Customer Reviews for

Elephant Run

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    This book rocks!

    Elephant Run
    By Roland Smith

    Do you like adventure? If you do you should read Elephant Run. POW!!!! Have you been in a house that got bombed? Well Nick has been. It's 1941 and World War 2 is happening. Nick goes to live with his dad in Burma. His dad is a mahout, an elephant trainer. Read this book to know if Nick is safe from the Japanese enemies. I like this book because it tells you how hard it was when the Japanese enemies ruined Nick's life. I recommend this book to 4th graders, 5th graders and 6th graders. There are some bad words so if that bothers you then don't read it.
    Reviewed by Ismael Rashid

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run

    It's 1941, and German bombs are plumiting down on Nick Freestone's home town in London. Nick is sent to live with his father on his plantation in Burma. But it's too late, the Japanese have already invated the plantation and Nick's father is imprisoned. With his new friend Mya, by his side, Nick and Mya escape the house they are being held in and set out to help his dad. And with the help of some monks and yes elephants they set out through the dangerous forest on a journey of a life time! Can Nick save his dad in time? Read Elephant Run by the great and glorious Roland Smith to find out!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Elephant Run written by Roland Smith is a great book and I reall

    Elephant Run written by Roland Smith is a great book and I really recommend it. Although the title is a little silly do not underestimate it. Once the bombs start dropping in London Nick’s mom finds it safer for him to live with his father in Burma at his timber elephant plantation and they were wrong. Once the Japanese invade basically all of Asia with their slogan “Asia for Asians” some of the native Burmese decide they want the plantation for themselves so most of them side with the Japanese. Escaping is Nick Freestone and his father’s number one priority with his newly found friend Mya. They then must go on a series of adventures together. I really recommend this book there are never parts when you get bored and just want to skip a chapter. This is a great book and you should really  read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended- have to check out!!

    Alexander Olson

    Mr. Allen and Mr. Dagel

    Contemporary Literature

    May 23, 2011 Period 2

    Elephant Run

    In this thrilling adventure through the jungles of Burma, Roland Smith explores the far-reaching effects of WWII, while introducing readers to the fascinating world of wild timber elephants and their mahouts.

    During the blitz in WWII Nick Freestone is sent to Burma to live with his dad on his teak plantation. Then the Japanese invade and take over the plantation and Nick's father taken hostage. Now Nick and his new friend, Mya, must escape the Japanese to free Nick's dad. But, they will not do it alone, even with the help of Hilltop and a wild timber elephant named Hannibal, will Nick succeed in saving his dad or is it too late.

    This was a great book to read and I think other people would like it as much as I did. The plot was pretty straightforward but it was filled with excitement and fear. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who has a taste of history and adventure. And if you are bored of WWII in Europe then this is the book for you about WWII in Asia.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended-Great Book!

    I had to read this book for school. I want into it thinking that it would be terrible(Like most school choices). Even after all that I loved the book and couldnt put it down. Readers of all ages will enjoy this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    YOU MUST READDD it is my FAVORTIE BOOK i love the author to!!!!!!!!!

    This book was thrilling it had many cilff hangers and that made me keep on reading it !! When you start you cant stop. It had a mix of happy spots to sad spots but that is what made it great.This book is great for parnets and childern it tells you about how bad things can get but how those bad things become great. I think of all of this and im not even 14 yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    This is a wonderful book full of suspense and edge of your seat action! last 100 pages I couldnt put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER READ!!!!!

    This in the BEST book I have EVER READ! You have to read this book or even buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked Awesome

    This book by far beats most books I have ever read by far. I love his books and his book, Cryptid Hunters, got me into Cryptozoology now I want to be a cryptozoologist when I grow up. Elephant Run was the perfect book for me because I like action and thrill. I may have said this about other books but this one I don`t highly recommend it you need to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

         Elephant Run by Roland Smith is thrilling journey from Lond

         Elephant Run by Roland Smith is thrilling journey from London, England to the jungles of Burma. The book takes
    place in World War 2. The book starts off strong when bombs drop from the night sky and destroys Nick freestone’s
    and his mother’s apartment. This scared Nick’s mom so much that she sent Nick away to love with his dad in Burma.
         Once Nick arrives, Japanese soldiers invade the Burmese elephant village. Now this has changed Nick’s life because
    now his father was taken in as a prisoner and he is also forced to work as a servant to the Japanese.  During this time, Nick
    meets a friend named Mya and they plan out a way to escape. They set off on an elephants back to try and save Nick’s father
    and Mya’s brother from the POW camp. With help from sergeant Sonji’s help Nick and Mya are able to set Indaw, Mya’s
    brother and Nick’s father free. Then on the way to Australia they are all recaptured by the Japanese soldiers. Just before they
    are all about to be executed a Hannibal attacks the Japanese soldiers.
         This story has many ups and downs for Nick. The book made me imagine on how war would have been like. It is scary to think
    about it. I felt like I was in that dangerous jungle with Nick. It felt like I was witnessing the book in real life. This book is
    a very good book and you should read it. 
         -Bradley Brown 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    In the book Elephant Run by Roland Smith, the main character Nic

