the island and take all the adults captive, Thomas and the other kids have to find a way to rescue them and save their home. 




    Elemental has a story and characters that will appeal to a wide range of readers. 
    *Thomas is a relatable character and the story is told from his perspective. I felt sorry for him and how isolated he was throughout the story. 
    *Alice and Rose are very different from one another but they both care for Thomas. The girls add great layers to this story and I liked them both very much. 
    *Griffin is Thomas’ little brother who doesn’t talk. He and Thomas use sign language to communicate and Griffin is one of Thomas’ only friends. 
    The adults don’t have a very big part in this story but I liked it that way. The focus is on the kids and how they are dealing with a situation that is not in their control. It is very interesting to see them cope and change as the story goes along. 
    Elemental is obviously the first in what will be a series and I am excited to see where the author takes these characters. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Exciting story!

    If you enjoyed the Percy Jackson series by Riordan or the Virals series by Reichs, check out this first of a new series by Antony John - you will love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Aang

    Talking to one of azula's friends are you?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Dang it

    I am writing a series named Elemental and i searched the name out of curiosity. Turns out i will be sharing the tital with a lot of other authors...-______-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    A element that Jhony gave up

    He gave up the cloud element and got the lava element. So the cloud element is open.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Map

    Each result is labeled, so explore!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it a lot

    So this was a little different of a book read for me but I still very much enjoyed it ¿¿ It was gripping and full of intrigue, revelation, mystery (like wow) and sunspace that I was not expecting... Like at all. Ok look the book started off slow as heck but it picked up and when it did... I was a LOT more entertained in the second have then the first Hehe anyway it's a good gripping science fiction survival story and an unexpectedly emotional story of survival and self-discovery if you like those kinds of things you would like this book. And I can't wait to read the next one ¿¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Leafy

    Name:Leafy Age:16 Gender:Female Eye color:One eye is green the other is Brown Appearence:Usally wears a leaf green dress and green sneakers. Has dark brown hair and us 5"2' tall. Wears a leaf pendent to symbolize life. Personality:Kind and Caring. Despises violence and lives animals. Element:Life Pet:A deer named Twig.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    a good read.

    a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was all over the place with this one. There were some very suc

    I was all over the place with this one. There were some very successful things, some just successful, some so-so and some that just didn't work for me. It's all jumbled up with things I wish were included, somethings I wish weren't included and things I can’t be sure about.

    While I prefer the the character driven novel,but simply liking the main character and going for a roller coaster ride still works for me. Those books for are usually not great, but good personally. <i>Elemental</i>
    is one of those books. <i>Elemental</i>
    wasn’t character driven, but I still feel like I would’ve, could’ve, should’ve like it better, had some elements turned out differently. I hoped for more and it felt just out of reach, which is just so frustrating.

    In the end, I will say that it was a fast paced, action oriented enjoyable read, depending on what your preferences are. Not a recommend to everyone for reading book. It worked as the first book in a trilogy as a set up, a draw in and a story that feels complete holding its own. There’s no real cliff hanger but an open ending. I will be reading the next book for sure to find out what happens next but it’s not a burning need to read it.I’m looking forward to it though and I’m hoping the next book recovers, strengthens, and clarifies to meets the high expectations I had for the first book.

    Loved the concept, the cover, the premise, and the world. The characters were okay, only fell in love with two (and neither was the main character). There were some issues there and it was hard to connect/become attached to almost all of them. The pacing was fast and good but considering my other issues, I wish there was more of slowed down beginning. Maybe a foreword to set up what the colony and its people were like under normal/non-dramatic circumstances. I think that would've helped alleviate some problems, and form a better connection instead of instantly putting the book in constant action and upheaval. The beginning was hard to keep everyone and everything straight. I wish there was a reference in the back to help with this. It’s just hard to get a handle on who these characters are, their relationships, their dynamics and what their baseline is, when we get <i>told</i>
    things about them in the beginning and the rest of the book is spent changing everything. It felt so topsy-turvy. There really is <i> a lot </i>
    going on here, and it maybe just too much to push into one book.

    More Swiss Family Robinson than a dystopian feel for me. The only time it really felt like a dystopian is when Thom was trying to figure out everyday things from 'the before'. (Of course, not necessarily dystopian, aliens would have the same reaction.) The Plague talk is certainly dystopian but really it didn't land. Hearing about what happened should've packed a punch, but instead I felt like a neutral observer to another planet's problems. (Maybe I’m the alien here.) I think that comes from the kid's own lack of really grasping how far widespread and devastating this event was. I think (hope) this will be amped up with the next book, since this is the set up. Especially due to the ending, with it's reveal and subsequent questions, is so very dystopian. Otherwise, it was a paranormal magical powers group of people stranded on a island. Which isn't a bad thing, just not what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Healer Den

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Kits

    Firekit shoots fire from his paws, lighting up the landscape. Airkit weaves a tornado. Earthkit kicks rocks at the target. Waterkit slaps her target with water. All the kits are the four elements.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    May

    Yeah...

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1