Customer Reviews for

Elemental (Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental Series)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you are looking for a new paranormal romance to read, Brigid

If you are looking for a new paranormal romance to read, Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental series is the place to start! I just finished reading the novella and I HONESTLY liked it better than any novella I've ever read. The characters were fully developed, the plot line di...
If you are looking for a new paranormal romance to read, Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental series is the place to start! I just finished reading the novella and I HONESTLY liked it better than any novella I've ever read. The characters were fully developed, the plot line didn't feel stilted. I only wish I had my hands on the rest of the series! I can't wait to read STORM when it's available and to get to know the uber-hot Merrick clan.

posted by Becky_Wallace on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

this isn't a full book

It's not clear whether this is supposed to be a novella, which I doubt, or if this is just an excerpt, which is more likely. It ends abruptly at 49 pages, it's very frustrating to purchase these nookbooks that aren't complete. This should be specified! That said, what I...
It's not clear whether this is supposed to be a novella, which I doubt, or if this is just an excerpt, which is more likely. It ends abruptly at 49 pages, it's very frustrating to purchase these nookbooks that aren't complete. This should be specified! That said, what I read was pretty entertaining, though she had barely gotten into any real character development

posted by quinn74 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    If you are looking for a new paranormal romance to read, Brigid

    If you are looking for a new paranormal romance to read, Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental series is the place to start! I just finished reading the novella and I HONESTLY liked it better than any novella I've ever read. The characters were fully developed, the plot line didn't feel stilted. I only wish I had my hands on the rest of the series! I can't wait to read STORM when it's available and to get to know the uber-hot Merrick clan.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I haven't read anything in this series other than this prequel


    I haven't read anything in this series other than this prequel novella which is set 5 years prior to book #1 titled 'Storm'.

    This is our introduction to Michael, the eldest Merrick boy, primarily. We are also introduced to the twelve year old twins, Gabriel and Nick and also Chris.

    Michael Merrick has a lot on his shoulders. He is a 'Pure' Elemental. Earth is his mojo.

    This little entree novella, really wet my appetite for more of these boys, now I realise 'Storm' is set five years later , I think the Merrick boys are going to be a handsome handful. Might I also add, very popular.

    I am hoping Emily stays in Michael's life as she too is an Elemental, she can control Air or in this book , it's more of a breeze.

    I think Tyler is going to be a handful, Emily's brother, as her family are not liking Michael. I think their fear of his power is getting out of hand.

    This little novella was over far too quickly and I want more. I had the opportunity to read an excerpt from 'Storm' , but I chose to wait. It was bad enough this prequel finishing too soon, cause you just want more.........

    I highly recommend reading this novella, if you are unsure about how high to put this series on your TBR list...I can guarantee you will be sliding it to the top. I know I am in for the long haul.

    Brigid's writing captures the readers interest in so few pages. I will be all grabby, grabby for 'Storm' , due for release April 24th 2012 for US and apparently May for us Aussies.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Loved it

    This was a great intro into a very unique and exciting series. It's just a short prelude, you'll find out how it turns out in the book "Storm".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read

    This is a short novella (only about 49 pages). This one is about the older brother Michael (earth element) and 5 years before the book Storm. It's a nice insight on what the books are about. I only wish it was longer because I did like Michael and wanted to find out more about him, but overall I think it's a great start to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    SO GOOD!

    This is a great intro novella that swept me up and whet my appetite for the full Elemental series that, at the time, I wasn’t certain if I was going to read. Rest assured, a few pages into Elemental and I was dying for even more, so when this novella ended on a cliffhanger, I immediately bought the rest of the series, in both eBook and paperback format, because it’s a real keeper—something I definitely want gracing the shelves of my bookcase and eReader.

    This novella introduces us to the characters of Michael Merrick and Emily Morgan as teenagers… a full five years prior to the first full novel’s opening (I think). I wasn’t aware of that while I was reading, so I was a little confused when I picked up Storm, but as I began piecing everything together I realized that Elemental is really building up the back story for Michael, giving the reader a glimpse into what his life was like before he became the brooding head of the family. It also gives insight as one reads Storm because the characters briefly grace over and allude to past events that aren’t fully explained, but having read Elemental I knew the whole back story, which I thought was really cool.

    Michael is a very interesting character, the oldest of four, with the power to control the earth to the extent that he’s extremely dangerous. The fact that he lives in a normal town surrounded by normal people is extremely jarring, but he’s not alone in his abilities. Other elementals live nearby, but with powers less extensive, which makes Michael and his family a threat, especially as the teenage years are the hardest for a pure elemental when it comes to controlling their immense powers. And from this stems the entire series… no full elemental should live… Yet there are four Merrick boys…

    I loved getting to know Michael and watching his relationship with Emily bud. I also felt a lot of rage against Emily’s family and friends due to their reactions to Michael and his family, and the circumstances that surrounded the cliffhanger in the end made me automatically side with Michal’s family. Having done nothing wrong, and being constantly provoked, I thought Michael did a phenomenal job keeping it all in check, whereas I would have blown everyone to smithereens…

    Like I said, I really enjoyed this novella, and I highly recommend it, either as a precursor to Storm (as it should be), or as a follow up right after the completion of Storm as, by that time, you’ll have a better grasp of all the key players. If I had it to do over, I’d probably read Elemental second to Storm as I think it gives readers even more insight having met Michael in the later years and seeing what has been going on in his family. But either way, it’s definitely a five star read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    THREE MORE ELEMENTS FROM SWEET DEATH!