    In the book Elephant Run by Roland Smith, the main character Nick Freestone has to go live with his dad on a teak plantation in Burma because of the bombing that is taking place in London. While on the plantation, he meets a Burmese girl Mya and they become good friends. Just a few days after Nick’s arrival, Japanese forces take over the plantation and put Nick’s father and Mya’s older brother Indaw in a Prisoner of War camp. The Japanese also execute Mya’s father to show that they are in charge. Nick stays on the plantation because Nick’s father made a deal with Colonel Nagayoshi that if Nick stayed on the plantation, the Colonel would send him to India where he would be safe. Colonel Nagayoshi does not send Nick to India, instead he has him stay on the plantation for ten long months and work in the Colonel’s garden. Nick is regularly beaten by Bukong who gained power when the Japanese came on the plantation. After ten long months Nick and Mya along with Mya’s great-grandfather, Hilltop, come up with a way to escape the plantation and rescue Nick’s father and Mya’s brother. I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars because it has a lot of action and plot twist that keeps you turning the page. I would recommend this book because it is fun to read and contain a lot of action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    great book

    this book is the best book in the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book review

    Book Review

    Elephant Run

    By Roland Smith

    Elephant Run by Roland Smith is a great example of historical fiction. This story is a must read for children ages 12-15. This is the kind of book you can't out down, a true page turner! The adventures, characters, and setting that Mr. Smith created allow the reader to deepen their understanding of WWII. His descriptive skill of the characters allows readers to connect to the characters. Mr. Smith's design of the story allows for readers to make predictions of characters fate throughout the story.

    I give this author a rating of an A for his work Elephant Run. I believe he has earned this rating based on his ability to weave a story based on realistic, descriptive, and factual information. One example found on page 21 illustrates Smith's descriptive ability. Nick the son of the plantation owner describes his father that he had not seen for years, "His tea colored eye eyes had sunk deeper into the sockets as if he had lost weight." This description really allows the reader to create an image of his dad. Page 14 portrays true accounts of WWII such as the bombing of Rangoon.

    In summary Elephant Run is a book that tells the story of a child named Nick Freestone who lived in England. Unfortunately, during Nick's time in London it came under attack from the Germans. Given the situation Nicks mother decided that he should move to his father's (they are divorced) residence in Burma. While in Burma the Japanese invaded the region of Nick's father. The circumstances revolving around the invasion and Nick's well being is dramatically reveled throughout the story. I highly recommend you reading and finding out if Nick survives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Escaping from the POW camp

    Nick Freestone lives in London with his divorced mom. His birth dad lives in Burma and his step dad works for the military in World War 2. One night during the war Nick's apartment gets set on fire. His mom sends him right to Burma to live with his father. Only a few days after Nick's arrival, the Japanese take over the plantation and the house where his dad lives. Nick makes a new friend named Mya while his dad gets sent with Mya's brother to a prisoner of war camp. For weeks in Burma he sees nobody but guards, soldiers, and a well-respected monk who is not imprisoned. Mya and Nick with the help of the monk plan a daring escape on a dangerous elephant's back. Is it worth the risk to see if Nick's father is still alive? Will Nick and Mya make the right choice?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    elephant run

    im in eight grade, and my teacher made us read this for a book report. its a very good book about history and what some people had to go through. while reading this book you get absorbed into the book and cant stop reading it. it is one of the few historical type books that i actually enjoyed. i would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    ELEPHANT RUN

    This was a very good book and was definitely a good choice for the SC book awards. This book is set in the jungles of Burma on a Teak plantation. When the Japanese come and take over the plantation Nick, the main character, and Mya, a girl from the village, are taken capture and forced to work as slaves. Nick has to find a way to escape and save his father who was taken to a work camp before Nick is hurt or killed.
    Once Nick escapes he goes on a huge adventure on elephant back across India to find his father and get back to England and his mom. This story has a great ending and a wonderful plot and will keep you riveted to the very end. Roland Smith writes very good books and this one is no exception. Once you read this one you will want to read all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great novel study for 6th graders!

    This book was read by 6th grade reading classes. The kids loved it and begged to read ahead. This was a high-interest level read for the non-readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book mostly for Boys

    A war book with ton of action and some life long lesson. Big changes have happened to Nick's life and it the problems continue! Learn more by reading this Book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    THE BEST BOOK TO COME YET

    The book Elephant Run is far from horrible. Elephant Run is possibly the best book i have ever read. I would recommend this book to everyone! If you think this book is bad than I don't know what you would possibly like. This book will always keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best historical fiction book i've read!!!

    This book was just so amazing!! It was good from page one. I think anyone who likes historical fiction or anything history would really like this book. you should just read it and you won't be dissapointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2