Customer Reviews for

The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    This is an amzing book - - I had a very hard time putting it dow

    This is an amzing book - - I had a very hard time putting it down. I would love to visit Thula Thula and see the original elepahnt herd as well as the newer herd members. I was absolutely heartbroken when I found out that Lawrence Anthony has passed away. It is great that his family is keeping Thula Thula running as a wildlife preserve. I highly recommend this book to any animal lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I found out about this book through an email that was sent to me

    I found out about this book through an email that was sent to me

    about the author and his unusual bond with elephants. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. It's a true story, well written and one I'll read over and over again. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    A really great book!

    Because of a short article in Reader's Digest mentioning what the elephants did after the author of this book passed away, I put the book on my Nook and I enjoyed reading it. There were laughs and tears and I intend to read the Baghdad Zoo book he wrote also. I also learned alot about conservation efforts in Africa and how they are trying to protect many animals killed for their tusks or horns, not for any other reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This book is a must for all animal lovers!

    If you love elephants, this book will amaze and inspire you. Mr. Anthony's personal story of his life with these unbelievable creatures is one that you will never forget. Best book I've read in many years!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Wonderful true story, written with compassion, affection and app

    Wonderful true story, written with compassion, affection and appreciation for these amazing animals -- and actually all of African wildlife. When I started this book, I had intended to read only the Prologue, but was so quickly drawn into this incredible story that in no time I had read over 100 pages in one sitting! Bridging the gulf between two species always makes for a remarkable story, but this is also great storytelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Recommend

    This book is very insightful into the lives of elephants. Their intelligence is remarkable and the way the author was above in interact with them was particularly good. The ups and downs of running a reserve is totally eye opening and the book makes one want to keep the reserves going for life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    must read!

    If you're an animal lover you must read this! Wonderful book, inspiring, touching and whatever you thought you knew about elephants probably doesn't even come close to how much you will know after reading this. You will never look at them in the same way again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Fabulous! Intriguing!

    A magnificent book. Beautifully written.
    Touching, suspensful, sometimes disturbing and highly informative.

    You will never forget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Just like Elephant Company, or maybe better, this is one of the bests lectures for elephant lovers!!!!!! You will love them even more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Want to Visit Thula Thula

    At first I was not sure I wanted to read a book about elephants. It was a very good book and I now want to go visit the reserve because it was fascinating. Learning about elephants the native tribes made it real. If you are looking for a different book to read this in one to pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Best conservation book!!!

    I loved this book! Its full of compassionate stories of the south african bush. Lawerence anthony does an exceptiinal job of detailing moments with the herd of Thula Thula reserve and the incredible lessons learned from them and the others there. This book is wonderful to say the least!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Excellent book

    Best book ever one you cannot put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Marvelous!

    It is always heart-warming to read of connections between a human being and other animals. Seldom do people exhibit the wisdom, patience and understanding exhibited by Lawrence Anthony during his life on his game reserve. It is a fascinating and intriguing account of his own personal journey into the minds and actions of African wildlife. Would that there were more people such as he!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great Story

    An amazing story. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Lawrence Anthony and his beloved Thula Thula brought Africa aliv

    Lawrence Anthony and his beloved Thula Thula brought Africa alive for me.  What a remarkable man and conservationist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Terrific story. Very touching story about a man and his elephan

    Terrific story. Very touching story about a man and his elephant herd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Great story

    This is an unbelievable story of a man and his elephants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    A must read for anyone who loves animals

    This true story leaves you with wonderment of what can happen between a human who takes the time to listen and learn and elephants who want to understand what humans mean. A beautiful story told with honesty and passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Exciting true story of adventure

    I purchased this book after learning of Mr. Anthony's passing having not been familiar with his life beforehand. Within pages I was swept into his true life story of saving these incredible animals while running his African animal reserve. The book is a real page turner filled with dangerous adventure including shoot outs with poachers and surviving African storms. The book is also full of incredible detail of the wild animals living on his reserve. As with all animal stories, this book is not without some sadness, but it does not take away from the overall story of Mr. Anthony's incredible work. The book shows his great knowledge of not only the elephant, but of all African animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Wonderful

    Loved this book and highly recommend it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3