    Blacor: Electricity<p>Magical Light: Gemstones (Yes, I made one up)<p>Berry Jelly: Land

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Rest of the elements (i think)

    Black Midnight:Cold
    <p>GG:Heat
    <p>Shavedice:Salt water
    <p>Ok you give them the remaining elements at St res 2. ~Jhony

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Jeff

    Element: air. He has silver colored wings, very sharp eyes, almost as if he was an eagle, he has silver feathers on his arm, he has very sharp talons, and is a very dangerous opponent. He is a bit thin, muscular. Weapons: brass knuckles, talons, garrotes. Fighting style: is swift, agessive, very strong, and very, very dangerous. Only the toughest could beat him. Very silent footsteps, and doesnt fight fairly. Personality: calm, almost nice. Gender: male. Age: 23 height: 6 feet wheight: 200 lbs. Anything else just ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Alaula Glacier

    I just tried to post a bio but it didn't post. <p>
    Alaula has amberish hair and grey eyes with blue starbursts around the pupil. She is related to the artic fox, so she has white fox ears and a tail. Her element is ice and she wears a pendant with a never-melting snowflake and matching earrings. <p>
    [POST OR I WILL MURDER YOU<post>]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Bethany Ann-Marie Lindland

    •| Name~ Bethany Ann-Marie Lindland. <br>
    •| Goes By~ Bethany. <br>
    •| Age~ 17. Birthday: May 17th. <br>
    •| Gender~ Female. /)-^ Obviously. <br>
    •| Species Related To~ I am Related To The Griffin. The Griffin ls a mix of a few different animals. The Griffin l am related to is a mix of: Mountain Lion, Horse, Eagle, And Wolf. <br>
    •| Appearance~ Bethany is a lithe, lanky girl that stands at 5'6 and weighs only about 100 pounds. She is skinny, and her skin is tan and toned, because of how fit she is. Her hair is curly, a deep, dark brown, that's almost black. It hands in slightly loose curls, reaching her mid-back. Left-side part. Her bangs sweep from the left to the right side of her face. Eyes are a deep blue, and she has Iris Heterochromia, which makes half of her gith eye brown. Long legs, very flexible. Her face is slightly round, with a sharp jaw and slight high cheekbones. Her eyes are lined with very long, thick, dark eyelashes. <br>
    •| Animal-In-Form~ When ln her animal form, Bethany has wings, that can be obscured from view. Her nails are razor sharp and her canine teeth elonginated. Her eyes are narrowed into thin slits, sharpening her view. She has a wolf tail, a horse's sensitivity and agility. Wolf ears sprout from her head, a deep brown as well. She has the horse persona, the wolf's speed and litheness, the mountain lion's balance and grace, and the eagle's swiftness and quick killing. <br>
    •| Other~ Ask me. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Sage Kusmarksi

    Name Sage Kusmarski<br>
    Age 19<br>
    Animal Hummingbird<br>
    Charecteristics. Fast, swift can blend in easily<br>
    Looks. Green highlights meet me.<br>
    Element. Air. Any thing else just ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Bios

    This is were you post your bios for the Elemental Games. The only characters eligible for the Reaping are the people with bios. You may only have on character per game. After each game, you must update your bio or post a new one. Here's mine:
    <br><p>Name: Samuel Dayson
    <br>Gender: &male
    <br>Age: Almost 17
    <br>Element: Earth
    <br>Animal: Grizzly bear
    <br>Hair: Longish, curly, and brown. Also has a scruffy brown beard.
    <br>Eyes: Smallish and black
    <br>Body: His body is large, muscular, and hairy.
    <br>Other: He has bear ears and six inch long claws

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Elemental powers

    I looked around the classroom, wishin i was somewhere else besides the small, grey and beige classroom that reeked of rotten eggs and fifty years of suffering teens. I sighed, staring out the window at the carefully manicured lawn of th private school my parents forced me to attend. It was called Mountain Grace Private Academy. And it was pure torture smushed into a large, old, stone castle some old guy built as tribute to his dead wife. I dont remember the whole story, but it didnt change the fact that i hated the school more than anything. "SAGE!" my teacher, mr Barns, yelled at me. I should call you daydreamer! Pay attention!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Pinkgorilla

    Pt one coming soon. I have to write it doen and then retype it here. Ill have it up by the day after christmas

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Can i join?

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Flame

    Waits for his bros and sisters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly extremely recommended

    This book got me hooked from page one. After I read Elemental I immediately bought all the other books. I just finished the last book in the series so far and i am bummed that I'll have to wait two months for the next one. I seriously cannot wait. I haven't stopped thinking about the characters since i finished the last one in the series so far. so all in all I highly extremely recommend this book. to bad there not a ten star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    OMG

    Sounds great cant wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Awesome!!

    A must read!! So amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3