BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Elemental Magic: All-New Tales of the Elemental Masters

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Merecedes Lackey's Elemental Magic is a compelling collection of

Merecedes Lackey's Elemental Magic is a compelling collection of stories with intuitively observed characters, awesome plots and marvelous narration. It comes on the heels of The Usurper and Other Stories, which I equally enjoyed. Cool stories to read effortlessly.

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short stories should be complete entities. Too many of the stor

Short stories should be complete entities. Too many of the stories in this collection read more like first chapters. They didn't satisfy me; they left me hungry.

posted by JaynaM on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Short stories should be complete entities. Too many of the stor

    Short stories should be complete entities. Too many of the stories in this collection read more like first chapters. They didn't satisfy me; they left me hungry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Another wonderful contribution to Mercedes Lackey's world of magic!

    I have totally enjoyed all of the books in the Elementals series, and anticipated this collection with high expectations. I was not disappointed!
    I know it's hard for authors to allow others to play in their 'sandbox', but based on Ms. Lackeys other anthologies in her Valdemar world, she did a fantastic job in selecting stories to include here. Maintaing the same time frame while allowing the locales to expand made this fit in perfectly, giving the reader a lot more to think about. I love playing 'what if', so this collection really gave me that opportunity.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys magic and mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Merecedes Lackey's Elemental Magic is a compelling collection of

    Merecedes Lackey's Elemental Magic is a compelling collection of stories with intuitively observed characters, awesome plots and marvelous narration. It comes on the heels of The Usurper and Other Stories, which I equally enjoyed. Cool stories to read effortlessly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Loved it

    As Mercedes Lackey in one of my favorite authors, I eagerly await any new book of hers. I was not disappointed with Elemental Magic. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and look forward to more of the Elemental Masters books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    A very enjoyable read.

    I always enjoy reading Ms. Lackey's works. She also is a great editor, choosing stories for her anthologies that deepen the worlds she has created. While she is a very prolific writer, she is unable to write as fast as most of her readers devour her work. Thank you Ms. Lackey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Water Bedrooms

    This is where the Water Elementals sleep. A thin curtains separates the girls and boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    An Admiral Extension

    Having read all the previous Elemental Masters books, I was hoping this compilation would be a nice compliment to the stories I already knew. It was. It was fun to see different points of view from some of the earliest elemental magic practitioners to something more current and modern. It was an easy read, and each story is unique unto itself. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Not worth the monet

    Stories end too abruptly, plots are thin,not much charactee devwlopment. The worst book in the collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Fun, Light Read

    Mercedes Lackey has allowed other writers to enter her Elemental Magic world, with mostly good success, The locations are more widespread but the stories remain true to Lackey's vision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I love Mercedes Lackey's books and jumped on this immediately, w

    I love Mercedes Lackey's books and jumped on this immediately, without reading that is was stories by other authors based on the elemental masters theme. I was disappointed. There were only a few of the stories that I could even finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    DIVINATION

    Write a essay about pluto must be 2feet long

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Nursery

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Zuko

    Test.

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1