Customer Reviews for

Elephant Run

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!! IT IS SO SICK NASTY BALLER!!! THIS BOOK DEFINATELY BALLS HARD!!!!!!!

    I THINK EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK. I'M NOT MUCH OF A READER BUT THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    It's boring

    The beginnig of this book was good until aobut page 5. I think its very boring and long. I dont recomend this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Elephant Run (Central)

    If you are looking for a historical fiction novel that contains both compelling and thrilling action from beginning to end? Elephant Run by Roland Smith will prove disappointing.
    Smith, a zookeeper turned children's author, has carved a niche for himself both in nonfiction and fiction, winning awards like the Children's Choice Award for Sea Otter Rescue, as well as the Young Adult Library Services Association honor for Jaguar. This time around, Smith writes of fourteen-year-old Nick, whose London apartment is demolished by a wave of bombs during World War II. Fearing his safety, Nick's mother sends him to live with his estranged father in Burma on a teak plantation. However, trouble erupts when the Japanese raid the small Burmese village and Nick's father gets taken prisoner. Held captive on the plantation, Nick manages to escape and embarks by elephant back to liberate his father.
    The beginning of the story reads sluggishly, absent of a hook to attract the reader, and the plot becomes interesting only about midway through the book. Likewise, the resolution was quick, and unsatisfactory. Although the novel seemed to have potential, the plot was somewhat flat and predictable, offering few twists or turns to engage its audience.
    On the upside, Smith was successful in taking a fairly complex subject, and making it comprehendible for people of all ages. For readers who have grown tired of traditional books concerning the effects of the war in Europe, Elephant Run offers a unique, alternative view of the operations conducted in the Pacific Theater. Themes such as colonialism, foreign exploitation, and Burmese culture, are interwoven throughout the plot, and are well supported by historical details. Also, Smith possesses a distinctive trait in that he doesn't succumb to the lure of demonizing any of the ethnic groups involved in the novel. The characters of each ethnic group are equally represented, including the good, the bad, and the in between.
    All in all, Elephant Run was a thoroughly average book. It had its ups and downs? but mostly downs.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You have got to read this book!!

    Elephant Run is a good book. I loved the adventure part of the story. The setting takes place in a junge. Nick is a great character. He has a great personality. His parents are divorced but he handles it quite well. He doesn't see much of his dad but still loves his step father. His step father is like a secret agent person in WWII and Nick doesn't really know much about his job. His father on the other hand he knows runs a timber elephant plantation in the jungle. Nick's father, Jack is kind of secritive. He loves his plantation and loves all the elephants. He thinks the Japanese will invade the plantation but doesn't really tell anyone. He makes plans to help the plantation but keeps them to himself. Hilltop is a very secritive guy. He never really tells anyone what he is up to. He didn't tell anyone where he came from when he left the plantation a long time ago. He doesn't tell anyone his plans either like Jack. Mya is a sweet character. She always stands up for her beliefs. She doesn't really let anyone push her around like a little girl. She was raised in the jungle and she has always been tough. Picture this: you are born in a small shack and you were raised around 1000 ton elephants. You have to survive the dangers of the jungle with vicious tigers waiting to hurt you around every tree. Mya was tough because of where she lived. My favorite characters were: Mya, Hilltop, and Nick. They were the main characters and had very important roles in the book. This book kept me reading because it always had the mystery behind it. Would the Japanese leave the plantation? Would Nick rescue his father? Would the kids escape? I was always asking a question and the only way to get an answer was to keep reading. I would definetly recomend this book to all of my friends. I wanted to keep reading at the end of each chapter. This book is just that good. I really want this book in my own personal library. Go to your library and check out this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Elephant Run

    Elephant Run is extremely exciting and fast paced. For example when they blew up the airfield. It¿s about young Nick Freestone in the heat of WWII. His family plantation in Burma is overrun by Japanese! The action is great. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    This book takes a while to get hooked into but once you do it's so great

    Roland Smith really did a good job with this book. I loved it. It has so much suspense and thrills. This book was really great. It's very realistic and is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    O.K.

    It is good, I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    My FAV

    i love this book so much!<BR/>this book is a real page turner and i could not stop reading it!<BR/>one thing lead to another and was impossible to stop!<BR/>i even read it in chorus (which sounds impossible) but i still got in trouble<BR/>best book eva-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    You'll Run Through This Book!!!

    What an awesome, awesome read! Roland Smith does it again! This book is set in the time of World War II, but it's not your typical WWII historical fiction book. You see, it's set in Burma 'now the country of Myanmar' and shows a side of the war which is rarely written about, the Japanese occupation of parts of Asia. Add to it a young boy, Alex, who gets caught up in this situation becoming a prisoner in his own home, an elephant which is and is not 'nice,' a beautiful young Burmese teen, Mya, who needs to escape what would be a disasterous marriage, and more... lots of plot twists. Roland Smith kept my attention from the first word to the last one. I couldn't put the book down, and I don't think you will be able to either. Not only is it suspenseful and action-filled, but it has a good lesson to teach, too. As a teacher of middle school English, I would love to teach this book to my classes (and probably will)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Awesome book

    it has a thrilling storyline. You never no whats going on. I couldn't put it down it's so good. i feel sorry for all the caracters and animals. I HOPE YOU READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    I couldn't put it down!

    The story was so full of detail, suspense and facts. When I was through reading it, i felt such a greater appreciation for the wild..animals, the land and vegetation. Not only did I feel for the human characters, but also for the innocent animals that are so affected by man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Elephant Run continues Roland Smith's commitment to quality children's literature.Elephant Run has all of the adventure, excitement and easy to relate to characters children are looking for, with attention to morals, family and decision making that parents and teachers are looking for. As in all of Mr. Smith's books, the main character,Nick, has to weigh the consequences of his actions and make choices he believes are right. This along with a fast paced, exciting plot based in Burma during World War Two, and information about how the elephants of Burma help a whole culture, make Elephant Run a book children and adults will not want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2