Customer Reviews for

Elements of Style

Average Rating 3
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    A must read for a New Yorker! A must read for a New Yorker!

    Finally a real book! Describing upper east side as is - realistic charecters. Didnt want the book to end, what a great read. You will see what money do to peope and what they dont. You experience that workoholic lonely woman and a vain woman chasing chanel as a hoal in life. The best part - all charectars are real! If u live in nyc u prob now one of them! Eye opening book on the UES - it makes u think about u and who u are. The book makes u rethink things. Great read! Can see reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Someone explain to me...

    Someone please explain to me why this book should be considered any better than, say, Candace Bushnell. It's a light diversion, but this is NOT a good novel by any standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Elements Of Style-

    A fast ,fun book that I didn't want to put down... but I didn't want to finish either!!! Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    My new favorite book!

    This book takes a thoughtful look at post 911 New York from the point of view of Upper East-Siders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    I loved This book!!!

    i thought this book was great to read on a lazy day. i read it quick so i didnt get bored of it either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    If you want summer fluff....

    Perhaps you just have to be a New Yorker to really appreciate this book though I think you could apply the personalities of Ms. Wassterstein's characters to people in any city. It was a very easy read, but quite predictable for the most part I thought. I was amazed that in a circle of people in NY immidiately post 9/11 there was no mention of any loss in the terrorist attacks. Not that I would have wanted her to dwell on that, but there were 8 or 9 central characters and no mention of a loss at all? Seemed too unrealistic. As I said, if you're looking for fluff, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    If you are Italian DO NOT READ THIS BOOK

    Unfortunately Ms.Wasserstein resorts to the tired and all too common placement of the 'new' interchangeable bad 'white guy' as a disgusting,classless Italian American movie producer. 'Insert greasy unscrupulous white man...' How about an Italian white guy pizza grease on his shirt! Perfect...Spike Lee does it all the time. Boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Awful

    This was an awful book...devoid of any meaning that I might have hoped to find in a post 9/11 NY...maybe the authors intent? which is wonderful for artistic purposes -- but for pleasure reading. NO WAY. The characters are overly simplistic and one dimensional and the resolution is completely depressing rewarding the least likeable characters who show no discipline - just complete self absorbation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Hilarious and Quick Read

    I really enjoyed this book. The satire was amazing and unlike the Kirkus reviewer I believed I knew all the characters! Their shallow lives were hilarious and made me glad I never tried to make the list of the Beautiful People, but I did report for W so know the truth is what Wendy captured in her satiric title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A well written tale

    Not long after 9/11 much of Manhattan remains in shock and horror from the mass destruction. Still life goes on especially for those wealthy Upper East Side residents. Pediatrician Francesca 'Frankie' Weissman, Manhattan magazine numero uno doctor in the neighborhood, sees that first hand as her affluent clients visit her wearing Manolo with infants out of a fashion magazine. Even the gas masks are designer label.------ As she services the babies of wealthy blue-blood Samantha Acton, Californian Judy Tremont and movie giant Barry Santorini, all share in common the belief that with money comes life as if 9/11 is an aberration or even a fantasy. As Frankie dates the icons of wealth, she see one of these rich guys as her ticket to Manolo and with it the ability to ignore suicide bombers and ground zero and sacrificing on the war on terrorism by supporting the economy through hedonistic spending.-------- Renowned playwright Wendy Wasserstein recently passed away, but her final work, her first novel, is a fitting tribute as the book is a terrific look at the upper crust of New York just after 9/11. Except for the air pollution, life remains the same as wealth enables the support crust to hide from the ugliness or at least pretend that the world remains the same as it was before the towers came down. Frankie is an interesting protagonist who desperately wants the same lifestyle of her patients as she ignores the trappings of being a card (credit that is) carrying member of the affluent. It is sort of like living in Sodom and Gomorrah with Babel collapsing nearby as life goes on in the big city as long as you do it within the accepted ELEMENTS OF STYLE.------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1